We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Only a room, no breakfast available, but the place has been beautifully renovated and is right in the centre of Malaga. We had a twin room with bathroom, TV and free WIFI also air conditioning. Not having breakfast is no problem as there is a lovely cafeteria right opposite. Don't pay more to stay in Malaga it just isn't worth it unless you plan to spend your entire stay in your room!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    145
    46
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
126
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I arrived late on Thursday and headed into the vity by Bus and toward historic centre . I saw the Hotel and on the off chance they had a room I went in . I was lucky ...great staf , friendly and helpful, and perfect location in the centre of town .
I bookd for a 2nd nigh...and while rooim is small ..it's functional and welcoming hotel where people work hard to deliver a service that's 4 star

Room Tip: Hope for the best .I had a small single with no "view" but a great location and price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just spent 2 weeks exploring Andalucía and the last two nights in Malaga before flying home and luckily chose the Carlos V to stay. The position of the hotel in the pedestrianized part of the old town is perfect being 70 yards from the Cathedral and 100 yards from the amphitheatre and castle. Within a quarter of a mile is the Picasso museum and enough bars and restaurants to keep you going for weeks! The staff were extremely helpful and polite and spoke excellent English. The rooms if a little small were clean, all had en suite and air conditioning and were serviced efficiently every day. It is only 2 star as there is no bar or food but there is a restaurant within 10 yards from the front door where we had breakfast and coffee etc. Prices were between 44 Euros for a single and 56 Euros for a twin and worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at Carlos V for 2 nights. The receptionist was very friendly (both the day and the night clerk). The location is very convenient for a city trip. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel, the breakfast room didn't really look very inviting. But there are so many nice cafes in the neighborhood so I preferred to have breakfast outside. The hotel seems to be a bit older but the rooms are clean and cute. Another thing which I want to point out: I rented a car at the reception, the car was delivered to the hotel - very friendly service and very uncomplicated handling.
I would come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovi900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times on my visits to Madrid. Excellent locations, rooms are nice for a three star and excellent customer service. I would and have recommended in the past with positive feedback.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

As bland a hotel as anywhere, but located right in the historic centre with lots of bars and restaurants right by the hotel. We opted to park on the street which was easy since from 2pm Saturday parking is free.. otherwise you have to feed the metre every two hours.
Hotel was very clean, beds a bit soft, nice bathroom..no breakfast served and for 90 euros a bit expensive but very safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a very basic hotel in a very good location. Our room had a bed and small TV nice bathroom and nothing else. The hotel does not offer food or any other services. But if you want to be in the centre of Malaga and you are there for only a short trip it is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#37 of 89 in Malaga
483 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#29 of 89 in Malaga
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Del Pintor
#12 of 89 in Malaga
628 reviews
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#56 of 89 in Malaga
99 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#38 of 89 in Malaga
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Property: Hotel Carlos V
Address: Calle Cister 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing