We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Villach, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is really excellent both in the quality of the rooms and the food.The one drawback is finding the
hotel which is on a very steep hill,but once there it is delightful.We left the car at the hotel and went into
Malaga on the bus but it is best to get a taxi back as the hill is really a challenge after eating.The hotel is family run and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.The food is fantasic,not too fussy but well cooked and presented.Try the slow cooked shoulder of lamb,it is a dream to eat.We are going to take some of our "foodie"friends to visit and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Get a table to eat by the window.Fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iangray13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    146
    36
    7
    9
See reviews for
82
310
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed sept 19 for 3 nights. Food was excellent if a little pricey. Rooms very comfortable and clean with a stupendous view. Breakfast was worth getting as it was more than the usual coffee and croisant.
It is on the top of a very steep hill, (hence the views) but we found a local taxi driver who could bring you in to Malaga and straight back to the hotel for a tenner each way. I wouldnt bother hiring a car next time as the roads are a maze and very busy, plus the signs are'nt great.
The pool was great, had it to ourselves for the most part and only a few steps from our room.
Malaga itself was a surprise in that it was lovely, clean, buzzing, great restaurants and bars and the walk along the port and beach was special.
All in all a great relaxing break.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is a must for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColJanWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lune Valley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

ok - so typical Spanish twin beds placed together and if that's a deal breaker for you- then you will miss out on a little gem. Got the hire car- sat nav got us straight there from the airport. The welcome was warm - staff language skills very good and having arrived after lunch service and an ungodly start time to get to the airport we were cheerily fixed a salad and cheese and ham sandwich with care and good grace. The three course menu of the day at 20 euro (Oct 013) was of very high quality, fresh and locally sourced. The a la carte had lots of delights too. Hubby tried the cold garlic and almond milk soup with sorbet which so far has been this trips culinary high spot. I had some delightful fish "meat balls" , suckling pig and hubby had some roast veal. Other high lights included some extraordinary sorbet / cocktail mixtures which were cool delicious and intoxicating. I am convinced you could go a very long way to find better food in the area. The hotel is a small family run concern with only 11 rooms so you don't feel like a stranger. After a day exploring the sights of Malaga you appreciate the peace of the location and can savour the view across the bay made more magical as darkness falls. This place deserves to have your custom and the super duper lift makes carrying bags to the different levels no problem at all. Would recommend in particular for leisure trips for couples but am sure the staff would be accommodating to all travellers. It seems to be a drive out location for locals and had a mixed international set - Spanish, French, English and German staying whilst we were there. It really is well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuneValleyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Originally we were booked into a different hotel in Malaga but the booking agent Trivago used went bust. Frantically searching for a new hotel we stumbled across the Villa Guadeloupe and boy were we glad we did. Situated way up in the hills above Malaga you enter a large garden/car park and right away you feel relaxed and at home. Met with a very friendly face checking in took less than 2 minutes. Our room overlooked Malaga town and our large balcony was not visible to any other guest staying at the hotel. The room was large and clean with all the amenities one needs. The hotels’ trump card is the restaurant, with magnificent views over the city that got better as dusk and nighttime came. The food was very, very good and we thoroughly recommend it. This is one great hotel and if you don’t need to be in the town centre then go there !

Room Tip: Room 10, secluded balcony and views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris.lalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We came to the restaurant in June for our 25th Anniversary and decided to return for a short break and stay in the hotel. You cannot fault the service. My wife was not well on the first night and Marta and Candace arranged for Paramedics and stayed to ensure that they could translate for us. The food in the restaurant was again of the highest standard and they made up some special dishes for my wife. I can highly recommend the Guadaloupe as a super hotel in the hills overlooking Malaga.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harrythehat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We made reservation, based on many reviews we read, for 6 nights but we only stayed 1. There are many reason why decided to change hotel for the first time on our lifes during the trip. One is they have no double rooms! They have one double room in the entire hotel and my husband and I ended up in a twin room. There was no possibility to change the room since they have only 1 double bed and that room was booked. Via booking.com we clearly choose for double bed, which was allegedly available. Another thing was that they could not provide same room for 6 nights but instead we had to check out on day 3 and then check in after 14h again into another room. We made booking almost 2 months ahead...on my question why they did not contact us (like other hotels do) they claimed that they have no contact details - not true, other hotels for the same trip contacted us with different detals about parking, arriving, etc. Lady at the reception was absolutely not helpful... Location of the hotel is terrible, you really suffer (even by car) to get there.

Room Tip: Be carefull, hotel has no double bed rooms, only twin rooms are available. Even if they confirm in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Joly294472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying here for a too short break 3 nights, 10 nights or longer would have been better.
The Hotel is a stunning place with magnificent views over Malaga City €15 by taxi, my room was cosy with adequate space good sized wardrobe and a complete bathroom beds were well made and very east to sleep on.
Balcony i had requested was fully furnished with the same stunning view of Malaga andvthe sea.
What really sets this Hotel apart from the norm is the attention to detail from each member of staff everyone wanted to please and looked so happy too.
Would i go back ... you bet and i intend to next year but for longer.
Would i change anything ... maybe have a special menu board like fish f the day... but thats all.
All in all it was perfect. Great base for the car traveller.
Great pool too.
Candace thank you and all the staff for all your help and kindness during my stay

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#21 of 87 in Malaga
281 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 87 in Malaga
363 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 87 in Malaga
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Property: Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Address: Calle Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Malaga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga
Hotel Villa Guadalupe Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing