We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Malaga and are very pleased we chose this hotel. The position was brilliant. We wished we would still be there for the Semana Santa parades as the view would have to be one of the best in Malaga. We chose a junior suite which had 3 large windows overlooking
Calle Larios, the cathedral and the plaza. With the windows closed it was very quiet. Every member of staff we met was really friendly and helpful. It could be tricky if you had a lot of luggage as we needed to pull our bags along the pedestrian Larios and then up a few steps to the lift. This was no problem, but worth noting if you have big cases. I agree with the comments about the lift being able to by pass reception. They really need to think about this. Our rate included breakfast. The waiter was great, but the choice was not for me as there was no fruit and the coffee was not so good. There are so many bars and restaurants close by. I think we might choose room only next time. I would definitely choose this hotel again and recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EMALULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Room Mate Larios for your stay in the city of Málaga. We really appreciate your words to explain how you felt with us to other travellers.

We are really agree with you, during Semana Santa parades, the views from the room are amazing. It is a very nice event in the city, and we are so proud to have all the processions coming through Larios Street, where the hotel is located.

We are looking to see you during your next visit to the city.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    386
    82
    26
    18
See reviews for
109
594
57
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends.
It was all what they said, great location, very clean and comfortable beds.
It is right in the heart of the amenities like bars , restaurants and museum.
This is really what and where you want to be if you are staying over in the city.
I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a front facing with balcony as it looks onto a pedestrian walk way and that is what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farnie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for such a kind comment on our property!

We are really happy to know you had a great stay!

Next time you plan to visit Málaga, feel free to contact us and we will do all our best to give you a very warm welcome!

Best regards from all the team,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed three days in Malaga. Firstly just a brief mention of the city. Malaga is the capital of the Costa del Sol and houses both the main airport and railway station of the region. More often than not, visitors arrive and immediately catch onward transport to the resorts. Therefore they miss this beautiful city and all it has to offer. The Room Mate Larios is situated right in the centre, right on the edge of the historic quarter on the corner of the Plaza de Constitucion and the Calle Marquis de Larios. It is therefore central for many of the city´s attractions. During our stay every member of staff, without exception was very friendly and helpful, our room was clean, a good size with a comfortable bed.
The hotel provides breakfast but does not have a restaurant. This is not a problem as there are numerous restaurants of every conceivable kind within walking distance. Without doubt this is a hotel I would highly recommend and we will certainly stay there again.
A couple of weeks before this vacation we received an email from the hotel telling us that due to external refurbishment there is scaffolding around the building. This did of course spoil the view over the square but there was no nightmare of builders climbing around making horrendous noise. I don´t know but it appears that the work is nearly completed. We could open our windows if we needed to.
Just one negative comment about the hotel. The ground floor access consists of a small area accommodating the lift and the stairs. This means anyone from outside the hotel can enter the lift and have access to all of the floors thus bypassing reception which is situated on the first floor. It is therefore a security issue which I think the hotel should address.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which was not a great deal more expensive. It was worth it, the room was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredcheckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Fredcheckley,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Room Mate Larios Hotel. It is going to be very helpfull to travellers who are planning to visit Málaga, and your introduction about the central area where we are located is really clear.

We are very sorry to know that you did not enjoy so much the view from your room due the scaffolding we used to have, regarding the renovation at the façade of the hotel. The works are already finished, so you will not find them if you are planning to come back to the hotel.

Hope to see you soon!!


Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was under renovation outside which prevented us from opening the balcony doors. The airconditioning system at the hotel was not yet started up for the season so without this and not being able to open the balcony doors it was almost impossible to sleep due to the heat. Apart from that - nice and clean hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank d57san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience in Room Mate Larios.

We are very sorry to read that due the renovation at the façade of the hotel, you did not enjoy so much your stay The works finished two month ago, now the exterior of the building is as beautifull as the interior.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and give our best service to you.

Best regards,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casares, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose this hotel as we knew it was right in the centre of Malaga and had visited the roof terrace bar back in the summer on another trip. If you want to be centrally located, this hotel is ideal. To be fair we didn't spend much time in the hotel but were very happy with everything. The room was extremely comfortable especially the bed which was the biggest bed I have ever seen and was a fantastic sleep - so much so we had to check out the make of the mattress to get one for home. The views of Calle de Marques de Larios were great particularly as it was the last night of the Malaga Carnaval. The hotel is having refurbishment of the exterior so was covered in scaffolding but these things need to be done at some point and in no way spoilt our stay. Plenty of shopping right outside your door plus bars/restaurants and the Cathedral is literally just around the corner. A great base for exploring. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here - there's just some much choice just outside the front door!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 193billybob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear client,

Thank you so much for trusting Room Mate Larios to stay during your Birthday celebration.
We are so happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us and in Malaga.

As you say, we used to have an scaffolding at the façade due to renovate the exterior of the building. This works has already finish two month ago. So please, do not hesitate to come back again to Málaga to see how beautiful is now the exterior of the hotel.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend,Mid Glam
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is very central in Malaga. The double room was two single beds pushed together. However, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but small. Free safe in wardrobe. No tea/coffee facilities - we ended up taking a 'take away' coffee back to the room from a café just up the road. There was a chargeable mini bar in the room with water, soft drinks, wine, beer and spirits. Breakfast was average - didn't go hungry but limited choice; breakfast was available up to 12 noon. The receptionist was cheerful and helpful (I was rather surprised to see her wearing jeans every time whilst on duty- perhaps I am old fashioned but I would of thought there would have been a corporate uniform). Taxi from airport to hotel 20 euros from hotel to airport 25 euros, taxi from hotel to train station 10 euros and train station back to hotel 5 euros - I have put this difference to the one way system. Taxi drop off and collection is just maybe 20 m around corner from hotel. This hotel was not wheelchair friendly, 1 step into hotel and then 3 steps to lift. The reception was on the first floor. There were many other hotels in the vicinity which when I return to Malaga I will try. I felt this hotel was average, not sure how it has 4* or rated 7th best in Malaga on t/a.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mascarasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience in Room Mate Larios and share that you find the central location helpful for visiting the city.

The front desk department duty is to be helpfull and servicial with our guest, that is why we are dreesed informal, to let our client know that we are always happy to help and assit our clients with any request.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very easy to miss because the entrance is between shops. Also, in Feb 2014, the whole building was covered in scaffolding. The woman on check-in was very unfriendly and seemed intent on stressing the no-smoking policy (we don't smoke anyway). There is no bar or foyer to speak of. The breakfast room is in what looks like a bar but it was always empty. The reception is on the 1st floor and once you've checked in you by-pass the reception and bar, making your stay totally soulless. The lady at check out was helpful when we complained about the workers passing by our 4th floor rooms on scaffold up until 6.30 p.m. I did feel sorry for her having to deal with disappointed guests. Totally forgettable stay. Malaga is not big so lots of other hotels without locations on the main shopping street are still central.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Property: Room Mate Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing