We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great hostel!”
Review of Casa Al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Al Sur
Ranked #28 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Casa al sur is a great hostel! The staff are very friendly and always willing to give some advice about the city, the room was clean and so was the bathroom, the location was also very good (in a calm street, but close to the center). We were glad that we stayed at Casa al sur!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerina-314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hosts are very friendly. House is old. Many elements of the interior show signs of wearing out, but everything is kept clean. Location close to the old town is a big advantage, but the old windows do not completely protect from the noise of night life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

There was one space left at Casa al Sur when I looked online after I had to miss my flight back home from Malaga, and I went straight there after reading some great reviews! I stayed three nights, and had a lovely stay. The hostel is in a great location, clean and light, comfortable, friendly, and the atmosphere was quite sociable without being too noisy or intrusive. There is also a good selection of tea, and free of charge! The staff know the area well and were ready to help any way they could. There are loads of nice spaces; a living/communal area downstairs with sofas, a rooftop terrace, and a well equipped kitchen (though no oven that I could see - just hobs and a microwave!), and the bathrooms and rooms were a good size - the mixed dorm had a little balcony too. It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay - thankyou!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiptaptoptup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hostel was great! It is very clean, calm, people in dorms are very respectful and careful not to make to much noise. Yet there is a very friendly atmosphere, ideal to meet other travellers, alone or in group, students or adults. The inn-keepers are incredibly nice, open and helpuful! I am staying in Malaga for three month and they helped me out with my installation (finding a flat, advices...). They were also very flexible. Really, it was a very welcoming and high-quality hostel. I was very glad to have found it and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a bit quieter, but the rooms are all more or less the same, and you can easily c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hortense P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Small and comfortable hostel. The people are very nice and the rooms are clean. All furniture are new and fit very good to the mediterrane and relaxed athomsphere. The rooftop is awesome to enjoy your self made food or just have a nice drink. Its right in the center of Malaga and near to lots of Bars and Restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed in Malaga alone following a trip from Seville. I arrived early but I was greeted with a smile and welcomed into the lounge area to wait until my room was ready.

Victor then carried my suitcase upstairs and showed me round. I stayed in a shared dorm with 6 people. The room was light, bright, spacious, clean and airy. Just what I needed. Each bed had its own safe which was handy.
It was a shared bathroom, but there is three bathrooms in the hostel, so i never had to wait.

There is also a lovely roof terrace which is very relaxing.

Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC_0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Casa Al sur is a very good place to stay in malaga..it was very clean and in a very good location.the room has a good size and bathroom was kind of modern too. the only negative point was that breakfast isn't included:(

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Picnic Dreams Boutique Hostel
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#25 of 150 in Malaga
98 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#3 of 150 in Malaga
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Lodge
#9 of 150 in Malaga
146 reviews
Centro
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Centro
The Lights Hostel
The Lights Hostel
#5 of 150 in Malaga
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Al Sur

Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 5, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: £22 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Al Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenido a Casa Al Sur! Our brand new hostel is a charming 100+ year old typical andalusian house with a friendly, urban feel. Casa Al Sur is located in the historic center of Málaga. It is a great starting point to explore the city. Our house is tucked in an idyllic side street within a short walking distance to all the main sites. We offer private or shared rooms with or without balcony all with a comfortable, modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Al Sur Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing