We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, nicely presented”
Review of Alumbre - CLOSED

Alumbre
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nicely presented”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The food is delicious and the service very friendly, helpful and profesional. The cheese platter is huge and excellent, four different kind of cheese on it, all very good if you like strong cheese. Try the pluma iberica if you like meat or the bacalao if you prefer fish. I can recommend both of them. What is missing to become excellent? The mashed potatoes were not prepared freshly, and therefore a littly sticky. Still good, though. A warm recommendation from my part!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cubalibrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

During a short holiday in Malaga we picked-up this restaurant thru' a traveller's guide. It turned out to be a very good choice. We were welcomed in a warm way, seated and served in a competent manner. By ordering a selection of tapas and one main course we managed to keep the final bill at a surprising fair level, although we drank two bottles of "rosado" wine. Dining at the Alumbre has been my best dining experience while in Malaga. I would strongly recommend it to TA frequent visitors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gouache42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Looks a lot smarter than local competitors - but beware ...”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My second visit to Alumbre last month, having been very impressed by a group outing there earlier in the year. Stylish appearance, backing up an innovative (by the standards of the usual places in this lively central Malaga restaurant district) menu, but we were a little disappointed this time: its wasn't their fault it was lacking in atmosphere - we were the only customers at what I think was the normal late Spanish dining time; but the problem was that I spotted that the prices charged to non-Spanish customers appear to be a few Euros higher per course; I had asked to see both the Spanish and English language menus, to help me improve my Spanish, and the staff weren't able satisfactorily to explain (in either language) this slightly disturbing policy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
764 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Flawed”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This place was rather well rated here, so we gave it a try. Rather disappointing. The staff does not really know what it is doing, not in the restaurant, not in the kitchen. We had two dishes that were just wrong (missing main ingredients, a thin soup instead of the "stew" described). They knew nothing about the wine. The food was OK, but could not make up for it.

They have a philosophy, which was written on the wall as a 'poem': this included Open Doors, so these were wide open in spite of the cold outside. Cute, but not worth that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inmejorable!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience. The restaurant is beautiful, the service perfect, you don't know what to choose of the menu, because everything is excellent. Most recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuisPereir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alumbre also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing