We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent location - proper value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hostal Malaga
Ranked #50 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Hitchin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What an excellent location - proper value for money”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Booked this place for one night as we had to spend the day and evening in Malaga and wanted a base in the middle of town. I wish I had been able to stay, it is small and looks basic but really clean and friendly (odd sense of humour behind the desk but at least they have one). The location is just perfect though - a short walk from the Casa de Guardia bar which seems like a locals only bar but is really nice and tolerant to tourists and very cheap.. See picture. The hotel is so close to the shops and restaurants we felt very privileged and very much part of the central town scene. We will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
34
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I stayed there at the begining of June of 2010. The location is perfect - no more than 15min. walking from all the places of attraction. Despite that hotel is in the very center of the city, it is in quiet place. The best choise for those who are enjoying city center or beach and need only a shower and a bed. The only disadvantage was TV (despite free porn chanel :)) - the signal was weak, so the view and sound were with breaks.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimas_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

You'll not find a more centrally located hotel in Malaga centre. We booked here for five nights having read the positive reviews and there is not not to add. The only problem we had was some late night revellers on the street below but it was not too bad and we did not experience any traffic noise, that is reported in other review, even though we were on the second floor at the front. The Cage Moka - left out the door and left again was a good place for breakfast; try the amazing Sandwich Moka. We ate twice at Gorkis three blocks (Calle de Strachan) away and enjoyed it greatly. We also tried the Arab place El Yamil which was also very good. We would not recommend the vegetarian restaurant in C. Poza del Rey, off Alcazabilia.
Others have mentioned the 19 bus from the airport which stops in Alameda Principal, a few yards from the hotel. The bus back stops in the central part of Alameda Principal at the stop next to the lottery kiosk. Journey time is 30 minutes and it runs every 35 minutes 1.10 euro.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevnRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

as soon as i read the reviews in trip advisor i knew we would not be disappointed with our accommodation and we were not . the location is excellent .in a pedestrianised area which is quiet but near the main shopping street and all the main attractions . our room was small but had everything we needed including a t.v. . the staff were very helpful and it was great having a lift .i can find nothing negative to say about this place . and it was one of the cheapest places i have ever stayed in .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alecEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Cannot recommend this little hostal highly enough! If you are looking for budget accomodation right in the city centre then this is the place.

Extremely clean, nicely furnished, helpful and friendly desk staff.

Although right in the heart of things and literally a few steps away from numerous shops, cafes, bars etc it still manages to have a quiet "tucked away" feel.

I've been back twice since my first visit and wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

I have stayed there for 10 days with a friend of mine. We had a twin room with view on the C/Larios (main commercial street of Malaga city center. The location cannot be more central, however it is very safe, the area is very clean et the double glazing made the room very quiet. The cleaning was done every single day, changing bathroom towels and soap bars! The reception is 24/7 and warm. There is a lift also so no problem with big luggage. They don't provide breakfast but a few minutes away is the "Teteria", a great place to have breakfast or even lunch. We enjoyed our stay and that was partially due to the comfortable clean central room we had, at a very good price.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tiphany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2007

We stayed here from 18th to 21th of December 2007.Great no frills budget hotel. Right in the center of things. We found it very clean, and staff were friendly, althought do not expect any English from them. I can get by in some Spainish, so we were ok. At 57€ a night for a room, it was great value. There is no breakfast, but go out the main door,turn left and left again into the alley (San Bernado El Viejo) beside the Don Curro Hotel, you will find cafe Moka. I think the Don Curro might own it, as we seen the staff from the cafe go into the Don Curro, but I'm not sure. We had breakfast here on the 3 mornings we were in Malaga. Breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, toast butter marmalade and coffee for two, was six euros. A bargain, and good quality. The 19 bus from the airport stops in the Peaso De Parque very near the hotel, but do not use the bus stop beside the taxi stand at the airport, 2 buses drove past us, because they were already full. I would stand outside the arrivals door. If you can get on, its only 1€ each to the town center. I much prefer the train, but a little further to walk. All In all, this is a good budget hotel, for a short city stay. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Central Location/clean
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ulster_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#28 of 87 in Malaga
1,201 reviews
Centro
Hostal Larios
Hostal Larios
#42 of 145 in Malaga
62 reviews
Centro
No photo provided
Apartamentos Calle Larios
#63 of 145 in Malaga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#33 of 145 in Malaga
134 reviews
Debambu Larios
#17 of 145 in Malaga
29 reviews
Centro
The Lights Hostel
The Lights Hostel
#7 of 145 in Malaga
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hostal Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hostal Malaga

Property: Victoria Hostal Malaga
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 3, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hostal Malaga 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hostal Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hostal Malaga Hotel Malaga
Victoria Hostal Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing