We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow how bad!”

La Reserva del Olivo
Ranked #277 of 2,026 Restaurants in Malaga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow how bad!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We can't agree more with the others bad reviews. Unfortunately it is all true.The food as well as the service is just under the average. The menu wouldn't say what is in the dish and when I asked what is in the salat she wasn't able to name all the ingredients,so when I got my dish it was with raw onion,which I don't eat. None of the dishes were properly seasoned. We also had different dishes and the waiter didn't ask when she should bring them, so now my friend is eating main course alone. The other waiter wasnt also able to name the fish my friend ordered. Wine was recommended by the so called sommelier and it wasn't good at all. For the whole week we had better wines than that, even when the food wasn't the best.
General overpriced and not good at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    176
    63
    45
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We ended up dining here because we heard other travellers praises. The setting is good and our two kids were noticed nicely. Based on the formal service and white linen on the tables we expected a bit more than we got. The food is average - definitely not the best nor the worst we had during our trip. But, the check was one of the highest, too much for average steak. A decent meal but next time would go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This restaurant is more up market than the majority in Malaga and is reflected in the price. The maitre de is very charming and looks after you well. We went with his recommendation of the sea bass baked in salt - wonderful.

Definitely one for a special occasion. Always seemed to be full and booking essential

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I ate here alone during a 3 day trip to Malaga (10 days total in Spain) and was not disappointed. I was tired of tapas and anything deep fried, so was specifically looking for something fresh. I chose the grilled sole, which came with sautéed potatoes and vegetables, and was not disappointed. The accompanying white wine was also delicious, lovely and cold :) Many people have mentioned David from Monaghan and I should do the same - very nice guy, very helpful with making me comfortable and also recommending some dishes on the menu. I would recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank ViviDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent Food, So-So Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Concierge at our hotel recommended this restaurant, so we took his advice. Service was slow, food was average, prices were high. My wife ordered shrimp (which we knew came with the heads on) and our waiter said he would clean them at the table. Never Happened, so we swapped dinners and I cleaned the shrimp myself. We have no idea where the waited disappeared to. With so many great restaurants in Malaga, try another.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Reserva del Olivo also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
 

Been to La Reserva del Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing