We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Americas
Ranked #13 of 37 Malaga B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is well located, just across the road from the railway station,which is why we chose it. Although the sheets and pillowcases were clean the bedcover badly needed a clean and the pillows smelt of stale sweat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    45
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
47
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I needed something cheap and cheerful near to the station and am always a bit worried about areas around stations especially as a woman travelling on her own. However I didn't need to worry. Mainly only positive things to say, friendly staff who made me welcome and the most comfortable bed I had in ten days away. Reasonably priced and in an area with a good choices of places to eat. Room was clean and had everything I needed but a bit tired looking. Would be cramped for two people for more than one night but that seems to be the case with some Spanish hotels. However I was on my own and I saw into a bigger room that looked very nice. Yes its noisy but nothing that ear plugs didn't sort out.
Compared to other similarly placed and priced hotels I cant really fault it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buislesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My rating is based on quality for price, this hotel is opposite the Maria Zambrano rail station, I stopped off for a night on my way to Seville and again on my return. I had flown in from the UK and was travelling to Seville and back by train. Excellent choice for what I needed. The reception staff were so helpful and warm and welcoming, I felt very much at ease. Although not a big hotel with restaurant facilities, they had a machine for snacks and drinks and an outdoor terrace, also, eating places right outside the door. I walked to central Malaga in the morning which is well worth a visit for both shopping and generally looking around a lovely southern Spanish city. This is not a 5 start hotel, but it is excellent quality for the price.

Room Tip: My room had no outlook and it is on a busy corner but I didn't want to spend a lot of time in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutofSeasonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Given the price I paid, it was a great deal. The room was very clean and the location is excellent, perfect if you take the plane in the morning because you can take the Cercanías train from the station (on the opposite side of the square where the hotel is located). There is a lift (useful if you carry luggage) and even if wifi is supposed to be available only at the lobby I had access from my room. On the downside, decoration is awful and walls are too thin, i wouldn't recommend the hotel for a longterm stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is poor overall. The rooms aren't clean (to the point of finding plastic bags covering the smoke detector), and the reception is plain rude. I was asked an extra 10 euro because I had a single room and wanted a friend to come in for five minutes (Seems single room means only you can enter it, beware of that). After agreeing to pay, I was rudely asked not to forget it with, textually "Don't complain about it later" And several "But you will pay later, huh". Finally, I couldn't properly sleep, given the hotel is right beneath a house building and poorly isolated, so I spent all night listening to my neighbour's TV and a baby crying.

Unpolite staff, not enough hygiene and absurd anti-crisis measures.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms if you are expecting a quiet stay. Watch out for covered smoke detectors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I needed a hotel close to the bus/train station for one night before flying home. This fitted the bill very well. The room and en-suite were clean with tv and air-conditioning (which I didn't need to use) and the staff were friendly and helpful. They willingly and without charge stored my bag for me while I was sightseeing on my day of departure. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the places of interest in the city, and is inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a fine place to spend a night or two. It's ideal if you arrive in Malaga by bus or train, and since you can easily reach the airport by bus or train also, it would be a good choice if you have to catch a flight out of Malaga.

Our room was very clean and bright. Small, but average for Spain, in my experience. The staff was helpful, the common areas were clean and bright, there was free use of a computer and wifi access also.

Unlike a lot of cheaper Spanish hotels, this one had an elevator from the sidewalk to its first floor location, so no need to lug your stuff up a long flight of stairs.

There were a number of places to eat or drink nearby, as well as a small supermarket to get fruit, snacks etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,958 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
452 reviews
Sercotel Malaga
#34 of 87 in Malaga
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
465 reviews
Don Paco
#43 of 87 in Malaga
175 reviews
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#54 of 87 in Malaga
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Americas

Property: Las Americas
Address: Calle Cuarteles 66, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Las Americas 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Las
Las Americas Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing