We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Malaga Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Just sticking up for the Sur, I've reviewed it before and it the best value basic hotel in Malaga IMO. Either the reviewer below is a spammer or just plain nuts and has the hotel confused with some other "Sur" in Bolivia or Finland...who knows where.....

The hotel doesn't have a pool, unless it was under my bed, nor does it do food, it's an centrally located hotel that is spotlessly clean with good sized rooms. If you want luxury then go elsewhere and pay for it and if you want cheap, cheap then there are plenty of dirty Hostels nearby, the thing is, the Sur is costs hardly anything more.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markkz750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

Dark,dingy,Pool was green in colour,room never cleaned and towels never changed--My Father and lady friend were staying they so we decided to surprise them and booked to stay for 3 nights----didnt even check -in as they said it was BAD---food was not worth eating so they had to use spending money to eat--DONT GO THERE WE DIDNT---go to Hotel Floriana just 5 mins walk away --cost a bit more but what a difference--couldnt fault it 5* service for a 3* hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunty1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This hotel is central to everything you need. The rooms are basic but very clean. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable. And the walls of the rooms were paper thin.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Spotless hotel in a good location. Although the hotel looks a little out of the centre on some maps, it's only about two minutes walk to the main streets of Malaga. The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean and very well-priced for the area. It also has secure parking in the hotel building (for about E12 depending on the season), which is a rarity and was very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I wasn't expecting much after paying twice the price for something dreadful in Madrid, but this was great and everything was good quality, the room reasonable in size and well appointed. It was close to everything we wanted to see and do. It had parking ( which - suitably primed by this site we found straight away). We used an internet cafe along the street and had dinner and breakfast just along the street as well ( Just mind the crapping pigeons above you!!) I can't say the front desk was friendly, but we got good advice from them in good English and were able to leave the car a while after check out ,so no complaints

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I just came back from a 1 night stay at the Hotel Sur.
Good: The hotel was centrally located within walking distance from some of the main attractions & there was a lot of restaurants and tapas bars nearby. The room was average, clean and of a fairly good size. There was no hair dryer and the shower head was small. Hotel itself was well kept: it was clean and tidy
Rooms are .

Bad: Our Room (327) had a small window that looked into some construction area. The building next door is being renovated so be ready for drilling and hammering. The staff at reception were not helpful at all, 2 friends came to pick us in the evening and they made them wait for us outside. My friend came back in the early morning and they didn’t want to let him in (they said it was because the room was at my name, but they took his details to in the check-in!). Hotel is located in a narrow pedastrian street, which is doggy at night, do NOT walk alone at night!

Next to the Hotel is the crumbling Pension Costa Rica, with noisy drunk guest that spent the night throwing bottles through the window!

Overall, I think this hotel was adequate (clean room with air conditioning) but I don't think I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidinMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

this is a very average hotel or perhaps there is another word to describe it...the staff are 100% believe me none better but the rooms while clean and tidy lack any character for the price ok but then again life is short up grade....what a set of staff kind , well mannerd none better

Jude whyte @ireland .com

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judewhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#54 of 87 in Malaga
103 reviews
Centro
Malaga Eliseos Hotel
Malaga Eliseos Hotel
#59 of 87 in Malaga
125 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#41 of 87 in Malaga
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#27 of 87 in Malaga
1,286 reviews
Hotel Soho Malaga
#40 of 87 in Malaga
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Address: Calle Trinidad Grund 13, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel málaga
Hotel Sur Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing