We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”
Review of Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Americas
Ranked #12 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is poor overall. The rooms aren't clean (to the point of finding plastic bags covering the smoke detector), and the reception is plain rude. I was asked an extra 10 euro because I had a single room and wanted a friend to come in for five minutes (Seems single room means only you can enter it, beware of that). After agreeing to pay, I was rudely asked not to forget it with, textually "Don't complain about it later" And several "But you will pay later, huh". Finally, I couldn't properly sleep, given the hotel is right beneath a house building and poorly isolated, so I spent all night listening to my neighbour's TV and a baby crying.

Unpolite staff, not enough hygiene and absurd anti-crisis measures.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms if you are expecting a quiet stay. Watch out for covered smoke detectors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

I needed a hotel close to the bus/train station for one night before flying home. This fitted the bill very well. The room and en-suite were clean with tv and air-conditioning (which I didn't need to use) and the staff were friendly and helpful. They willingly and without charge stored my bag for me while I was sightseeing on my day of departure. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the places of interest in the city, and is inexpensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a fine place to spend a night or two. It's ideal if you arrive in Malaga by bus or train, and since you can easily reach the airport by bus or train also, it would be a good choice if you have to catch a flight out of Malaga.

Our room was very clean and bright. Small, but average for Spain, in my experience. The staff was helpful, the common areas were clean and bright, there was free use of a computer and wifi access also.

Unlike a lot of cheaper Spanish hotels, this one had an elevator from the sidewalk to its first floor location, so no need to lug your stuff up a long flight of stairs.

There were a number of places to eat or drink nearby, as well as a small supermarket to get fruit, snacks etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A simple room but confortable and clean. Few English speakers and so practice your Spanish or use a phrase book.
There is no restaurant but guests have the use of a cooking area and there are vending machines.
There is a roof terrace and they are in the process of landscaping this area.
A central location next to the bus and train stations.
Good value and I'll use it again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very convenient location if you need to use the central bus station of Malaga or the train station. Only a couple of minutes walk. It was a very convenient one night stop since we traveled to the airport the next morning to catch our flight out of Spain.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Negatives: small rooms, somewhat noisy because it is on the first floor of the building it is in and all street noise is very audible. Bed comfort is average but what bothered us most was the quality of the sheets. They were paper thin. However they were clean.

It is more like a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast) then a hotel, not sure why they are calling it a hotel on their website.

Overall perfect for a one night stop if you are not into luxuries.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel was chosen for its location near the bus and train stations. It was indeed easy to locate on arrival and there were nearby establishments serving food and drink at midnight and also open for an early breakfast before leaving from the central bus station. The room was perfectly serviceable with comfortable beds and a clean bathroom.

We wanted to stay overnight after arriving at Malaga airport so it suited our needs very well. However, I wouldn't want to stay for more than a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This place has all the basics and great customer service if you just need a place to crash. We arrived late in Malaga and had an early morning flight out again, so just wanted a comfortable bed and a shower for the night in a convenient location. This had exactly that-- it is right across from the train station, and while a bit dodgy looking on the street, it's very bright, clean and modern inside. Wifi in the room. What really sold us was the great service from the front desk. He helped us to print our boarding passes for the next day, free of charge! Really friendly and accommodating. Perfect place to rest before we were back on the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LANatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Don Paco
#41 of 87 in Malaga
215 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,322 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Americas

Address: Calle Cuarteles 66, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Las Americas 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Las
Las Americas Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing