We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here pre cruise for one night and 3 nights post cruise. It is very easy to get to by train, much much cheaper than using a taxi. Both of the rooms we stayed in were very spacious and comfortable. Overlooking the road is a bit noisy but it does provide an interesting view, our second room which was at the side of the hotel was much quieter but the view was of lines of washing. The staff were very friendly and helpful, just wish the restaurant staff would smile! Breakfast was included in our package, it was very substantial. There were cooked items (eggs, bacon, sausages), cheeses, meats, croissants and other pastries as well as cereals and fruit. The food served in the bar was very good and reasonably priced, we weren't as impressed with the restaurant style menu. It is worth checking out several hotel sites for the best price - we got the best results with Trivago. It is about a 15 minute stroll in to Malaga centre, go out of the hotel turn left to the main road, turn right and keep heading in that direction, over the bridge and turn right. Most of the roads on the left will take you into the town.

Room Tip: Less noise ask for one at the back or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llc7peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Silken Puerta Malaga.

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Silken Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

There is the hotel in front of the Renfe MALAGA MARIA ZAMBRANO station.This station is connected directly with a shopping mall, and there is zara home, too.ALSA bus station is about distance of three minutes of distance from this hotel.The next to hte hotel is Supermarket(EL CORTE INGLES) .The interior is modern, and is chic.The room is clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORIMPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. Your detailed description of our services , facilites an location surely makes it more easy for other interested travellers to know what to expect when coming to our hotel.

We would be very pleased to have you back on holidays, and we hope you find the opportunity to have a longer break next time!

Kindest regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Excellent Hotel . Couple of mins. from Train Station (Maria Zambranno) dont go to Malaga Central, We did.But locals were very happy to send us on the proper route..and have a laugh.
Hotel spotless, bathrooms sparkling, comfortable beds breakfast nice and plentiful.Just stayed a couple of days but found the reception staff very friendly and helpful.Handy for travel..Bus station is just a few minutes from the Train station.
Malaga isnt just a place where the planes arrive..its a lovely city-- nice food, buildings, bars , beach Harbour area etc.
No hesitation in returning to this Hotel.

Room Tip: A couple of really nice little Tapas bars near the Hotel .Try FICTUS -- a real Spanish no speak Ingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FILTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Silken Puerta Malaga
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Silken Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in Malaga for 4 nights and had planned day trips to different places, so this place was extremely convinient as it was right next to the train station
We did not have breakfast but there were great options in the train station and a supermarket across the road.
The wifi was temperemental at times but the spa facilities were good and the staff at reception friendly.

Would have like a kettle in the room to have tea/ coffee...otherwise they had a well stocked mini bar.
Will definitely recommend this place for people wanting to use the station frequently.....though it is fairly close to most of the sights and the beach as well

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennymgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest

First of all, we kindly would like to thank you for choosing the Silken Puerta Malaga for enjoying your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel . It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just one night in the Puerta Malaga, no time for pool or spa, but it scores top marks on comfort, location, convenience, exceptional staff - and a restaurant that is very inexpensive and serves the best of fresh fish. There are places that one stays overnight and forgets immediately - this isn't one. I want to go back, and I would hope for a longer stay. The hotel is in very easy walking distance of the train station (it took me 3 minutes, not walking quickly, and with a big suitcase, to reach the train to the airport); it would take another 5 minutes to reach the bus station; it is right beside an underground carpark, and right beside a branch of the Corte Ingles (food and clothes). Take your nightly stroll down to the waterfront - that was about 5 minutes too. What was remarkable about the staff was their apparently effortless and charming efficiency, everything answered and done in seconds, with a smile. As for the restaurant, the food was impressively pure, tasty and the three-course dinner was priced at less than one of those courses cost me in either London or Paris. If you like monkfish, you are in for a treat - the portions are double or treble the usual ones. Recollections of the soup are mouthwatering. I didn't weaken at the dessert prospects but virtuously opted for fruit salad that was good but not exceptional. The wine recommendation was ideal for my meal choices. Given that I was there on the night of the Malaga FC and Bayern Munich second leg thriller, it is a tribute to the staff that they could focus on customers as well as on the nail-biting progress of that match. A brilliant place. So near to the glitzy new train station and yet not a sound!
One tiny negative: the new shower partition over the bath seemed to be in the wrong place for the shower, and the safety handgrip was also in an odd place. Nothing dangerous, nothing ugly but not optimal and probably was fine for the previous arrangement.

Room Tip: I was at the back, in the middle, and it was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay in our Hotel.

It is great to learn that you had a great stay. Your comments will be passed to our staff who will be delighted to read them.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Silken Puerta Malaga,in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Easter period. We found it very easy to travel from the hotel by taxi and also by bus to Malaga town centre. There is a supermarket directly opposite the hotel. The train station and coach station are both within walking distance, we caught a coach to Marbelle for the day - journey time was 50 minutes. The beach is a 10 minutes walk away and there are some lovely beachfront restaurants to eat at and chill out at. There is quite a wide range of foods available at breakfast time, eggs, bacon, beans, cereal, cakes, cheese, ham, fruit, etc. Not too sure about dinner as we never ate dinner at the hotel. We used the jacuzzi and sunna at the hotel which were both very good and enjoyable. The staff were very helpful in giving us advice on places to visit and eat at in Malaga. Only thing, it would be nice to have a few more English speaking channels on the TV or access to a DVD player in the room as the only available English channel is SKY News and there is only so much Sky News one can watch. Apart from that we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AYou_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia H, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Silken Puerta Malaga.

Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are very happy to know that your expectations were meet.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.


With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

we booked 2 rooms for 3 persons without breakfast, and we got upgraded to junior suite with a terrace and an access to the spa (we didn't have time for the spa, unfortunately).

The location was good and bad, good because it is close to the train and bus stations, and bad because it is far from the touristic areas.

I recommend this hotel if you're traveling around Andalucia in one-day trips.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ghada1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
671 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,323 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#11 of 87 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#34 of 87 in Malaga
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing