We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, outstanding location.”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I work in the hotel business, so emailed this hotel directly before making a booking, so they could save on the 15% that they pay to booking.com and the likes, but never got any response from them. Strange as most hotels now want to avoid the OTA fees. Anyway, hotel location is outstanding. Impossible to find by car and better instructions could have been offered to us as we also mailed in advance about parking etc (but again no response). But we had been upgraded to a beautiful large room (the one in all their promotional photos) which was amazing. views overlooking the plaza and a central location that is hard to beat. Bedroom was great - big and nice bathroom, with unusual, funky toilet amenities. Our daughter was offered an foldaway bed which appeared on our 2nd night of stay, which was appreciated. Breakfast is very basic, we have enjoyed much better in other Malaga hotels. Also the breakfast service was poor. Each morning, several tables still cluttered with dirty plates from previous guests, whilst the waitress was busy refilling the buffet, with guests having wait to get a clean table. If i put on my professional 'hoteliers hat' then there are a number of other small things that need improved - the awful traditional water jug in reception for arrival, the receptionists uniforms (or lack of), the top floor bar being closed during daytime etc. But in summary, this is a good hotel and we would certainly recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: we got room 203 which was fabulous, but don't open the windows as can be very noisy throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your impression about your stay in Room Mate Larios. Your review is very helpful for us because they allow us to improve to offer a good service to all of our customers.

We hope to see you soon !

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

There were 3 of us so we took the off site apartment just around the corner. It's a 2 story townhome type of deal with wrap around balconies. The beds are on the 3rd floor and the kitchen/living/baths on the 4th which is kind of odd but it was very clean and modern and well worth the money. Everything is walking distance.

We had an early tour one of the three days we were there and the receptionist was very helpful in getting us taxi transportation to the tour meeting point (walkable as well but not at 5:am) ASIDE: You can catch a tour to Tangier from here but it leaves very early. Engage the receptionist to assist.

The beds were way comfy and it was difficult to get up. I would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Heidi,

Thank you for your review about your stay in our apartments.
We have tried to concentrate in them both the pros of a hotel room and a typical apartment with a Room Mate design and location.
It really makes us proud and satisfied the fact that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from our stay in this hotel. Location is excellent, so central for restaurants, shopping, transport. Very comfortable room, really like the little balcony overlooking the main street and square. Enjoyed visits to the roof terrace for a nightcap (open till 3 am, apparently)! Only downside is lack of tea/coffee facilities in room and breakfast could be bit more varied.However there was plenty on offer and breakfast served daily till noon. Would certainly be our first choice when we return to Malaga and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatC5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you review, we are very glad to know you had a great stay in Room Mate Larios, and you enjoyed the views in our terrace bar on the 5th floor.

We hope you will be back soon!

Best regards from all the team!

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Room Mate Larios for 3 nights over the weekend of 3rd Oct 2013. We absolutely loved the hotel, location was perfect, in the beautiful pedestrianized area. Our room was immaculate, very modern facilities, helpful staff on reception and in the dining room. Breakfast was adequate and plentiful. The terrace on the rooftop was very luxurious with cream leather seating with bar facilities. We were able to walk to the main attractions as all were close o the hotel, as were bars, restaurants and the theatre. The harbour area and beach are also within walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Malaga, which is a beautiful city with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear KathleenTyrone,

Thank you very much for you review, we are very glad to know you had a great stay in Room Mate Larios, this is the feedback that make us happier, when people enjoy with us in Malaga city.

We hope you will be back soon!

Best regards from all the team!

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Last night in Malaga after a cruise. Walking distance from port. This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Malaga. Left too early to try breakfast. Room 312 is quite large with 3 balconies. Has to be the best room. We were very pleased. Past reviewers were correct..outstanding beds. Excellent choice of hotel. Great staff too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We apprecciate so much you take time to write about your experience in
Room Mate Larios in Málaga. It is our duty to make you feel like at
your "Room Mate Larios´s House".

We are looking to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed here for nights ( 24th September - 27th ) and this is by far is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in it was amazing. Location is brilliant we could not of picked a better location right in the heart of things. Staff fantastic. Our room over looked the main street and it was just amazing to sit and people watch while having a great view of the cathedral. If you are thinking of booking this hotel do its so worth it. Our room was massive with everything you need the bed was massive and so comfy ensuring you had a great nights sleep. Malaga is a amazing place and this hotel really made our stay more special book this place you wont be disappointed we will defo go back. x M Leeds PS go on the roof terrace where the bar is WOW views

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us to stay during your visit to Málaga, and we are proud to know that you enjoyed in our terrace bar, we are agree with you that the views are beautiful.

We really hope you will come to Málaga city soon, and we really want you will visit again your “Room Mate” Larios.

Regards

Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Mª Carmen Navarro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived a bit early and our room wasn't ready but the very kind receptionist offered the best suite in the house for only a very small supplement as it was our 25th Anniversay. The room was spacious, clean with great views over the square with double glazing which cut out any noise.
we like to drink and eat out late so the breakfast till midday was wonderful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndaluciaCallumsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your nice words about us and about your last stay with us.

Please let us know if your are planning to come back to Málaga.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,235 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £83 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Room Mate Hotels, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing