We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Visit....”
Review of Eurostars Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Astoria
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5th Visit....”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We now stay here each time we fly into Malaga - short taxi ride from the airport, 10 minutes walk to the train station. Close to restaurants, museums, etc in the old city centre, 15 minutes stroll through the city gardens to the Quayside and Malagueta beach. Bright, fresh, clean rooms, good beds, efficient staff, good choice at the (7euro) breakfast buffet. It's a typical city-hotel - not particularly unique, but has delivered well for us each time we've stayed.

Room Tip: The "x02" rooms at the front have a small balcony at a small extra cost (or try for an upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    263
    101
    24
    5
See reviews for
56
270
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Astoria in Malaga. The staff were excellent, particularly the gentleman on reception who found us an alternative room as we had a slight problem with the first one. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the museums, marina, old town etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location of the hotel is really wonderful: city center, bus and train stations, shops and shopping centers. Everything is in 5-10 min access. Breakfast was quite nice. The staff was friendly and halpful but sometimes you need to ask for something not once. So don't hesitate to ask once again or they will just forget about you that happened to me not once:)

It would be much better if there were some tea/coffee facilities in the room. The linen was changed only once during 13 day and sometimes I noticed they didn't make up my room well but I didn't really litter:) Simple twin room would be quite small for 2 people, just for me it was ok.

Room Tip: I would recommend to ask for a front facing room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Reasonable City Centre hotel, clean and well located, but not a particularly good experience for us on this occasion.
Arrived early and didn't expect our rooms to be ready...correct...reception staff said that we could leave our luggage, gave us tickets and put them in a luggage room. We were told that the rooms would be ready in about an hour. We returned 3 hours later, collected our luggage and room keys and headed to the rooms. One room was ready but the other was not and the maid was still in the room only just having started cleaning. I returned to reception and complained. The male on reception contacted someone by phone but there was no apology.
Then when we came to leave the room again the door would not lock, I called reception and to be fair the maintenance man was there within 5 minutes as promised. He reprogrammed the keycard.
Unfortunately next morning we spotted some very long black hairs attached to the shower, presumably from the cleaner or worse still the previous occupant.

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast but that was good with both cold and hot choices.
All in all our stay was ok for what we needed, but having chosen a Eurostars Hotel because we use the chain regularly we were a little disappointed with this one.
We did complete a 'suggestion' form and completed the contact details but as yet have not had any feedback.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived in Malaga in the middle of the Festival. Did not expect the drunken crowds but our hotel was a calm in the middle of the storm of fun. Spotlessly clean; friendly and helpful staff; great location, away from the noise of the town but in walking distance; good value for money. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you land Malaga Airport, the easiest option to get to hotel is via train. When you get out of train station (Malaga Centre), the hotel is literally just opposite you, across the road.

Check-in was quick and staff at the reception was friendly. Room size is okay and it's very clean. Some other reviewers mentioned that the room was small but I found it's not that bad.

Wifi signal was a bit poor maybe it's due to room facing. Breakfast was decent.

Overall great stay for a night or two, price is competitive as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zumibruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Nice hotel, the room was clean and tidy, a decent size for a single traveller. All the staff were helpful and breakfast good value.

It is located close to other hotels, but did feel a little on the edge of the city rather than city centre - that said, access is fantastic from the airport. It is minutes from the underground, direct from the airport for under 2 Euros. The direct bus from the airport, is a little further away - say 5 mins and costs 3 Euros.

A good hotel for sightseeing or shopping in Malaga and the surrounding area, but it is a good 20/30 minute walk to the nearest beach. Probably a good hotel for anyone heading to Malaga to watch football too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Centro
Hotel Guadalmedina
Hotel Guadalmedina
#33 of 88 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Astoria

Property: Eurostars Astoria
Address: Avenida Comandante Benitez 5, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malaga
#19 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eurostars Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Eurostars, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurostars Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Astoria Hotel Malaga
Astoria Hotel málaga
Eurostars Astoria Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing