We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated and highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I just stayed at the Carlos V and I can recommend it highly. It is now nicely renovated and has nothing in common with the things criticised in older reviews here. The bathrooms are very nice with beautiful tiles, very clean and everything works well, the bed is comfy and the room has a good heating which was important in this cold Januar. The receptionists were very friendly, recommended nice restaurants and no question seemed too much. The location is great, less than five minutes walk to either the cathedral, to the castle, to the picasso museum, to the airport bus stop, to the main shopping street and to great tapas bars. At 36-40 Euro for a single, it can only be highly recomended. Forget about the old comments here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabaidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

Very cheap accommodation, but clean and quiet. Good option for short one-day stopover in Malaga. The best thing is location - in the very centre of Malaga.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Verry clean hotel. The rooms are small but got everyting it needs for an short stay.
The receptionist is very unkind.
If you are a diabetic do not go for this hotel, becouse they have no fridge to put your medication in.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoyaAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

In november 2006 we stayed at the Carlos V for 3 nights. We chose this hotel for its central location. Indeed it is central, right in the middle of the historical centre of Malaga. This is by far the most positive charactaristic of this hotel. When you enter the hotel you get the impression that you´re dealing with a hotel indeed. But once you start climbing the stairs your initial impression fades away quickly. The room is clean, but nothing more. The beds are horizontal, nothing more. However the bathroom dates from the early 20th century. The walls must be very thin because we could literally hear our neighbours talking (thank god they were only doing that!). The guys at the reception were very nice, except for one older guy who was really grumpy. We would not really recommend this hotel, unless you have little time to spend in Malaga and need a central location. The price vs. quality is not in balance, we paid 58 euro without breakfast.
Regards, Norbert and Machteld from Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Granny_smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2005

On an eleven week trip in europe this was without doubt the worst. We were joining a tour so had no choice. They lost our reservation for extra nights so we stayed around the corner as a walk in in a brand new hotel. Back to the Carlos V. They are still renovating. But in a group of twelve none of us had a renovated room, just a lot of dust in the hallway from rooms that were gutted. The bedroom floor was very dirty your feet were black with one pass. The staff were totally unhelpful about our lost reservation we just walked off like refugees. It has a good location by the cathedral and that is why tours use it but if you are freelancing give it a miss you will find better at 65 euros. Malaga is a wonderful town that really is making a great effort for tourist we were pleadantly surprised. It was very safe
we walked everywhere and used the bus station several times all very easy and we have no spanish.

3  Thank gillianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#37 of 89 in Malaga
504 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Del Pintor
#13 of 89 in Malaga
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#29 of 89 in Malaga
1,246 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#24 of 89 in Malaga
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Address: Calle Cister 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing