We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic will defo return”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic will defo return”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed here for nights ( 24th September - 27th ) and this is by far is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in it was amazing. Location is brilliant we could not of picked a better location right in the heart of things. Staff fantastic. Our room over looked the main street and it was just amazing to sit and people watch while having a great view of the cathedral. If you are thinking of booking this hotel do its so worth it. Our room was massive with everything you need the bed was massive and so comfy ensuring you had a great nights sleep. Malaga is a amazing place and this hotel really made our stay more special book this place you wont be disappointed we will defo go back. x M Leeds PS go on the roof terrace where the bar is WOW views

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us to stay during your visit to Málaga, and we are proud to know that you enjoyed in our terrace bar, we are agree with you that the views are beautiful.

We really hope you will come to Málaga city soon, and we really want you will visit again your “Room Mate” Larios.

Regards

Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Mª Carmen Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    387
    84
    26
    18
See reviews for
111
603
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived a bit early and our room wasn't ready but the very kind receptionist offered the best suite in the house for only a very small supplement as it was our 25th Anniversay. The room was spacious, clean with great views over the square with double glazing which cut out any noise.
we like to drink and eat out late so the breakfast till midday was wonderful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndaluciaCallumsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your nice words about us and about your last stay with us.

Please let us know if your are planning to come back to Málaga.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent hotel, great rooms, superb location - great to relax in. And so convenient for the centre of Malaga, which is much more than an industrial seaport - lots to do and places to eat in. Have not eaten in teh hotel, so no comments there, but otherwise service excellent.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the square or Calle Larios itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear David,

We are glad you enjoyed Málaga and found our location something positive as Room Mate hotels are always located at the heart of the city to give our customers the chance of visiting the city easily so they can enjoy their stay and keep it as something to remember.


Thank you very much for your nice comment. We really want to see you again in Málaga.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

To be honest, this has been a tough hotel to score...whether the good points are outweighed by the not-so-good...
On the downside...there are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms...the roof terrace is only open after 6pm and could make a great addition as a daytime sun terrace...the breakfast, at best, is basic...
On the upside...the last time I slept in a bed this good was in The Bellagio in Las Vegas. The beds really are outstanding...the staff are a complete joy to deal with, and nothing is too much trouble for them...the soundproofing afforded by the bedroom windows is nothing short of astonishing...and finally, the location. This hotel could have leaky windows and open sewers, but due to the perfect location, I would still give it 5 stars. You truly will not find a better located hotel in Malaga. To be able to walk from the front door straight into the beating heart of this fabulous city is worth every penny, and every niggle.
I love it. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farquhar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your reviews about Room Mate Larios hotel. It is our duty to offer our guest the best experience when you are visiting our hotels. We really like to know you find the beds really comfortable.

We really want to see you again here.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our recent trip to Malaga was complemented by an excellent stay at the Room Mate Larios.

Good points:
Location - cannot be better for everything - restaurants, shops, local sights on doorstep and the beach is only a 15-20 minute walk.
Our room with balcony overlooked the bustling square and was clean and spacious. Bathroom generally good (see minor point below) - shower over bath. It was very hot during our stay, however, the air conditioning just about kept the room cool. Large beds.
Customer service also excellent. The hotel kept our luggage as we had a late flight.

There are no real bad points, but I think a few things could be improved:
Breakfast was adequate although the hot food could be better - cold scrambled eggs one morning and bacon/ham quite fatty.
Room bathroom needed fresh grouting, but again okay.
We were slightly disappointed that the bar room (also the area for breakfast) was not open during the day as this would give an area to relax and have a drink after a day's sightseeing. There is also a grand piano in this room which was unused. Maybe it is open during the winter months, but it is a shame as it is a lovely space. The roof bar/terrace is good (drinks a bit pricey compared to most other places in the centre of Malaga), but this is not open during the day either. I do not see why one of these cannot be open at all times (nothing open in the afternoon). I think other 4 star hotels closeby such as the Molina Lario and Marriott have these facilities.

The above aside, I would happily recommend the hotel and definitely would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square or the pedestrian area. Some people have previously noted thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veracharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Veracharles,

Thank you very much for the comment you have shared with other tripadvisor users about your stay in Room Mate Larios. The are very helpful your oppinion because we they allow us to improve to offer a better service to all of our customers.

The whole Larios´s Team wishes you the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was a very impressive, very well placed hotel.
The staff were responsive and helpful; everyone from chamber maids to managers. Room had a panoramic view over the square and sound proofing was good.
Reception staff made a real effort to find information and to give advice.
Breakfast could have been more varied- more fresh fruit, for example- but it was well presented.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingKongScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear KingKongScotland,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know you had a very nice stay experience at Room Mate Larios.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit again the city Málaga, It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in Room Mate Larios.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrox
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We chose this hotel through recommendations and conclude that it has good and bad points. It has a fantastic location, very nice reception staff and comfy beds. However, breakfast is very poor with cold eggs and poor croissants (go to northern Spain or France to see the difference). The rooftop terrace would have been fantastic if we could get a seat. I´m sure most of the people there were not residents of the hotel and it would seem that this terrace was mainly catering for young people.
Car access can be a problem, we parked at the Hotel Lola which gives preferential rates. We were allowed to enter the room early, which was appreciated, and also leave out luggage at reception after checking out. Internet access is free.
I may be tempted to use the hotel again but would probably consider other hotels in the vicinity as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristobal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cristobal G,

Thank you very much for the comment you have shared about your stay in Room Mate Larios. They are very helpful for us because they allow us to improve to offer a good service to all of our customers.

We are looking to see you again in Room Mate Larios in Málaga.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Property: Room Mate Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing