We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a Malaga restaurant without touriste!”
Review of La Mensula II

La Mensula II
Reserve with
La Mensula II is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 2,115 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“At last a Malaga restaurant without touriste!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Totally authentique ambiance. Happy Andalucian noise. Good food, professionnally served. The buey ( mature beef) was really buey and not ternera ( calf) as in other places in Malaga. There was no rush to make us leave our table. The meat was cooked exactly as we had asked (muy poco hecho) and we ate indoors and not out on the street with heaters ! It is not cheap and the menu does not include the ten per cent sales tax. Still, a happy evening and if so many locals come here there must be a reason.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely one of Málaga's finest restaurants”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I discovered La Ménsula when they took part in la ruta de la tapa de soho. I am so glad we found it. I have been several times for their delicious tapas seated at the bar and have also dined in the excellent restaurant. The food is of an extremely high standard and the service is friendly and professional. You always feel very welcome here and it's the ideal place for a romantic dinner or a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidideimonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you are looking for an authentic Spanish Tapas experience of Old Spain this is the place”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having visited around three years ago, last week we took the opportunity to take a friend for a second visit and were not disappointed! The bar/restaurant deserves all the plaudits it receives. There is a fresh fish counter where you can see the produce and the chef is very pleased to bring the fish to you for your approval prior to cooking. The Jamon was the best we have ever had, despite the price tag of 11 euros for a media (half) portion albeit the portion was a good size for three with other dishes. Would also especially recommend the mussels stuffed with crabmeat and deep fried. We had seven dishes with drinks including a complimentary glass of the Malaganian sweet wine. None of the staff speak English - to my knowledge! Which is just how it should be in its settting. The total price including a generous tip was 40 euros. Perhaps a little steep for tapas at lunch time. But for us worth every penny for the pleasure of sitting in a little piece of a time gone by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would return for a second dinner”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Antonio Banderas was here last week so that says this is the real deal. Calamari, grilled duck foie Grau excellent. Shoulder of lamb excellent. Wine excellent. Service excellent. And wi FI!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N245TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
633 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish Restaurant - Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

You would be unlikely to pass the restaurant by chance as it is tucked away in a side street parallel to Alameda Principal. However, it is so close to the main thoroughfares that it is worth seeking it out.

We have eaten there on many occasions over the years as it is ideal for lunch before or after a spot of shopping in nearby Calle Larios (the main street for fashion shopping) or El Corte Ingles a little further away.

The restaurant is attractively furnished with linen tablecloths and serviettes. The lighting is subdued and there is a small side room for an even more intimate atmosphere. There is a fresh fish counter where it is possible to see the fish/seafood and when ordering fish they bring the fish on ice in a wooden tray to the table for inspection. There is a small bar area adjacent to the restaurant where some people come in for pre-mealtime drinks or just drinks and tapas at the bar. Following complimentary pate, we started with Jamon Iberico to share (which was excellent quality and accompanied with toasted bread and tomato salsa €20). For main courses we had Paletilla de Cordero (Shoulder of Lamb €20) and Solomillo de Ternera a la Pimienta (Fillet Steak with Pepper Sauce €20). Having had many shoulders of lamb over the years in Spain we can say that this was the best we had tasted, full of flavour, well cooked, juicy, succulent but very crispy outside.

A bit on the pricey side but well worth it for quality food and impeccable service. Including a bottle of good wine (Ribera del Ribero Crianza), waters, one chocolate mousse dessert, 2 coffees the meal came to €107.

The clientele is very Spanish. The English like to eat relatively early so we were the first to arrive having reserved a table for 2.00 however the restaurant was filling up rapidly with mainly Spanish businessmen when we left a little after 3.30.

The service is very professional and attentive. Can highly recommend this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mensula II also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Mensula II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing