We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reserva del Olivo

La Reserva del Olivo
Ranked #243 of 1,954 Restaurants in Malaga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This restaurant is placed right in the centre of Malaga and has the look of rather a posh place as you walk by - waiters in white jackets, linen table cloths etc. There are a number of very good tapas bars nearby so there is a lot of competition. But many of the customers are locals and there are many reserved tables, and that says a lot. I ate there twice and was impressed - good service and tasty food. Try the habitas (small beans with ham) as a starter and have fish after that - the merluza a la plancha is wonderful (grilled hake). It's a good place to watch the world go by, but obviously on the expensive side for a city with so many good places to eat. As a treat or a place for a special occasion, I would recommend it as I had absolutely no complaints. A meal for one with a couple of glasses of wine (without dessert) came to 48 euros.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elcoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    171
    60
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow how bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We can't agree more with the others bad reviews. Unfortunately it is all true.The food as well as the service is just under the average. The menu wouldn't say what is in the dish and when I asked what is in the salat she wasn't able to name all the ingredients,so when I got my dish it was with raw onion,which I don't eat. None of the dishes were properly seasoned. We also had different dishes and the waiter didn't ask when she should bring them, so now my friend is eating main course alone. The other waiter wasnt also able to name the fish my friend ordered. Wine was recommended by the so called sommelier and it wasn't good at all. For the whole week we had better wines than that, even when the food wasn't the best.
General overpriced and not good at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We ended up dining here because we heard other travellers praises. The setting is good and our two kids were noticed nicely. Based on the formal service and white linen on the tables we expected a bit more than we got. The food is average - definitely not the best nor the worst we had during our trip. But, the check was one of the highest, too much for average steak. A decent meal but next time would go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This restaurant is more up market than the majority in Malaga and is reflected in the price. The maitre de is very charming and looks after you well. We went with his recommendation of the sea bass baked in salt - wonderful.

Definitely one for a special occasion. Always seemed to be full and booking essential

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I ate here alone during a 3 day trip to Malaga (10 days total in Spain) and was not disappointed. I was tired of tapas and anything deep fried, so was specifically looking for something fresh. I chose the grilled sole, which came with sautéed potatoes and vegetables, and was not disappointed. The accompanying white wine was also delicious, lovely and cold :) Many people have mentioned David from Monaghan and I should do the same - very nice guy, very helpful with making me comfortable and also recommending some dishes on the menu. I would recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank ViviDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Reserva del Olivo also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
 

Been to La Reserva del Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing