We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great!”
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Great!”
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I just came back from a 1 night stay at the Hotel Sur.
Good: The hotel was centrally located within walking distance from some of the main attractions & there was a lot of restaurants and tapas bars nearby. The room was average, clean and of a fairly good size. There was no hair dryer and the shower head was small. Hotel itself was well kept: it was clean and tidy
Rooms are .

Bad: Our Room (327) had a small window that looked into some construction area. The building next door is being renovated so be ready for drilling and hammering. The staff at reception were not helpful at all, 2 friends came to pick us in the evening and they made them wait for us outside. My friend came back in the early morning and they didn’t want to let him in (they said it was because the room was at my name, but they took his details to in the check-in!). Hotel is located in a narrow pedastrian street, which is doggy at night, do NOT walk alone at night!

Next to the Hotel is the crumbling Pension Costa Rica, with noisy drunk guest that spent the night throwing bottles through the window!

Overall, I think this hotel was adequate (clean room with air conditioning) but I don't think I'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Malaga is a great city with friendly and helpful people
  • Disliked — staff were not helpful
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    256
    114
    20
    11
See reviews for
48
238
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

this is a very average hotel or perhaps there is another word to describe it...the staff are 100% believe me none better but the rooms while clean and tidy lack any character for the price ok but then again life is short up grade....what a set of staff kind , well mannerd none better

Jude whyte @ireland .com

  • Liked — the fantastic staff who were a treat
  • Disliked — so basic i thought i was in a clean jail
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judewhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Clean and basic 2 star accommodation very well placed next to the shops and bars of Malaga. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. They sent me a personal confirmation email after an online booking which was nice.

They have secure parking at the hotel which you need to book in advance as they have limited numbers. The parking cost 12.50 euros per night.

Be aware if you arrive by car that the hotel entrance is in a pedestrianised area. Aim for the back of the hotel on Calle Vendeja where you will see a great big sign saying 'Hotel Sur Parking' and some double doors. Stop here and press the button for entry. (I which we'd known this when we were trying to find it !).

There are some nice bars on the right of the main shopping street just a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Liked — Parking, locality and friendly staff.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jec864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Stayed in this hotel for one night in July. It is good value for money bearing in mind it is a 2-star hotel, though nothing fancy. Rooms are clean and of a fairly good size. The hotel is centrally located near the main shopping area and 10-15 minuted by foot from the beach. The street where the hotel is located is not all that nice, but not scary in any way. Staff was friendly. I would happily stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — A little aged
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel after arriving in Malaga a day earlier than expected.

The hotel itself is clean and the staff at recpetion were helpful. The bedroom we were given (room 112) was quite small but the bathroom was fairly large. There was a small window in the bedroom that looked into some sort of gap between the buildings. Having said all this, we did turn up fairly late in the day and hadn't booked in advance so at the time I was quite pleased.

The biggest problem we had was the noise as the walls must be paper thin. There were some very loud snorers in rooms near by! Also, the building next door is being renovated so the drilling and hammering at 8am was a bit of a rude awakening.

Overall, I think this hotel was adequate for our needs (fairly inexpensive and had a room available at short notice) but I don't think I'll stay there again.

  • Liked — It had a room avaibable at the last minute
  • Disliked — The noise levels in the bedrooms
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pixxie_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We stayed here for one night with our teenage boys. We had two rooms. The rooms are plain, but clean. Hallways felt sort of dorm-like to me. Everything was clean, and good AC.
Well located to citycentre. We took cab from train station, I don't think it is walking distance. tThe direct train to airport is about 3 blocks away and we did take that. Worked out great and much cheaper than taxi for sure. No one speaks English in town or metro...so you just hope for the best. We just followed the people that had lots of luggage and hoped they were in fact going to airport :) Had a great Paella dinner downtown. Nice place, but one night was enough for me waiting for next day flight to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#39 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#54 of 88 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#37 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#26 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Calle Trinidad Grund 13, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel málaga
Hotel Sur Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing