We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My saviour!”
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Great price, great staff, great location, great street signs... and parking!
Found this place on a desperate whim after a long day of driving ... thank god! Seeing that "Carlos V" sign when driving into town seemed like a miracle!
I would stay here again. Simple, affordable, clean and centrally located.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms are small and fairly basic but clean and have air conditioning and TV. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We had problems with the shower which was either boiling hot or cold, very difficult to control. The cleaning staff were very noisy in the morning, shouting in the corridor from 8 am. However, the hotel location is fantastic and the price was very good making it very good value for money. We would probably stay there again if we returned to Malaga.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmanuel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Carlos V for one night in July after flying in from NY. The room was small but comfortable, we had a quiet room in the back with a surprisingly large bathroom. There was a good place to buy coffee and light meals across the street, and the Cathedral, Roman theater and other interesting areas were in easy walking distance. We had fun exploring on foot and actually walked up to the Castillo de Gibralfaro and back. I would have liked another day in Malaga, and could easily have spent another night at the Carlos V - it was well worth the 53 euros we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My byfrnd and I spent only a nite here. Lobby is very small but who cares as long as the room is big and super clean. Bed was comfy. Toilet without baht was also big and clean. Towels were clean. Free wifi in the room. Air con worked well. All TV programs r in Spanish but we didn't mind cos spent most of the time in town. Lift was kinda small. It's in the central of Malaga wit tons of cafes, bars, pubs, clubs and shops around. There was no fridge in the room so don't forget to buy some cool drinks from outside. U can save money from taxi cos of greatest location in Malaga....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooftop_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My boyfriend and I spent one night in the Carlos V Hotel in Málaga. We got a double room with en-suite, (small) TV, free wi-fi and air conditioning. The room was clean and modern, but there were three especially stand-out features-

1- The Price
...for only €62 including IVA (tax)!

2- The Service
...friendly service from the lovely concierges.

3- The Location
We were INCREDIBLY close to the Cathedral, which made the hotel a) very close to everything you want to see- the old town, the port, the shopping district, the bus and train stations, and b) really easy to find your way back to after a few glasses of wine. Even though it was very central, it was very quiet.

There was nothing I did not like about this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

The hotel is situated very close to the cathedral in a central location yet quiet. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms nice and clean with good air conditioning. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a partial view of the cathedral.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed here one night before flying home from Malaga. Very friendly basic comfortable clean hotel in a perfect location in the centre of Malaga. No frills but perfectly adequate and staff very friendly and helpful . Great value 36 Euro per single room. There is no restaurant but plenty of tapas bars and cafes nearby

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#27 of 87 in Malaga
1,294 reviews
Hotel Del Pintor
#12 of 87 in Malaga
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#29 of 87 in Malaga
492 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#41 of 87 in Malaga
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Address: Calle Cister 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing