We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, location not very central”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our overall impression of this hotel was that we had a good time staying there. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean (modern furniture, big bed). Very good breakfast. The only problem we had during our stay was on one night when our neighbor was speaking on the phone a bit loudly and we could hear him too well, so the walls of the rooms are not so thick.
It's nice that you can choose to stay after the checkout time, for a moderate cost (until 6 PM it was 25 euros, which is ok considering the room rate).
It is a bit expensive but it seems Malaga is overall more expensive than other cities in Andaluzia.
The WiFi connection was quite poor (bad reception) so if you want to use the internet bring your cable since they only seem to have 1-2 at the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razvan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

problems with wifi, writing this in the lobby as I cannot get it to work in room and they have no cables. slow laundry service - they could not give me an iron!!!
generally dont follow through on promises. seems more tourist oriented. otherwise the facilities/location are good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eccentricagallumbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We book through internet with a great offer for the weekend.
Double room with SPA included! the hotel is near the train station and near the center, very well communicated with buses and it's very clean and lightly!
The people is very kind and the hotel is a great relaxing place....with a fantastic breakfast buffet!!! Till 11 !!!!
We had the SPA included and it means they have a small sauna , and a small jacuzzi with a terrace on the roof but with a crystal ceiling that permits you to enjoying both water massage and sun! we were lucky there was nobody and we enjoy the jacuzzi alone for more than 1 hour! YOU CAN BOOK THE JACUZZI ONLY FOR YOU FROM 20 TILL 22.
You can also book a massage from 30 euros...I don't know how many minutes.
If you have the laptop internet is free by wi-fi, otherwise you can use their computer in the lobby with coins. 50 cents for 8 minutes, 1 euro for 15 minutes, 2 euros for 30 minutes.

WE REALLY ENJOY IT!!!! =) MALAGA IS AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsHeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice after an evening flight to Malaga and before catching an onward bus the next morning. It is so close to both railway and bus stations that it suits us perfectly. However, it is not just the location as it is a beautifully clean and friendly hotel. The rooms are a good size with extremely large and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are big and very well equipped with all sorts of useful bits and pieces.

For anyone spending a few days in Malaga it is a little bit out of the centre, but not that far to walk and there are some small local bars and cafes with reasonable food. However, for anyone wanting easy access to train, bus or airport it is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Me and my family had a short stay at Puerta Malaga Hotel, and really there was nothing to complain for. The Reception staff was really friendly and quick, so checking in was super fast. The rooms were well appointed, and the amenities were there. Buffet breakfast was very delicious, and I really wished I could stay 1 more night to try it again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spend 6 nights in this nice price hotel (nice price = quality compaired paid money). We were taken very good care by helpfull and polite hotel stuff. Special thans to Andrea and Almudena(?) for taking good care of us. You really did good work by listening our requirements and fullfilling them without problems.

Hotel is next to central buss/train station. If you would choose train from airport, remember to stay in Maria Malaga Zambrano stop not the final stop Malaga cent. Hotel founds just behind the corner in 3 min. walk. Train price is 1,40 € and takes about 15 min from airport.

We stayed in suite. It was responding to all our needs. Room had big balcony, private jaguzzi, two separate rooms and toilet. Room rate was reasonable, check in and out fast. Breakfast was also great but if it is not included into your room price just sleep without care and pick from supermarket against hotel which will opens 9:15. Remember, Sundays almost everything are closed. There is also nice restaurants around the hotel in walking distance but they are hardly speaking English. Finger pointing is working thouhg.

You can go to Citycenter from the hotel easily by buss number 1 or 3, buss stop is next to hotel. If you would like to spend time in beach, just step into buss number 3 and leave it at end stop. It takes about 5 min. to walk to beach. Buss ticket is 1,20 € per direction and maps can be found from hotel reception. Stuff was always very helpfull to find out right directions and way to go there.

On wednesdays there is nice market (Mercadillo) until 3 PM. Just take bus number 1 from the left side of hotel ( left when you come out from the hotel door to outside). Market place will be 4-5th stop on right side. Be ready to step out from the buss when you see the market place. Markets are pretty cheap but quality was sometimes even surprizingly good. Also on Sundays there is similar market place until 2-3 PM. Just take buss number 3 to citycenter and then buss number 17. Be ready to step outside from the buss when you see market place.

On Sunday it is easy to take train and drive to another cities like Torremolinos, Fuengirola, BenAlmadena or take a buss and go to Gibraltar. When you take a train, there is much of things you can see and visit easily just steppin out and in from the train even if you don't know Malaga/Costa Del Soll. For examble In benalmadena was cheap and very helpfull Cityseightseeing buss next to cable car to the mountains which was close to train station so it was easy and quick to see not only mountains with cable car but also city only with 15 €. Ticket was valid 48 hours and you could step in and out within that time so many times as you want. Very nice and practical. Just after airport train stop to Fuengirola direction there is place called Plaza Mayor. It is a big shopping mall right next to trainstation. (Price from Malaga by train is around 2,20€ per direction)

Because connections were so great, we had both city holiday and beach holiday in same package by staying in this very nice hotel. Not so big worth of carrying even luggages because airport also connettable by train and hotell is so near train station.

I recommend highly but take a change and accomodate in suite. It is also possible to ask suite's if you have booked regular one. Upgradings are available with nice price. I highlight that this recommendation is valid only for Superior and Suites in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kibsu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We loved this hotel, it was spotless, just over the road is a shopping mall and in there is the train station, plus bars and restaurants.

The train line go's to fuertaventura and torremelinos, so its easy to get about.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
555 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,159 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#34 of 89 in Malaga
524 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 89 in Malaga
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#21 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £71 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing