We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Al Sur
Ranked #19 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Casa Al Sur was alright for a few nights. Staying in summer the room was hot with only a fan and the bed was just a foam block on a basic stretcher. I understand this is a hostel but after staying at numerous hostels around Europe this is quite basic. Also, the location isn't a in the old town and for single female travellers the neighbourhood didn't feel particularly safe at night. Besides this it is reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast on the rooftop was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmurphy173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
49
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very recommendable hostel in a pretty quiet calle close to the city centre. Came there with my girlfriend for some days. We were lucky and got the rooftop room, where we spent some lovely nights. So don't go there any more ;) joking.. The hostel is clean and the staff very friendly. You can see, that there is lots of commitment. Would love to go back there!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huvogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here in June an it was Great! Roof terrace is great for a beer, which you can buy any time or day from the reception day or night. Kitchen was great for cooking and there are plenty of shops in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Its a shame that the hostel is a good 20-30 minute walk from the beach, bars and the bus station etc. Also there is only wifi connection at reception, which didn't really bother me but would have been nice to have access in the rooms, but over all a great hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njmcc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this place has gotten such high reviews. Internet wasn't working, bedroom is right next to front door, no lockers for bags, front desk staff not present 24/7, and beds are terrible. Not sure how this place gets such good reviews. Staff was courteous, when present. They are only there between 11 am and 3 pm, and then again 7 pm to 11 pm. When staff was supposed to be there and I had a question, he was gone for 20 minutes! Shop around in Malaga before coming here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Cuzman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina K, Manager at Casa Al Sur, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that the one night you spent with us was not enjoyable... We do try for all our guests to get the most out of the city and the hostel so they might leave with a good impression of their vacation.
We wanted to take the time to clear up any concerns you might of had during your stay:
1. We have two routers in the building, they usually work very well and at great speed. We actually run the music through one of them to make sure it´s constantly working properly. In the various conversations we had we could of easily helped you with it. 2. In shared rooms we provide safes for all guests. Additionally, there are lockers right outside the room, in front of reception, available to anyone that needs it.. 3. Our beds, like our hostel is 2 years old. It is the first time we´ve received a complaint about the them and we will definitely look into it. 4. Casa Al Sur is a small, family run hostel with only 8 rooms and we try to keep a good value for our guests´ stay. To do so, we are not able to provide 24hr reservation, as it was clearly stated when making your reservation. We do provide all the information, maps, recommendations possible for exploring the city. We hope you have a better time in the city next time around.
Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed just for one night, but we could easily stay a week there. We stayed in a triple room with our 12 years old son. The room and showers are very clean. The location is great.The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondarenochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnica, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hostel was very clean and comfortable. Wifi worked very good. There is a kitchen with all dishes. Staff was very frendly and helpfull. Near to town cener, 15 minutes to the beach.It was really great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata_SzymonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Casa al Sur was a great hostel with a very good location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the hosts are very friendly, knowlegable and helpful. There is also a kitchen available with free coffee and tea. and (good!) wine and beer for sale at very reasonable prices. This was a great value, and I highly recommend this hostel to any traveller staying in Malaga!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#25 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#8 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Centro
Feel Hostels City Center
Feel Hostels City Center
#35 of 135 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#23 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Al Sur

Property: Casa Al Sur
Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 5, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Al Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenido a Casa Al Sur! Our brand new hostel is a charming 100+ year old typical andalusian house with a friendly, urban feel. Casa Al Sur is located in the historic center of Málaga. It is a great starting point to explore the city. Our house is tucked in an idyllic side street within a short walking distance to all the main sites. We offer private or shared rooms with or without balcony all with a comfortable, modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Al Sur Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing