We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but areas for improvement”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adequate but areas for improvement”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The room was great and we have nothing negative to report. We also liked having a grocery store in front of the hotel. However, the reception staff we met could barely spoke English. Moreover, they would not greet us with a smile. We believe this situation is unacceptable when you are in contact with clients and tourists. Finaly, we found the hotel too far from the main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat_nic_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    370
    178
    55
    26
See reviews for
114
383
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We'd hired a car to drive around Andalucia and spent the last night of our holiday here. Easy to find hotel, we parked in their secure car park. We had a Suite with a patio roof garden. The suite which was spacious with a large bathroom and jacuzzi shower and a separate guest toilet, a lounge, two flatscreen TV's and good internet. Room service was prompt, good value and what we wanted. My only gripe was the patio onto our roof garden didn't lock as it was broken. We only realised when we were sleeping so it was quite late, staff tried to fix it but were unsuccessful. As we were so high up, security wasn't that much of an issue although people could climb over the wall from the gardens either side, not likely, but it's nice to have locks working when they are supposed to!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SufianMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Malaga and used it as a base for trips around Andalucia, its great for this as only a short walk to the train and bus stations. 2 euros on the airport bus, very friendly welcoming staff, tried to practice my Spanish but was not really needed as most of the staff spoke some English, spacious, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, supermarket next door, could not fault it really, will be back next year maybe try the club room with terrace, oh and bus stops outside to take you into town for your tapas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

A comfortable hotel. Furniture a little worn in places. Nice sauna and jacuzzi room with a sunbathing area on the 6th floor. Easy walk to local beach. A15 min walk into the cathedral area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel after a cruise and it ended up being a great choice! It was a 12 euro taxi ride from the port which was ok. The best part is when we arrived at 9.30 am - they gave us our rooms. This was fantastic! Also - we stayed during Feria and got a decent rate b&b on travel republic. The rooms were spacious an the breakfast was great. The location was absolutely fine. Right across from the train station and loads of shops and a pleasant 10 min stroll into the centre of Malaga. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Splendid stay spent at this marvellous, clean hotel.

Perfect location with extremely reasonable room rates. Helpful staff on arrival, all with remarkably good English in a hotel that has it's share of tourists and business people.

We got a free upgrade on our room, without asking and the room was beyond four star.

Malaga is a thoroughfare for a lot of Andalucian holiday destinations and the Silken Puerta is on my list for another stay soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We found this hotel by chance on internet and booked it .The location is excellent with the bus stop for center and beach literally just 20 metres from hotel, and both train station and main bus depot a short walk away.There is also an excellent shopping center just behind the bus station called the Larios centre.The staff were very helpful and rooms very clean and spacious.There was always a good selection for breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 551726Disgusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 88 in Malaga
431 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,898 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
948 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#9 of 88 in Malaga
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Property: Sercotel Malaga
Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing