We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto

Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed here for one night prior to early flight: 16 minutes after checking out I was handing over the keys to my hire car.
Hotel is a Novotel, if you are expecting the Ritz you will be disappointed. If, like us, you want to get to the airport without any hassle you will be more than happy.
Hotel laso has free shuttle to the airport every 20 mins at peak times.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    86
    44
    7
    9
See reviews for
52
58
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Make sure you get details re shuttle. Airport info doesn't know it exists. This cost me a 19 euro cab fare. The front desk staff are rude, but the restaurant and bar staff are quite pleasant; a bit of a schizophrenic experience. Our room was dirty and had old worn carpets.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Alloa, Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed here in July - contacted hotel in advance about shuttle bus after reading the comments here. Gave me clear instructions - see below - no issue at all. Room was slightly small for the 4 of us - but as it was only one night not really an issue. Staff in the hotel were very pleasant an helpful. We had a family rate with breakfast (which included a DVD and gifts for the children.) Breakfast was good - plenty of choice of juice, cold meats, hot food and pastries etc. Getting freshly cooked egg was not a problem - all staff spoke more english than we did spanish. Could not use the pool as it only opened at 10:30am (ish - cannot remember exact times) and was closes at 9pm. Got the return shuttle bus back to the airport and we picked up our hire car and headed off down the mediterannean highway!.

Shuttle bus: runs from 19pm to 23:50pm with departures every 20 minutes (10, 30, 50 mins). Located outside terminal three departures area opposite counter 327. Just head out the door and wait. Courtesy buses for hire cars are usually there, from the door up to approx 50 yds to the right as you exit the door at 327. There is a sign for courtesy buses - but it is printed on the road side, not on the pavement side.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mintym44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Our flight arrived at Malaga after 10pm, and as we didn't fancy a long drive in the dark we decided to start our holiday at this hotel. Out intention was to get the free shuttle bus to the hotel, and we waited by the flagpoles as instructed but failed to spot the minibus..so had to spend the 16 Euro taxi fare to the hotel. Not a great start...but we were able to check-in smoothly and even grabbed a late dinner at the restaurant. It must have been 10.45 when we sat down to a plate of paella and vegetable salad. Very tasty and much needed!! The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was not very well organised the following morning...they had run out of plates...and there wasn't an obvious system to the buffet. But the food was good and there was plenty of choice...from pastries and coffee to cooked eggs and meat. And we were able to take advantage of the free shuttle bus in the morning to take us to the car hire place near the airport. I'd happily stay here again if I have a early flight out of Malaga. Novotel is a brand you can trust.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

We booked the Novotel because we were familiar with their brand and service from past trips. But the Malaga Hotel Aeropuerto is TOTALLY DIFFERENT!

Service-There was a man(I believe his name was Jose) who worked at the hotel Front Desk the entire time we were there. He was absolutely horrible. In most cases, people expect that they will receive good service for spending their money at establishments. However, this guy treated my Father and I with contempt and utter disrespect just for asking for basic things like taxis and to add the points to our frequent traveler account. He was short, abrasive, and totally arrogant. The other women who worked the Desk @ night were great!

Taxis-ARRANGE YOUR OWN TAXIS AND TRANSPORTATION! The arrogant fellow who I mentioned above arranged a taxi for my father and I the first day. This taxi driver was his friend! Not only did the taxi guy push one button on his meter and double the price but he was talking about us openly in Spanish in the cab to someone on the phone. On the taxi ride home we realized what happened because the taxi drive we arranged to take us home was only 5 euros where as we travelled the same route on the outbound and were charged 10 euros!

Location: The hotel is not located near the beach or the centre of Malaga. One taxi driver informed us that we could have gotten a hotel in the middle of the city for the same price. If you do not have your own transporation ie a rental car, do not stay at this hotel.

Room- The rooms were clean and the wifi was great. BUT BE AWARE that winter time in Malaga is not the same as winter in other parts of the world, meaning its still around 60-70 degrees warm! We politely informed the front desk that our air conditioners were not working properly. They stated that they turned off the entire air conditioning system in the winter!! CAN WE SAY GHETTO?!!!!!

Food- Find your own food and eat out. We ate right across the street @ the Mall for 5 euros. The hotel charges 14 EUROS for some eggs and dry croissants!

Overall, this hotel would be fine if you are only looking for cleanliness and you are a frequent traveler to malaga with a rental car. But if you are a first timer and AMERICAN as we are, KEEP LOOKING!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

We booked this hotel for one night on 29th October, prior to taking a cruise from Malaga. We chose the hotel because it operates a shuttle service from the airport and paid 79 Euro for a standard room for 2 with breakfast. After booking, I called the hotel to enquire where to get the shuttle (Our flight landed as 2.30pm.) The hotel informed me that the shuttle only runs first thing in the morning and again at tea time, so we had to get a taxi. Whilst the taxi ride was only 10 mins, the Malaga taxi's operate a minimum charge of 15 Euro anywhere from the airport, so we did feel that was a little expensive for such a short ride. Check-in was fine and our room was ready. There was no-one to help with the luggage so we managed to get our cases up ourselves. The room was clean and had adiquate hanging space and a nice bathroom, however our room safe was locked and we had to wait for a member of staff to come up and open it with the over-ride code. There was a minibar with water and soft drinks and beer priced at 3.50 Euro each. Across the street is a supermarket and a McDonalds. The hotel does offer free Wi-Fi which worked very well after gettine a login code from reception. We took a nap as we had been up early that day and woke up around 6pm after a nice bath, we got ready to go out. The hotel did offer a fixed price menu at 15.00 Euro per head but is did not look that nice. We asked at reception if there were any bars or restaurants withing walking distance. Very helpfully we were shown where to go on a map. We came out of the hotel and turned left, walked past a petrol station and on for a total of about half a mile, then crossed the road, turning right at the first roundabout. Then on for about another half a mile, then there were a small amount of bars, tapas bars and restaurants. We chose a pizza restaurant. We were told by the owner that his son had won many competitions for pizza making and the evidence with pictures and certificates were all over the walls. We waited in anticipation for the pizza and it did indeed live up to expectations and I must say was the best pizza I had ever tasted. We walked back to the hotel. On the way back to the hotel we stopped at a local supermarket and picked up some snacks and a bottle of wine. Our intention was to go back to our room and watch some TV. The TV in the room was a small (around 20") flatsreen. When we returned to our room around 10pm we saw that there were 8 English language channels showing on the hotels TV menu, however when trying to access these channels it transpired that one news channel has no volume and the only other 2 channels avilable are CNN News (American) and Eurosport, which was showing tennis. So we called down to reception and said that we thought there may be a problem. The reception sent up the same guy who had come earlier to open the safe and he was dressed in a kitchen workers uniform and was quite red and sweaty. He explained that the channels we had were the only ones available at that time. He did say that we could buy a movie from the pay per view system which would be in English, the cost of this would be 16 Euro. Now it strikes me as strange that only 2 mediocre TV channels are available in English yet there are as many as 10 top movies, all in English available for 16 Euro? - I said that I was not happy and would he consider letting us have a movie for free? He said that even though he was the night manager, he could not authorise that and would have to call the general manager at home and he would call me in the room to let me have the decision. I felt that this was a little pathetic that the guy running the hotel could not make such a simple decision. Around 15 mins later, he called me in the room and said that the general manager had refused my request saying "Take it or Leave it - that is it" and if I was not happy that I could complete a guest satisfaction card. We decided not to do so, but also decided that we will not stay at this particular hotel ever again. The next morning, we went down or breakast, which was included in our room rate. Breakfast was very quiet with only one other couple in the restaurant, it was around 9am. We stood for a few moments and with the lack of any visible staff, seated ourslves. We took some water and juice from the servers station and about 5 mins later a waitress appeared and asked for our room number. As she turned to walk away, we asked for some tea and coffee, which she did bring. Breakfast was buffet style and there was some hot food such as bacon and saussage and it looked like eggs could be cooked to order. After standing at the buffet for a short while, I asked a passing waiter if there was a chef. He went out the back and found a chef. I asked for a fried egg and did get one some considerable time later as the chef had to find gloves, then oil then eggs. After breakfast we checked out and whilst waiting outside for a taxi noticed that the hotel had 4 stars on it's plaque, I seriously think that they should take one off..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel has received mixed reports in the past. We found the service excellent and the restaurant excellent. The head waiter spent time with us explaining the menu and the amount we should order for our party of three.
at present part of the Avenida de velazquez is closed due to roadworks and this makes access to the hotel a bit more tricky and it is necessary to watch for a small sign on the right(if you are coming from the airport). these roadworks did not detract from our stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
0.0 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
0.7 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#51 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
1.1 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#55 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto

Property: Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto
Address: Avenida Velazquez 126, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Málaga Aeropuerto is a recently built 4-star hotel just 3km away from the airport offering a free shuttle service from 7am to 10pm. 1km from the Martin Carpena Sports Hall and 5km from the Convention Centre, Novotel offers easy access to Malaga City Centre and the beaches of the Costa del Sol. With comfortable and modern rooms, Claravía Restaurant, terrace, outdoor pool, parking and meeting rooms the hotel is the perfect choice for a leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto Hotel Malaga
Novotel Hotel Malaga Aeropuerto
Novotel Hotel málaga
málaga Novotel
Novotel Malaga Aeropuerto Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing