We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced & disappointing, although great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Overpriced & disappointing, although great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in the Carlos V for 2 nights, which happened to coincide with the Malaga “Feria” (holiday), which lasts for 2 weeks in August, and is very, very busy, but great fun. Although previous travellers have mentioned what great value for money the hotel is, during these 2 weeks it is not. We paid Euros 99 per night for a small, basic room with no view, no tea/coffee-making facilities, no room safe, and no fridge. To it’s advantage it did have a decent bathroom.

Travellers, be warned about the hotel’s parking facility (which costs another Euros 11.80 per day). The u-turn which has to be negotiated down the ramp is very, very tight, and anything larger than a compact car will not make it. This is something I feel the hotel should have warned us about. We did manage to make it (in a compact car), but due to the situation of 2 other parked cars right at the u-turn, it took about a 7-point turn to do so.

As mentioned, the location of the hotel is excellent, and the room clean (although the bedcover had seen better days, sporting a number of cigarette burns). At 50 - 60 Euros I would say it was decent value for money, but at 99 Euros it wasn’t. And for the final weekend of the festival, when the hotel were hiking their prices to Euros 140 per night, then it is daylight robbery. Not impressed......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    133
    43
    18
    5
See reviews for
26
117
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

After deciding to stay in Málaga longer than expected we needed to find a place. We found the hotel after checking out a few places and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and for the same price as a 10-person room at a nearby hostel we got a clean and private room at the Carlos V. The room was very clean and quiet, but the room was small (this wasn't an issue for us though... how much time do you spend in your room when you're in Spain!?) Most importantly, the hotel was in a great location and within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobersy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights before taking a cruise.
The hotel (the folder doesn´t mention it as a hostel) is a 2 -star rated, on a pedestrian street.
I highly recommend it for its rate is really low considering the location.
And I mean, great location: close (really walking distances) to restaurants, bars, cafés, stores, the Cathedral, the Roman Theater, snack bars, Squares, Gardens, bus stop, the beach and the port.
I got a room facing houses and the back of the Cathedral. It was very quiet.
The room (comfortable bed) and the bathroom were nice and clean.
They have internet (one hour = 2 Euros). We didn´t use the parking lot.
If you are lucky enough to meet Alvaro,one of the the recepcionists, then your stay will be more than joyable. He is very nice, smiling and very helpful, indeed.

Room Tip: Our room didn´t face the street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohanuiloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Although this hotel only rates 2*, it makes up for it as it is in a quiet side street in the centre of the historic centre of Malaga. The room I stayed in was clean, with a bathroom & bath. There was no view as it looked on to walls but in a city centre, that is not important. The cost of the room was extremely reasonable and the staff spoke English and were most helpful. The only minus point was the fact that there was no facility for breakfast but immediately opposite are some decent cafes selling breakfast etc.

Room Tip: If you want a bath, ask for room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojogluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel calls itself a hostal, and this is what it is. It is considered here to be cheap but considering what you get I would not necessarily agree. Rooms are very average and totally impersonal and charmless. It does not give you the feeling of a chain hotel though. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was not convincing and our room was a bit smelly. The bedcover had not been changed for a long time, bedsheets were fresh though. Although situated in the old town our view going to a back court was all but nice. Staff was friendly and spoke English. No major complaints but nothing to praise either. One pro - private parking is provided at a good rate. Upon our return to Malaga we chose a different hotel of a slighlty better standard and at a lower rate. Would return though, unless I would find a better option in Malaga, which I did.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Situated right next to the cathederal you can not find a better location for Malaga site seeing. A small basic hotel with few facilities although they do have secure car parking. Ideal for a short stay. Good friendly English speaking staff.

Room Tip: higher floors are les noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed there for 10 days on my own . I found that the hotel was generally good with very polite and pleasant staff. However , one gentleman ( receptionist) did what could only be described as 'expose' him self to me whilst I was there. He was standing in front of me with his fly undone, wide open and had no underwear on . I appreciate it could have been a wardrobe malfunction but by winking at me after I felt very uncomfortable. very disappointing end to what has been great experience . Be care full travelling alone

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#34 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#25 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#37 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#54 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Property: Hotel Carlos V
Address: Calle Cister 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing