We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a beautiful view of Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Malaga.
It sits high above Malaga and therefore has beautiful views of the city and harbour. The dinning room has especially nice views. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable.
The last night we decided to stay and try the food. We ate, by far the best meal of the holiday, while overlooking night time Malaga. A resturant well worth trying out, for any stay in the city.
I must thank Candace, Agness and the rest of the staff, for a wonderful stay and will look forward to staying there again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank MarkHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Villa Guadalupe in January and it was a memorable experience. The hotel is charming and a refreshing alternative to a sterile typical hotel chain. The hotel is nestled in hills above Malaga, with a spectacular panaramic view of the city and the sea. Restaurant Amador is connected to the hotel. The food is home made and truly amazing. We plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROSEOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had been to Malaga before and as we really using as a hub to on the way to somewhere else, we decided to book this really nicely located hotel in the hills north of Malaga and we were glad we did! We just stayed one night, had lunch, dinner and breakfast the following morning in their restaurant Amador which was truly excellent. Fabulous views over Malaga to top it off.

Location wise, when staying more nights, having a car would be very handy here.
The one thing that we also read in other comments are the thin walls and this is in fact true. It did not bother us that much but if you are a light sleeper, ask for quiet neighbors :)


Perfect for a short romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefortA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We flew to Malaga and want to stay a couple of days to look around before heading off down the coast. We also wanted somewhere to stay on our return before an early morning flight home.... The Villa Guadalupe fitted this bill perfectly. The hotel is up on a hill overlooking the city with fantastic views over the city to the sea. Just down the hill is a bus stop which for E1.30 takes you straight into the tourist centre of the city. This is far more preferable than driving in and parking up. Parking is E1.80 an hour, and finding your way driving around the streets of Malaga to get back to the hotel is not easy..... There are quite a few roadworks going on at the moment.
The restaurant in the hotel is excellent as well. They have a menu for residents which is three courses for E20 pp..... and the food was excellent. There is also an extensive a la carte menu.
Breakfast is a buffet for E9 for the full buffet. We opted just for coffee/tea and cereal for a reduced rate.
The staff are lovely and very helpful.
It is also an easy run back to the airport for the trip back home.

A few notes of caution regarding google maps and directions..... Spain changed some/all of its road numbers 10/11 years ago, and google has not managed to keep up to date!! Also we found some street names that had changed, so navigating is sometimes a challenge. Apparently satnavs are also incorrect!!

Room Tip: Room 11 has a balcony and great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salsa42Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Loved statig here. Nice staff, very friendly. We got a upgrade for free: wonderful sea view from our room. The pool is a quite small, but there is enough room for sunbathing. The hotel is not huge either, and you prob not in Malaga for swimming/sunbathing anyway. Nice enough for a dip at the end of the day. We loved the food in the restaurant. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't eat anywhere else. The first night the food was splendid so we came back every evening. They are willing to change things if you want: all you have to do is ask!

Would def go back! I even thought of this place for my upcoming wedding: imagine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We followed the tip from several previous reviews and asked for a room with a balcony. We got room 5 and that is just great. Is is spacious and has a nice balcony with two chairs. The view over Malaga is great.

The location is also close to the A-7/AP-46 junction [no noise though], which is excellent if you'll be travelling to other cities nearby. The ride to the city centre of Malaga takes 15-20 minutes though.

The room was cleaned well every day.
One of the wifi hotspots is actually in room 5, so coverage was excellent, also on the balcony. Internet speed around ~250 KB/s.
Shower is fixed at ~1.90m, so if you're much taller you may have issues.

This hotel also has a good restaurant (Amador).

Minor criticisms:
The soap dispenser in our room was broken.
The teabags at the breakfast buffet are not checked/restocked often, so only herbal infusion drinks are left.
The lift buttons beep so loud that they wake up the entire floor (not kidding).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Room 5 is great. Room 7 might be slightly quieter as it is a bit further from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two non-consecutive nights. On our second night, Dec 31, we were given an upgrade to a junior suite. The hotel is small. The first room was small, but with a very large balcony with a breath=taking view of Malaga and the sea. The junior suite was quite large.

The hotel is very clean, and welcoming. The hotel has few rooms and is not staffed round the clock. The restaurant is first-rate, as is the staff at the hotel. The hotel is excellent, although you must bit expect the same services that a large hotel would provide. It is away from the centre of town. We certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,323 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#24 of 87 in Malaga
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,148 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Address: Calle Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Malaga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £52 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga
Hotel Villa Guadalupe Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing