We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique
Ranked #13 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It’s worth repeating; everything about the La Francesca is charming. The hosts, the staff, the gardens, the décor, and the doggies. Words fail to describe just how charming Anna is. Her grace under pressure, welcoming ceremony, manner of dress and conversation, and choices of design usually exist only at a larger hotel costing far more. But that is not to say she is stuffy or unapproachable. She is warm and can be encouraged to gossip. Her English is perfect; as is, no doubt, her French, since she speaks English with a French accent. She speaks a couple of other languages while her husband speaks no English.
Neither did the breakfast waitress we spoke with; which made her all that much more charming and sweet. And I cannot speak any Spanish before 11:00 AM. Breakfast, by the way is in the form of several different styles; which makes it difficult for us. Americans want it all! But to mix and match the two of you can each order a different one.
The gardens surrounding the hotel are on the par with any public garden open to the public. They have a rich history as does the house. Over 102 years they have been preserved and matured into several rich views, even though they are on a simple 4-box parterre scheme. This is my favorite type of garden: separate rooms and terracing. The houses position on a hill allow it to have much air movement.
The decorations throughout the house are in keeping with the 1911 time period. Hardware has a floral motif. The wall hangings are bright and pastel. Light fixtures are lacey. Man Alert! Yea guys, it’s a little bit feminine but you can put up with it for your spouse. And if it gets to you, you can talk to the husband about his bike.
The dogs were a welcome sight after being away from ours for two weeks. They are Catalan Sheepdogs; kind of like a string mop with a big heart. So lovable that they spotted me right away and followed us in there enclosure from side to side. I never saw them in the public areas and only heard them bark at night once. I don’t like begging dogs either but I bet when you say that you love dogs, the hosts are going to assume that you love all of the dog. They certainly would have done something if they knew about it. I mean really: dog = begging. It’s how we domesticated them in the first place. Which led to greater hunting skills for us, more leisure time to develop tools and…OK, I’ll stop. And this is a big city. A dog is probably a good thing to have around.
I saw very little traffic on their road either, but fortunately we were on the other side. I’d be surprised if traffic was more of a problem than most places. There is a three foot thick wall and it’s mostly topped with a thick covering of climbers. It’s a short walk (4 minutes) to restaurants, grocery stores, specialty shops (in Spain they don’t have everything in a Super Market), and the bus.
However it was not a short walk to the El Tintero restaurant that Anna recommended. Now I can exact my revenge. At least she seemed to indicate that we could easily walk there. I guess she didn’t realize that she was dealing with two fat Americans who compete over being right about things. After a half an hour and 3 arguments, we got to the restaurant. Which proves my maxim: ‘Never Trust a Lady about Directions.’

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

In need of some R&R we were looking forward to a peaceful getaway at La Francesca after reading the previous reviews.

On the plus side, the property itself is lovely and the rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated. Our bathroom was modern and spacious with a lovely big walk in shower. The garden is beautiful and bursting with life and colour. There are four breakfast options which provide some variety and options for most. The B&B is approx 4-5 mins walk to the El Palo village and a 10-15 min bus trip to Malaga town.

After checking into our room we were tired from our long journey and decided to rest before heading out for some sight-seeing and dinner. We soon realised that our room, La Lidia, overlooked dog kennels and could hear one of the three large resident dogs howling and whining.

Since the air conditioning wasn't working (apparently it was still switched to heating mode for winter) it wasn't comfortable to close the door and window fully so we just had to put up with it. The dogs also barked on and off at night and again first thing in the morning.

In the morning, breakfast on our room's private terrace was doggy-dominated as all three dogs barked/yelped and shuffled around to get our attention the entire time obviously hoping for some handouts. As much as we love dogs, it wasn't the peaceful terrace breakfast we expected after reading other reviews and seeing the pictures on the website.

The next day we decided to have breakfast inside our room away from the barking and begging dogs but it wasn't long before one of the dogs jumped up on top of the kennel roof to join us for breakfast again. Day three we opted for breakfast in the dining room inside the main house which although not nearly as nice as sitting outside on the terrace meant we enjoyed a doggy-free breakfast.

The B&B is located on what seems to be a quiet street but is actually the main entrance street to a nearby apartment block which means there is quite a bit of traffic coming and going late at night and early in the morning. The street is steep and at the same level of the room so there is vibration from the passing cars as well as noise. Since our room was on the street side this was probably more of an issue than it would be if you ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper rooms on the other side of the building to avoid dogs barking and traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCloudberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A little relaxed retreat with a beautiful garden, nicely furbished rooms and a great hostess.. Its a long but nice walk along the sea to the old town of Malaga (bus is possible) Its however a few minutes from the "hangoutandrelax" beach of el Palo, with plenty of nice small restaurants, grilled fish and Andalucian Sun..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAndGijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Francesa for one night in early October en route back from Granada. We arrived via public transport from Granada via Malaga bus station. The B & B was approx a 10 minute uphill walk from the bus stop. We didnt arrive until early evening - tired and very hot. We were made to feel very welcome and special with a lovely glass of sparkling wine and nibbles before being shown to our gorgeous room. No attention to detail was spared and our room and bathroom were spotless and so very comfortable - especially the bed. Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance plus a nice beach and local shops. I would not hesitate in returning to stay at La Francesa, hopefully for a few more nights, allowing us to take full advantage of the lovely friendly hospitality and gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingerdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Everything was perfect :
1. the location in the city (10 minutes from the beach)
2. the rooms (quiet and tastfull)
3. the hospitality (warm and charming)
4. the decoration of the house and gardens
5. the braekfast : we had the choice of a personal breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walter13Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent a week at La Francesa in September and had a fantastic time. The house and garden are enchanting and very peaceful, the room (we were at the Belle Epoque) spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, the bed comfortable and the hosts very friendly and unobtrusive. You can tell that they love the place and put a lot of effort into the little details to give their guests a good time. What more can you want? Oh yes, there's also a safe and the air-conditioning works well. We had breakfast on our patio every morning, which was also delicious (you get to choose one of four breakfast options). There is a kindergarten next door which can be a bit noisy in the morning but it didn't bother us too much and it is quiet by the afternoon. The beach is about 5-10 mins' walk away and bus 11 runs every 10 mins along the main road to Malaga and back, so even without a car getting around is not a problem. There are lots of fish restaurants along the beach, but if you are not too keen on fish, it is worth walking up further (towards Malaga), where the beach becomes more of a promenade and there are a number of restaurants that serve meals other than fish and seafood. All in all a superb little place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

La Francesa is ideal: a beautiful refuge in Malaga East, close to the things worth being close to, but also far enough from the madding tourist crowd to feel like "real" Spain. Getting here is easier than Google Maps makes it seem. The trick is taking the correct exit off autovia A-7: exit 246 (Av. J.S.Elcano). Then it's a "simple" matter of navigating the roundabouts and one-way streets to tiny Calle Pintor Grarite. Alfonso and Ana are gracious, friendly hosts who make a visitor feel more like a guest in their home rather than a customer. The rooms are elegant in their simplicity. Mine was "La Mer," which opens onto a semi-private patio where I enjoyed breakfasts on sunny days and an afternoon cerveza after my day-long drive to visit Ronda and Las Pueblos Blancos. In the evenings, tapas restaurants, bars, even a supermarket, are just a 10-minute walk down the hill. If you're coming to Malaga for the beaches, stay in one of the hundreds of high-rises that line the Costa del Sol. If you're coming for a taste of Spanish culture in an area with Mediterranean climate, you won't find a nicer place--especially for the price--than La Francesa.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
597 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#33 of 89 in Malaga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,234 reviews
El Riad Andaluz
#6 of 38 in Malaga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Pintor Grarite 4, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing