We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful visit”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Scenic and tranquil. Loved my stay here and plan on returning and maybe spending longer here. Great food and wine with the most beautiful views make this a destination I would happily spend my time at.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    146
    36
    7
    9
See reviews for
82
310
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

* Stay: 5 nights
* Room: no.2 on top floor (no balcony). Read other reviews saying balcony is a must, we chose to differ and spent the 15 eur balcony-booking-fee on great seafood luch harbour-side.

The room itself was quite large, with a high-vaulted ceiling and a petite mezzanine: the upstairs had another twin bed and a wardrobe closet.

No noise at all from next-door neighbours. Occasional elevator beeps stopped around midnight (after all there was only 1 other room on this wing). The noise-issue mentioned in other reviews is something we we're worried about (brought Quies wax ear buds), but our concern proved totally unneccessary.

AC worked properly. Quiet operation even through the night. Excellent to keep musquitos at bay: improbable to catch them anyway with such high ceiling.
Bathroom is small, period. But spotless and functional.

* Restaurant: okay, you probably have to try it out, given the peer pressure from fellow reviewers, and we did. Food is exquisitely done! As in: red wine, condiments, herbs, olive snacks etc never tasted this good. So kudos to the chef for original and memorable tastes!

Price is up to mid-range European metropolitan standards. Nothing outrageous. That being said, there is just as yummy food to be had from any of the harbour-side eateries (we sampled a bunch of them), at 50% or less of the price. Malaga proved very reasonable in terms of hot food pricing. Not to be compared to southern France or Italy.

Breakfast was okay-ish (no hot veggies or soup, but à la minute bacon and eggs is on offer from the kitchen at no surcharge). Limited tea options, proper but nothing special. You could wonder whether the 9 eur pp breakfast fee is worth it. It surely accommodated our lazy attitudes. Alternatively, if you favour improvisation at low cost: at the foot of the hill is fresh coffee, fruit, and local bread to be had to go, for a fraction of the price (combining Burger King with next-door discount supermarket called Dia % Maxi).

* Pool. Extra points for cleanliness and calm. We lounged here twice, whole afternoon and barely saw another soul. No kids (not a kid-magnet this hotel anyway). 6 sun lougers, a large umbrella, 2 showers, a tidy lavatory and of course the small pool all to yourself ? Sheer and utter luxury.

* Access : yes the hill is steep. And yes you can do it on foot. Okay, we're both personal trainers so that's probably a biased opinion. Alex pointes us to the shortest way: leaving the hotel take a left onto "Calle Borneo" down to the Avenue below. Bus stop is right at the foot of the hill. The 30 mins ride into town with 15 min intervals at 1.30 eur pp is a deal hard to beat any day.

* Service: didn't need to rely on hotel service much. So they stayed discretely in the background. Which is exactly why they're getting rave reviews: very professional and dependable, only to be seen when you need them. Top notch hotellerie !

* Beaches: we took a look at Malagueta city beach, which was not as bad as expected. Lively but not loud. Okay there was the odd plastic bag in the water and cigarette butt in the sand, but then who's to blame?
Eventually we took the train to Misericordia beach near Torremolinos as many reviewers suggested. It was somewhat quieter, better managed if you hire loungers (3 eur a day for 2+covers+umbrella), and there is cheap food available from any of the nearby bistros.
All in all not a world of difference from Malaga city beach in our opinion.
Train ride is smooth and frequent with tickets at 4 eur pp one-way. Admittedly the walk from the train stop (not a real station) down to the beach sets more of a seaside relax-vibe than the city center.

Room Tip: no.2 top floor (restaurant floor) has extra mezzanine with two more beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manusegev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Opted to avoid city centre hotels with excessive parking fees. We scoured the internet and found Villa Guadalupe.
Flight was delayed, but even arriving after midnight, we were given a warm and helpful welcome.
Room on ground floor with terrace was fine, but we would have liked a view of the city below. When another room became available, we were transferred by the extremely helpful staff. This room was spectacular,with large balcony and stunning views of Malaga. Cleanliness of rooms and hotel was impeccable.
Restaurant was excellent, with a good choice of first class meals. So good, we opted to eat there every evening of our stay, working our way through the menu! The desserts deserve a review of their own, and the sorbets could become addictive!
One traveller said the restaurant was the best in Malaga, if not in the whole of Andalucia!
Our flight home was late night, but the staff made sure we were welcome to stay in the hotel even after checking out. After a visit to Malaga, we returned to relax by the pool, until, sadly, we had to go to the airport.
We cannot praise the staff too highly, they all made us feel that nothing was any trouble at all and went out of their way to make our stay perfect.
A special mention to Alex and Candace,whose consideration, advice and humour added to our stay.
In our world wide travels, we tend not to return to a place, in case the second visit disappoints. This stay at Villa Guadalupe has changed our minds.
We cannot understand a three star rating when it should be much higher. The accessibility is a little tricky, but is far outweighed by the stunning standards of the hotel and restaurant.
Our best wishes to Candace and her husband to be for their wedding in October.
Thank you, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent. Room 5 was particularly impressive, but we hesitate recommending it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stickybeak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We returned to Spain to collect our car which had broken down the month before. When we arrived everything was catered for the staff were excellent the food outstanding and the atmosphere heavenly. The Mercedes garage managed to deny us a second night as they didn't fix the car. We are currently trying to justify a return visit, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a quite relaxing time at the side of a pool with everything catered and looked after.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having spent a couple of weeks in Spain we thought we'd have a couple of nights in Malaga before catching the flight home. We had a car so access to the hillside hotel was not a problem thought he gradient of some of the roads may concern more timid drivers. I visited Malaga some 5 years previously and it was a little shabby but it is now a wonderful place to visit. All the monuments have had a makeover and the Cathedral is superb. There are endless bodegas and restaurants to choose from so don't just use the airport as a gateway--visit and stay in Malaga.
Well that's my plug for the city!
I mentioned the restaurants but they are a little superfluous if you are staying at Hotel Guadalupe which has a superb restaurant of its own with wonderful views over Malaga towards the sea. Their menu is varied and the food beautifully presented. The wine list reasonably priced if not over extensive. Just make sure you try one of their speciality sorbets-They are simply outstanding both in terms of texture and taste!
The staff are all extremely polite, helpful and friendly --as covered in other reviews.
The outside pool area was small but adequate with plenty of sunbeds and chairs for the few people actually using the area.
The only downside was the minimal insulation between the rooms. Luckily we had quiet considerate neighbours during the stay.
Just for information if you do stay here the taxi ride into town is approximately 10.00 euros--ask the taxi driver to drop you at Calle Marques de Larios which is near to the port and the old centre.

To sum up-is it the no.1 hotel in Malaga? It is after all a 3 star hotel so probably not in terms of facilities and location in the centre but if you like smaller hotels with a bit of character, great staff and restaurant then I can see why people place it at no.1! I'd certainly be happy to return.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony and view over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 6-day break to Malaga, for which we stayed at the Villa Guadalupe. Our whole experience, from start to finish, was wonderful. The hotel is superb., we could not recommend it higher. The setting is beautiful and the service second to none, staff are very, very helpful indeed. Our room was spacious, spotless and had all we required. The views overlooking Malaga are spectacular. We will not hesitate to return, if we get the chance. Thank you to all at Villa Guadalupe.
Alf Moran

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wonderful staff. Candice was greatl. She is originally from East Brunswick Canada so easy to communicate with English speakers. Alex also very helpful, he lived in US for a period. So this is a great place to go for non-Spanish speaking people. Won't repeat other reviews but Amandor restaurant was wonderful. The lamb awesome. The pool furniture could use an upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gundthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#21 of 87 in Malaga
281 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 87 in Malaga
363 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 87 in Malaga
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Property: Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Address: Calle Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga
Hotel Villa Guadalupe Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing