We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we had hoped for and more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique
Ranked #13 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This charming little hotel is set in a quiet area and has on street parking available on a no through road. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful with their advice regarding the local area and how to get around if we did not want to use the car (which we did not during our three day stay). We had a super room with a little balcony that we sat out on for breakfast and again in the evening and watched the setting sun.
The room was spotless and nicely laid out, it had a small fridge and a kettle with some teas and coffees (more available in the reception area). The bathroom was a good size and there were even big fluffy white bathrobes, what a treat for a small hotel to provide. Our only comment on a down side would be the storage space. The wardrobe was not huge, though it had plenty of hangers, but there were no drawers or shelving to store clothes.
The breakfasts were one of the highlights. They do a choice of 5 different themes. You can choose a different one each day. They were imaginative and plentiful, including delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, certainly not out of a carton!
We would most certainly stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family too.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is by far one of the better B and B's that we have stayed in. The rooms are very clean and very nicely done. The location is very nice and quiet. One can spend a lot of time in the property relaxing. we stayed there for 3 nights in June and were very warmly received by Ana. She seems to be a perfectionist.
The Breakfast is a very good example of the care that Ana takes in managing this great B and B. Even though we are vegetarians we were served very good breakfast in the mornings. Fresh fruits, bread, yougart etc everything was delicious.

Would recommend this place if you want a nice peaceful stay just 15 minutes away by a bus ride to the center of the town. the Bus stop is a 5 minute walk from the property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived at La Francesa Suites and were welcomed immediately by Ana with some Cava and olives. Off to a good start, we were amazed by the beautiful grounds of La Francesa and its lovely gardens. The room was everything we wanted, clean, modern and a great walk-in shower. Thanks to the kind help and suggestions of our host Ana, we discovered excellent sites, nice restaurants and some great excursions. The B&B is located about 15min with public transport from Malaga and about 5min walking from the beach. Since the beaches close by tend to be crowded, renting a car like we did helped a lot in our satisfaction. Also there is easily (free) parking space in the street close to the B&B. Any questions we had were answered immediately with always an enjoyable outcome. This place is great for couples, who like romantic places, great comfort and a kind welcome. To sum up, I can’t but stress how great the experience in La Francesa Suites was, not in the slightest thanks to the hosts and all their genuine efforts to satisfy our needs! A real gem of a B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here. The room was quaint and clean. We had a terrace where we relaxed at night and ate breakfast each morning. The breakfast was really neat. There was a selection of five themed breakfasts to pick and choose from. We tried several--all very good. Fresh spreads for the breads and fresh juices, coffees and teas. Just lovely. There were a few things of note that I wanted to share with future visitors--not bad things---just things that you might want to know about the B&B.

The B&B is a large home, in which the innkeepers reside and the available rooms are around the home. There is one common space that is available outside of your room with books and a couch, along with some additional outside sitting arounds and a solarium (which is really cool on top of the B&B with chairs and umbrellas) open until 9 p.m. If you stay in room #1, you are below where the innkeepers reside and their terrace. They do have 3 large dogs that will be above you on that terrace if you are on your terrace. They are very hairy dogs so hair tends to end up on room#1's terrace. Room #1 is also right near the garden where the dogs hang out. The dogs are able to jump up near room #1's terrace. One did in fact--I was not ready for that while we were eating. There was no problem with the dogs barking at night. They were surprisingly quiet. If there was barking, it was in the morning and by then we were awake.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers were very accommodating and extremely helpful with navigating the area and helping us get around to local sites, etc.

Room Tip: Just know that they have 3 large dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed at La Francesa Suites on arrival in Spain after about 24 hours of travel. In the bustling city of Málaga, this was the perfect setting for restoration.

Between the warm welcome from Ana (bearing wine and olives), the lovely setting on the hillside of El Palo (15 min bus ride east of Málaga) and the very tranquil and immaculately clean room, I soon rested up. The breakfasts served on one's own patio are generous and varied. The location is close to El Palo's beaches, shops, and restaurants and an easy bus ride (#3 or #11) to the centre of town. Luckily I had also prebooked a night at the end of my stay in Spain, so after two weeks of exploring Andalucía I was happy to return for one last relaxing evening at this special inn. Although hotel rates were lower in smaller towns of Andalucía, in Málaga, the rates at La Francesa seemed to be very reasonable for this level of accommodation.

If you're carrying a lot of luggage you may want to take a cab to La Francesa Suites on arrival as the inn is uphill from the street the bus runs on.

There are three resident dogs who were kept away from the guest patios. However, I sought them out and they were very friendly and charming. I did not hear a single bark from any of them.

Ana and her husband and their staffperson Nicoleta are all very welcoming and warm, yet the guest rooms are very private. Although Ana is fluently multilingual she graciously tolerated my halting Spanish.

I look forward to returning and spending more time relaxing on site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ntzb-athome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In the start of June, my girlfriend and I spend an enjoyable couple of nights at La Francesa. We were met with warmth and forgiveness for our poor Spanish as we were shown to our beautiful room - kept to a very high standard, very clean and obviously newly refurbished. The bathroom fittings in particular were very high quality. The garden was also beautiful, quite large with several places to sit and read. After a long day in Malaga (which is amazing!), Anna was very kind to make us lunch for a reasonable fee. The dogs are friendly and very well behaved, they are kept behind a gate so if you don't like dogs then you don't have to go near them. Equally if you love dogs, as we do, then they are very cute.

There were interesting choices for Breakfast, we tried 4 out of the 5 and the Mediterranean was the most appealing. The portion sizes are excellent and of high quality.

Don't be put off by the location, its only 15 minutes out and easy to get to. The buses are cheap and regular, the beach and restaurants are only a 5 minute walk away and the neighbourhood itself is quiet and residential, with a feeling of 'real' Spain, away from the tourist areas.

They offered very good local knowledge of the area, including a very fine tapas restaurant. Overall, we felt like house guests rather than hotel punters, a thank you especially to their neighbour, a lovely lady who helped us through the gate when we accidentally locked ourselves out. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would like to return ourselves in the future.

Room Tip: The 2 more expensive suites are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChecklistCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Delightful couple keen to help with any information. We loved it so much we cancelled our plans to leave (even though we had paid for another hotel) and stayed on. Wonderful setting for breakfast. We were touched to receive a lovely welcome with glasses of cava and nibbles. Full of character. Will return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
620 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Pintor Grarite 4, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £78 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Francesa Suites Hotel Boutique Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing