We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Debambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Debambu
Ranked #2 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

looks rubbish from the outside and quite hard to find. However this was made easy by looking on Google earth to familiarise myself with the area.
fantastic location, fantastic value for money, easy to get to from airport on the metro.
rooms clean and tidy nice view too of the old little street.
easy to find way home after nights out just follow the shops and the goats
only 2 negatives needs a long mirror to help with getting ready and when reading on the beach my friends bag was targeted by a pick pocket when I confronted him he just got up and walked away at sat near others to pinch again luckily he didn't take anything.so watch your bags. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bovril123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Debambu certainly not to be overlooked if looking for perfect location,spotlessly clean & well kitted out apts in the heart of malaga.staff I dealt with were sooo accommodating & friendly & building was supervised until 8pm each evening.excellent security.supermarket within 5 mins walk well as famous food market open for fresh fruit,veg &fish.just off a busy shopping street but noise never an issue once shops close.I travelled solo & always felt safe.beach about a 15min walk (longer if you go via the marina in the summer heat,but worth it).airport transfer bus A 5 main walk away.tried to book here last year but they were all booked out so delighted to get 3 night stay this time.Will be back for sure.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritzabitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great location - really! Reception is outstanding. Clean and well appointed. Even had English speaking tv channels. Wifi worked great too. Loved having the small kitchen to buy dinner at the local shops and eat in room to save some money. Stores of all kinds surrounding the hotel. Easy walk to train station.simple to get from the airport via aerobus company then walk to hotel. No easy access to parking. First choice should we return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a great place! Location is terrific, in easy walking distance to museums, restaurants, sights, and shops. Light, bright, modern and spotless with very nice amenities--the tea kettle and coffee machine (including supplies) were very welcome. We had *tons* of room, and the bathrooms even have hair dryers. The front desk is terrific for dining suggestions. You simply can't do better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewtonsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed from 14-21st May in apartment 2c. I can only reiterate what previous reviewers have said. The staff from Debambu are some of the best we have ever experienced. The owner was so polite and helpful. Our shower attachment broke on our second day and it was fixed with a new one in place the next morning. The real star for us was Alex, the general manager. He was kind, genuine, with superb ideas for places to visit. I have never checked in ANYWHERE and been given a local map of the area with all the interesting places to visit mapped out etc.

The apartment was spotless with everything you would need and the location is perfect!

We took the number 2 bus out of town to the botanical gardens and highly recommend it. The place is beautiful and a relaxing change from the city.

This place is AMAZING value, we almost don't want to tell people about it!!

We will be back!

Abi and David

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked the six person studio for four adults as it is situated on two floors connected by a spiral staircase. the apartments are located in the old town which is pedestrianised so no cars can get to it,
We took the train from the airport to the Malaga Central stop and it is then about 7 to 10 minutes walk to the apartments.
They are located down a tiny side street, slap bang in the centre of the old town, about ten minutes from the cathedral, alcazaba and other main sights.
Our 6 person apartment (3B) had a well equipped kitchen with a breakfast bar to eat at but there are also lots of bars, cafes and restaurants all very close.
In all my traveling experience I can't say that I have ever received a warmer, more friendly welcome than I have here. Debambu is a family run business, the two brothers who do the day to day running are so keen to make your trip perfect that any shortcomings truly upset them!
Our top floor shower leaked once and we received a huge basket of fruit as well as fulsome apologies.
The beach and port area are about 15 minutes walk at a steady pace, you are also a two minute trot to the main market which is a great place to go and pick up fresh produce as well as take great pics of piles of impossibly mouth watering fruit, veg, fish and meats.
There is a bit of street noise so if you are a light sleeper i would say bring ear plugs (plus there are some VERY rowdy seagulls!!!)
Apartments are cleaned on request every day and were spotless at all times, there was a bit of a whiff from the drains occasionally but pouring a bit of water down them solved that.
The only thing that could make it even better is some adequate storage space for guests staying in the top floor bedroom as there was no wardrobe or drawers.
All in all a brilliant choice if you want to be in the centre of things and self cater. Thanks Debambu!

Room Tip: 3B had a little terrace on the top floor but high walls and no view, still nice to sit out and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in a duplex appartement (3B) 2 rooms and 2 shower rooms .
Appartement was not ready at 10 am (which is to be expected) so we left our luggage at reception and found them in our room when we returned .
The premises are very new and a little souless
There is a bad smell in all bathrooms due to the drain in the bathroom floor which is dry . Just pour water into it and that will solve the problem . However this should be a job for the maids.
Cleaning service is done floor by floor so the higher the floor , the later the cleaning
The second room is a type of mezzanine opening onto a small shaded terrasse. There is no closet space . The bathroom is tiny . There is shampoo, body lotion and shower gel along with toothbrushes on arrival but they are not replaced .
Reception is welcoming. Advice on restaurants that we asked for despite having been several times in Malaga was disapointing . None of our favorite were mentionned and only traditionnal and touristic venues (El Pimpi for example) were recommended.
Location is excellent and really good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,117 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,168 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debambu

Address: Calle Cinteria 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Debambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in the center of Malaga, next to the Plaza Félix Sáenz. Very quiet in an ideal location. Debambú Apartments, the best of a hotel ... the best of an apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Debambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debambu Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing