We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sur-ly 'welcome'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sur-ly 'welcome'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Not the greatest welcome at 11pm in an evening after a long trip. The receptionist seemed most inconvenienced by my arrival and desire to check in. I honestly don't see the need for rudeness, even if he was in a bad mood! I thought he was going to blow his top when I asked if I could buy a bottle of water, which they had advertised at reception.

The room was big and clean. The bathroom was a little worn around the edges but stil clean. TV worked and the window opened fully. Quiet room with comfy beds and scratchy blankets.

Its the location that I guess is this hotels best feature. You really are smack bang in the middle of it all. Quick and easy to navigate from where the Malaga Airport bus drops you.
At 42 Euros I felt it was a little expensive for what it was, but it did seem quite reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

At check out a different receptionist was equally abrasive and grumpy. I guess they are not happy employees!

I won't be back...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damsqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    245
    110
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
226
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed in The Hotel Sur in February and returned the next time I was in Malaga. This December.

I got a large, very clean room. Clean en suite shower, basin & WC. Towels, Shampoo & Shower Gel provided fresh each day.

The room was cleaned and bed made every day.

The receptionists were polite and helpful.

There's a cafeteria immediately round the corner and the whole gambit of Malaga bars, restaurants & cafés within 5 minutes walk.

I thoroughly recommend The Hotel Sur. As an extra bonus the new 'A' line express bus from the airport stops less than 400 yards away.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
449 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel location is close to perfect, near everything in the heart of Malaga. BUT do not use this hotel. We booked on the internet, and paid with creditcard. When we arrived the portier asked us to pay in cash. I told him that we already had paid via the internet, but he told us, that this was only to verify the creditcard. So we paid in cash. When we came back after the stay, we could see that they had also charged our creditcard, so we wrote them in order to get our money back, as we thought is was a mistake! No and not. They lied, starting with claiming that we had not paid with credit card but "only" in cash". When we could prove that, they changed strategy, now asking us for the proof that we had paid in cash - which they had just told us that we had. So find another hotel in Malaga - there are lots, and also better alternatives - e.g. nh Hotel, MUCH better more or less same location, and only a bit more expensive. Or Hotel Artarazanas - also perfect and a LOT better service. As long as you do not visite Hotel Sur!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Not much curb appeal and no decor, but our room was large, w. high ceiling, tub, bidet, WiFi. Very clean and efficient. Walk to the airport train station and to the town centre, which offers many breakfast choices. We even found a nonsmoking cafe - rare in Spain, apparently. Our room was streetside, but it's a quiet back street and we slept well. The receptionist was outstanding - we were well looked after. A good location for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We booked the hotel Sur for an extended weekend visit to Malaga. We arrived at midnight and was met at the front desk by an english speaking gentleman. The booking in process took a matter of minutes and we were given our keys. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor and there is a lift (working) right by the check in desk. The rooms were large, reasonably modern, clean with loads of storage/drawer space.
The ensuite was also large and spotless, you could have eaten your dinner off the floor. The bath is small and being 6'2'' did not attempt to sit in. The was a good shower over the bath. I normally shower anyway, so it was not an issue. The water was always hot and at a good pressure. Soap, shampoo and newish towels were provided.
The rooms are air conditioned and were very quiet.
The rooms we had looked out onto an open vent shaft, but we were using the hotel as a base not as a holiday resort hotel.
The rooms were spotlessly cleaned, beds made up and clean towels every day.
Everytime we returned we were greeted by pleasant staff who gave us our keys, remembering which rooms we were in.
There are no eating facilities, but with Malaga having at least a million restaurants, why would you want to eat in the same place everyday.
Location is brilliant, being only 5min from the new central station, 5 min from the main shopping/restaurant area and places to visit. Never ending buses are at the end of the road.
Highly recommended for a site seeing trip to malaga on a low budget, we have stayed at much higher star rated hotels which the Sur puts to shame.
A word of warning about Malaga(nothing to do with the hotel) is to be careful about putting cash on the table in the outside restaurants to pay the bill. We had 110 euro grabbed off our table by a busker who had been playing a guitar in the street. . The city is full of buskers and can be a nuisance, although some can be very entertaining. Give the cash to the waiters or pay by card - you have been warned.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend the Sur.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justmeat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

THE AIRCON DID NOT WORK IN ROOM BUT MANAGER IGNORED US AND WERE RUDE AND ARROGANT !! We contacted the reception twice but no possitive feedback.
Should be downgrated to a one star hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hkmny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

The staff is very friendly. Rooms were decent sized, fairly basic. The hotel is in a good location, near public transport, and within walking distance of restaurants. It's about 15 minutes walk to the metro station which connects to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#36 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#57 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#37 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Calle Trinidad Grund 13, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel málaga
Hotel Sur Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing