We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, nice location close to train station and city center.”
Review of Don Paco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Paco
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is average. Rooms are small but complete. Free TV, Wifi, Airco. Some of the rooms are not on the outside and don't have direct sunlight, so ask for one with a window to the street.
Bathroom is small but complete and plumbing is OK. Breakfast is 7 Euro (continental) and if you want something warm like scrambled eggs they cook it fresh for you. Good value for money at 50 Euros a night. Most staff don't speak English.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have window to outside. Other rooms have window to hallway.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericschlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Don Paco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

After arriving in Malaga at 21.30 and missing my bus (which was the last one of the night), I had to find a cheap hotel in the area close to the bus station. A five minute walk from the train/bus station puts the hotel in a great position for an overnight stay with an early morning departure.

Given the plethora of dubious-looking individuals in Malaga bus station, I was keen to find a hotel quickly and wasn't too bothered about the price. It wasn't too much different from the standard price if you booked ahead in advance, so I was just happy to hear they had availability and I could get a room for the night. Check-in was fast and efficient by the pleasant English-speaking receptionist and only took a few minutes til I was in my room. The room was clean, albeit with aged decor, but it had a nicely sized television and a good air conditioning system, with a fan over the bed. The bathroom was clean and tidy, with a nice shower.

Overall, a decent, cheap alternative for an overnight stay near the train/bus station in Malaga city centre, as long as you aren't too bothered by the shabby, old looking bed covers/decor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Well I am surprised when I saw the rank of this hotel. It deserves more. It was a clean and a decent place to stay. Ask for a room looking at street. Their single big bed rooms are looking inside. there is buffet breakfast for 7 € and it was nice..free internet and pc at the tv room.
Hotel is 15-20 min walk to the center but it is safe and plain streets to walk. Overall it was a decent hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onur d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed for one night at this hotel and were given a room with a view of the street. The room and the toilet were very clean. Good selection of breakfast items and the lady in the kitchen was all smiles and made an omelette on request although it was not part of the buffet item. The receptionist directed us to a seafood restaurant within the city which was truly enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently located at a walking distance from the train and bus stations as well as the mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor and with a view of the street if you are a sound sleeper.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This hotel is well situated but that is about all, paper thin walls, poor food, large parties of noisy young people awake all night. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide81Broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Being that August is Feria Season in Malaga, this was the only hotel I was able to find. The sign on the door gave it a three star rating....something I have learned not to trust outside of America. I travel to Malaga from Cadiz every weekend. So I have stayed at plenty of hotels in the Malaga area. This was the worst one I have seen. The front desk attendant was very unfriendly. I brought my girlfriend who lives in Malaga to the hotel after she got off from work, so she could shower and go out in town. They immediately told her she could not stay for more than four hours. Otherwise they would charge me another twenty euros. We left her stuff in my room, and went out in town. After returning, another man working the desk refused to let anybody else in the room except myself, unless paying 20 euros. I have never seen any hotel refuse a guest the right to have a guest in their room. The shower was rusty, the sheets were disgusting. They make you turn your key in every time you leave the hotel. The "free wifi" didn't work. The rooms were small, and could hear people walking around outside the room all night. The toilet had a dripping leak. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM25spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2004

We stayed one night in this hotel in Sept. 2004 at a rate of about 77 euros. My view of the hotel was probably influenced by the negative reason we were staying there (a missed flight). The hotel is fine, but nothing great. Nice lobby, so so staff, large room, so so decorations, huge bathroom, easy walk to train station, lots of bars with food nearby and a few fast food restaurants but nothing a little nicer. Breakfast is not included and can be ordered ala carte at the front desk; I suspect the options are limited. Our room was air conditioned.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gotkidswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#51 of 89 in Malaga
133 reviews
Centro
Hotel Guadalmedina
Hotel Guadalmedina
#32 of 89 in Malaga
378 reviews
Sercotel Malaga
#31 of 89 in Malaga
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#33 of 89 in Malaga
521 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
530 reviews
Centro
Hotel Soho Boutique Bahia Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Paco

Address: Calle Salitre 53, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Paco 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paco Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing