We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but the hotel receptionist wasn't”
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place but the hotel receptionist wasn't”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed there for 10 days on my own . I found that the hotel was generally good with very polite and pleasant staff. However , one gentleman ( receptionist) did what could only be described as 'expose' him self to me whilst I was there. He was standing in front of me with his fly undone, wide open and had no underwear on . I appreciate it could have been a wardrobe malfunction but by winking at me after I felt very uncomfortable. very disappointing end to what has been great experience . Be care full travelling alone

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    139
    45
    18
    5
See reviews for
28
124
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed at Carlos V for 6 nights while in Malaga.I was very happy as its in a great location just behind the Cathedral...quiet...good price...and near everything! The guys at reception are wonderful..they were very helpful in every way.The room was fine... with a large,clean bathroom.I found the room to be very good....a little paint job was needed in my room on the walls..but this really is not a problem unless you are terribly fussy about those things.Only thing I missed and suggested would be nice to see in future was a mini fridge in room..and perhaps a computer in a common area for clients to use..although there is Wi Fi in the rooms.They are fixing up a big room downstairs so they have all these things in mind.There is no breakfast room but there are plenty of places near buy to grab something to eat.
I will surely stay here again when in Malaga!I felt perfectly at home here and again the guys at reception are a big help in every way..So if you are looking for a safe,friendly,cosy, and good priced hotel in a great location..give Carlos V a try! I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Excellent hotel, good value for money. I have been staying at Carlos V for many years and it is always clean, confortable and friendly. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay. It is in an excellent location near the castle and cathedral, as well as bars, restaurants and of course the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnolia826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for 10 days - longer than planned thanks to the volcanic ash problem. The hotel is in an excellent location particularly for pedestrians. It is immediately behind the cathedral and within wast walking distance of the bus terminal, restaurants and shopping, and the waterfront.

I can't comment on parking as we got a bus from the airport.

The staff were very helpful and polite, and when we needed to extend our stay they accommodated us at the same rate that we had paid previously. They could easily have gouged us as we had no choice, so we were very appreciaitive. The rooms had recently been refurbished, good bathroom, flat screen TV, no aircon but cool with shutters on the windows,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

stayed in Oct 2010 as a stop-over on our way to Gibraltar. Major construction work going on in the area but to be honest - the location of the hotel is outstanding so we didn't really mind. parking is up the road off to the right in an underground area (light switch is immediately to your left as you open up the garage by the way. took us ages to find, doh). There is a little cafe just opposite the hotel which isn't great but definitely convenient. If you're in the area for a short period of time and, like us, prefer to spend more time sightseeing & eating out than being indoors then this place is for you :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogsinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

It was a little bid hard to find this hotel since this area was underconstruction and part of building nearby was covered up.
Small basic room (single) but enough for 1 with TV, AC, Safe box, hair dryer. Clean shower room. No kettle in a room. No breakfast at hotel. Vending machine at lobby to buy softdrinks. 3min walk to Alcazaba. Many restaurants and bars are around. 5-6min walk to main shopping streets, Marques de Larios. Very kind English speaking receptionists helped me for everything.
10 min(or less without suitcase) walk to Bus stop for Airport on Paseo del Parque (line A), 10 min walk to another bus stop for Nerja area on Av. Manuel A. Heredia.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHHYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munchen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

If you expect a 3-4 star hotel with nice views - this is not a hotel for you. This is a small, quiet hotel which is located right in the center of the city. Rooms are small, with tiny windows. Ours was overlooking a wall of the nearby building. Showers come with built-in jacuzzi function, which was cool (although the bathtub was tiny). TV didn't work properly, and beds were very small. I would still recommend this hotel because of its location and price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alinochka20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#36 of 88 in Malaga
474 reviews
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#27 of 88 in Malaga
1,180 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#38 of 88 in Malaga
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Del Pintor
#10 of 88 in Malaga
607 reviews
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#56 of 88 in Malaga
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Property: Hotel Carlos V
Address: Calle Cister 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing