We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable rooms”
Review of Eurostars Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Astoria
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night and had good experience. The rooms were spacious and well equipped - air conditioning, hair drier, TV, good wi-fi connection, even a jacuzzi bath (which however could be a little bit cleaner). Our room was on the upper floors with a nice small balcony with a chair. The view was also very nice.
The location is also very nice - in the 10-minute walking area from the port, the old city center and the are with the restaurants and bars.
The staff were helpful and spoke English!
On the negative side - the flushing cistern in the toilet was not working properly and there is no parking. The hotel works with a nearby public parking which will cost you additional EUR 15 per night (discounted price for the hotel guests, and EUR 18 - normal price).
Overall - I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors offer better view and some even have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    273
    105
    24
    5
See reviews for
61
280
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaen, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was a great option. The reason why we chose this hotel was that it is next to the city centre (a couple of minutes from Alameda Principal) and that was a major strenght of the hotel (in the Alameda Principal you find bus stops for the main lines). The city centre is some 5 minutes on foot and, therefore, easy to reach from the hotel.

The room was clean and the bathroom had the facilities you may ask for. The two main disadvantages of the room where we stayed in are that the room is not very big and that it was very warm (it received sunlight during the afternoon and evening, which made it very warm at night!). Another problem may be that the river is in front of the hotel, so you may get the smell of it at times (I guess it may be worse in the summer time!). However, the room was perfectly clean and everybody is very kind and efficient. To put an example, we forgot to remove the label for 'don't distrub' and, when we came back to the hotel in the middle of the evening, we asked if we could have our room made. In some 40 minutes, there was a maid cleaning our room for us to enjoy in perfect conditions!

The receptionists were very kind and friendly, even the boy who was going through his practice period.

I would recommend this hotel to the people who are going to the city centre for business or pleasure, but not for people who would like to stay in the hotel room for a long time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pachocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is in a good location for all that Malaga has to offer. It is in a prominent position and easy to find.
We enjoyed our stay, in a clean room with good facilities and had a decent breakfast.
One street back you will find superb tapas bars.

I would stay again, however, it is certainly not a hotel "of character" but is a good choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Disappointed. We'd previously stayed at a Eurostars in Oporto and this hotel feels like it's from a completely different (and inferior) chain.

On the plus side: central hotel v close to rail station; clean; firm comfy bed ... blackout curtails; good value for money breakfast. Friendly staff.

On the minus side:
- no sound proofing; the hotel is close to major roads but no-one seems to have considered using soundproofing double glazing: you need ear plugs.
- small rooms (we had a 'superior' - so i dread to think how small the normal rooms are); 'balcony' has room for one chair ...
- no airconditioning in March
- tiny bathrooms; tiny bath (absolutely useless using the spa bath because you can't lie down in the bath - which is about 120cm / 4 foot max - so how are you supposed to relax?)

Not good value for money.
All in all: there must be better options in Malaga.

Room Tip: rooms at the back won't have traffic noise, but also have no view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olkusz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Eurostars Astoria for 2 nights. Perfect location - about 15 min. walk from historic part of Malaga, Picasso museum, shops, restaurants etc. Train and bus station is very close. There was no problem to get here from the airport.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable. Fresh sheets and towels. The bathroom was shining, positive aspect is the bath with jacuzzi :) nice service but not everyone at the reception spoke English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goluzdzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have never been to Malaga before so it was pot luck as to where to stay. After reading dozens of reviews and looking at loads of hotels we plumped for the Astoria,simply because I'd read that t was near the metro from the airport.
We arrived at about 9.30 pm,left the station and crossed the road to the hotel,perfect. We were greeted by a lovely guy on reception who understood English very well,we initially had a problem with our room key but this was promptly sorted with sincere apologies for any inconvenience. I'd say throughout our whole stay every member of staff we encountered was absolutely lovely,always smiling and greeting us whenever we left or entered the hotel.
The hotel was in a perfect position. It was about a ten minute walk to the start of the old town and a ten to fifteen minute walk to the stunning new harbour area. It was quiet on a night as there were no bars or restaurants right by the hotel which to me is a bonus,in such a busy city I can imagine it being very noisy in some of the hotels situated in the old town.
The room was lovely. We got a superior room so had a balcony(noticed the other rooms just had windows),it didn't really matter at this time of year as we didn't really use it but it was nice to have and I think the rooms are slightly bigger. Lovely bathroom. The whole room was immaculate. Only downside to us was that the bed was on the firm side. This might suit others.
All in all I'd definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there on our next visit to amazing Malaga.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if available but if not any room at the front would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week.

It is in a good location in the City centre and right next to the train station to go to the airport.

Very modern but not much character as I think it is aimed at business travellers and not tourists.

The cost was reasonable especially compared to British hotels of a similar standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 87 in Malaga
960 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
459 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Sercotel Malaga
#34 of 87 in Malaga
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Astoria

Property: Eurostars Astoria
Address: Avenida Comandante Benitez 5, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malaga
#19 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eurostars Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Astoria a modern, friendly establishment with comfortable guestrooms equipped with hydro-massage bathtubs - awakens to offer its guests the best possible service. The Eurostars Astoria Hotel offers a varied buffet breakfast of excellent quality and also caters for groups or working lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Astoria Hotel Malaga
Astoria Hotel málaga
Eurostars Astoria Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing