We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Debambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Debambu
Ranked #4 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

excellent location in Malaga, although a little difficult to find (look for the Orange telephone shop), Check in was easy and friendly, loads of suggestions for eating out. Apartment had everything we needed and was sparling clean. Room serviced daily and towels replaced whenever you wanted. Cant recommend this highly enough, I will certainly be back

Room Tip: we had 1A, some noise from the pedestrian street outside but not enough to cause a problem. Higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    43
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaun_J_UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent the weekend in Malaga with 5 old school friends, and had the fortune of staying at Debambu.

I can only echo comments elsewhere, great location and rooms, and customer service offered by the 2 brothers was excellent.

Please if you want to stay in Malaga stay at Debambu, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun_J_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

First time to stay in Malaga and my was the Debambu experience good! We received a warm welcome by both the personable and very helpful brothers Jose and Alex who run the establishment. We loved every minute of our 5 night stay whether inside our suite or outside in magic Malaga! The block is situated within the best shopping walkways so no traffic and is literally a 5 minutes walk to the cathedral, museums, the market, and several great dining places . We were lucky enough to have the bigger suite and it was like a brand new apartment, extremely well resourced for cooking etc. and the big bonus was the thorough daily cleaning along with towel changes etc. This was top hotel service with the luxury of a well appointed apartment. The town has so much to offer with plenty of culture, interesting museums and not least, the many tempting bars and restaurants on the doorstep. The taxi from the airport was about a 15 min trip and cost no more than 20 euros. The turning to the apartments was easily identified by the "Orange" mobile shop in Calle Nueva. Absolutely perfect in every way - we too will be back if not fully booked by then.

Room Tip: We found our suite very quiet as was in a side turning from the main precinct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We couldn't have found a better place to stay in Malaga. We could even walk with our luggage to the train that goes to the airport every 20 minutes - and the train is fast and cheap. Taxis are expensive. We didn't leave until evening but Debambu allowed us to store our luggage safely after check out time with no extra charge
The friendly welcome and advice on what to see and do was so helpful. Both brothers on the desk had an excellent command of English and the twin bed suite was charming and well equipped and very quiet with an abundance of cafes and shops around the corner and we were very close to the hop on hop off bus. The only problem may be finding the apartments but it was all part of the adventure. As it is in the old city, no vehicles are allowed. We had one cab driver who gave up and dumped us off at a hotel but the second cabbie had a GPS and with several stops to ask directions was able to drop us off at the closest access point
I would suggest when you book, get written instructions from Debambu (in Spanish) to give to the cab driver if you don't come in from the airport by train as they don't seem to understand or speak English in our experience or known directions within the old City as they cant drive in there The Debambu staff would be happy give you full instructions and a map. They bend over backwards to be helpful. The suites are new, the beds comfortable, the housekeeping is impeccable. Highly recommended

Room Tip: I like Travellers Choice awards and trust Trip advisory completely We did wonderfully well with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank d F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our vacation in Spain. Our family of 5 could spread out in the spacious apartment (2 BR + tv area) and recover from an overnight flight. The kitchen was well equipped and perfect for making a quick meal for the kids. Apt. 3b has a spiral staircase which might not be great if you have toddlers, but my kids loved it. The location was fantastic for walking around the city. The taxi dropped us off around the corner because the apts. are located in a pedestrian only zone. We asked someone for directions as we were walking and found it easily. Jose at the reception was very friendly and helpful, answering any questions that we had. I would stay here again and certainly recommend to others.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Oh what a joy it is to stay here. Location fantastic, close to everything, staff brilliant. They've only been open a year so are achieving great things already. Five fantastic stars from me.

DeBambu is in a quiet side street in the pedestrianised shopping centre. From the airport we got the airport bus (Line A) from the concourse just outside the terminal building. 3 Euros (buy on board) takes 20 minutes but allow for peak time traffic. Alight a couple of stops after the bus station, at Alameda Principal, cross the road, walk up the wide main street Calle Larios. Take a left on to Calle Liborio Garcia (opposite Mango) walk to the end, take a left and then first right and deBambu is a couple of meters along on the left. Takes about 5 to 8 minutes to walk on a level smooth traffic free surface, perfect for wheeled suitcases. You can also get a train to Malaga Centro (stop after Malaga main station), journey is quicker but it's a slightly longer walk.

The studio apartment we stayed in (3A) had been refurbished just before we arrived. It used to be on 2 levels but no longer. We had a large wet room with basin and loo. I was sceptical at first as usually wet rooms are precisely that & you spend your time paddling from one area to the next but this one drains beautifully and is nicely finished off and most importantly with a non slip surface. I'm sick of practising my skating skills in hotel bathrooms.
The main room is simply furnished with white units and with white walls and wooden flooring. We had a really especially comfortable bed, nice big pillows, flat screen TV with satellite channels, wardrobe and small table & 2 chairs. Aircon. The kitchen had a large frig/freezer, 2 zone induction hob, combi m/w, kettle, coffee percolator. For those unfamiliar with Spanish toasters, they look like 2 bar halogen heaters. Ours didn't have the word toaster on it, we thought it was a heater & didn't use it, We told Jose we were using the grill on the m/w, he was devastated we didn't have a toaster, provided another and then of course we cottoned on... Duh!

Once in the room it was so quiet, well soundproofed with no noise from other rooms & very very little from the street outside. Only occasionally did we hear doors close. There is now an electronic key card system for entry into the hotel and the rooms, so very secure. There is also a lift and free wifi.

The cleaning staff and the reception staff, brothers Alex and Jose, deserve an extra special mention, they are outstanding. We had a few queries during our week there but they were dealt with quickly and with charm as well. I know you are reading this Jose, so today's English word is....cutlery.

Everything you could wish for is within easy walking distance, tapas bars, bakeries, restaurants, shops, visitor sights etc. The market is about 3 minutes walk away. Even if you are not intending to cook, make an effort to go inside. It's in a wonderful building with a lovely arched stained glass window. The stalls are amazing. Just wander around, take in the sights and smell, you'll see produce in there that we never have in the UK. Super Sol supermarket is a couple or so yards from the market. For a larger selection go to Corte Ingles a few hundred yards away from Super Sol (you can see it from there).

We are already thinking of returning to Malaga as it is such a lovely city, and our stay at deBambu was the icing on the cake. Well done guys, you deserve every success.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Rarely does any hotel deserve a 5 Star rating but this one thoroughly deserves that rating. It is a family run business that has only being going just over a year and the family are actively involved in the day to day running. They make great effort to ensure you enjoy your holiday and any error or omission is rapidly resolved. They will give you ideas about what to see and where to eat if you want. Needless to say, it gets very booked up for up to a year ahead so if you see a vacancy available, go for it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debambu

Property: Debambu
Address: Calle Cinteria 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Debambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in the center of Malaga, next to the Plaza Félix Sáenz. Very quiet in an ideal location. Debambú Apartments, the best of a hotel ... the best of an apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Debambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debambu Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing