We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor room quality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Astoria

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eurostars Astoria
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very poor room quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the last 2 nights whilst on vacation to the city. The room we were given was very very poor. The door did not close properly as the frame was badly damaged and it would not lock from the inside. The floor was loose and stopped the door opening. There was a musty smell to the room. The bathroom door frame has been broken and poorly mended. The window frame was bent which allowed a lot of noise in from outside. I managed to wedge that closed at night so we could sleep. The shower was weak and the control poor and fittings old. The room felt as if someone had had a major fight in it and the room had lost!! There is no way it should have been given to a guest.
On the plus side it is one minute to the station and near to the town. Breakfast is limited but good and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatonClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    257
    97
    21
    3
See reviews for
54
262
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very good experience at this hotel. Convenient for train station which is a short walk (10 minutes), sightseeing and restaurants. Had a room upgrade with balcony and jacuzzi which was great. Clean large room with very comfortable beds. Staff very helpful. Did not eat in the hotel as we wanted to sample churros at Cafe Aranda for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Near the centre of Malaga, jacuzzi and a smal but clean room. Near the trainstation, just two minutes walking. 15 minutes from the AirPort and 10 min walking from the beach and great harbor.......... .


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Reina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

the hotel was sooo convenient for the train station and also within easy walking distance of the city centre. Room was basic but clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast wassuficient but we would have like a bigger choice of hot food. Staff were helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank usus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We now stay here each time we fly into Malaga - short taxi ride from the airport, 10 minutes walk to the train station. Close to restaurants, museums, etc in the old city centre, 15 minutes stroll through the city gardens to the Quayside and Malagueta beach. Bright, fresh, clean rooms, good beds, efficient staff, good choice at the (7euro) breakfast buffet. It's a typical city-hotel - not particularly unique, but has delivered well for us each time we've stayed.

Room Tip: The "x02" rooms at the front have a small balcony at a small extra cost (or try for an upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Astoria in Malaga. The staff were excellent, particularly the gentleman on reception who found us an alternative room as we had a slight problem with the first one. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the museums, marina, old town etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location of the hotel is really wonderful: city center, bus and train stations, shops and shopping centers. Everything is in 5-10 min access. Breakfast was quite nice. The staff was friendly and halpful but sometimes you need to ask for something not once. So don't hesitate to ask once again or they will just forget about you that happened to me not once:)

It would be much better if there were some tea/coffee facilities in the room. The linen was changed only once during 13 day and sometimes I noticed they didn't make up my room well but I didn't really litter:) Simple twin room would be quite small for 2 people, just for me it was ok.

Room Tip: I would recommend to ask for a front facing room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Hotel Guadalmedina
Hotel Guadalmedina
#33 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#14 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#12 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Astoria

Property: Eurostars Astoria
Address: Avenida Comandante Benitez 5, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malaga
#19 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eurostars Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Eurostars, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Eurostars Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Astoria Hotel Malaga
Astoria Hotel málaga
Eurostars Astoria Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing