We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for train connections”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #32 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for train connections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stated here for four nights recently. The hotel ticks all the boxes. It has a spa jacuzzi and sun terrace on the roof which is nice the rooms are clean a decent size and have everything required. It's all about location 2 minutes walk from Maria Zambra Rnfe station where trains from all over Spain operate Via. There are local train services here as well trains depart every 20 minutes 7 days a week to and from the airport so whatever way you arrive in Malaga this hotel is very simple to get to. €1.70 to airport takes 8 minutes doesn't get much easier. If you come out of the hotel and turn right and right again the beach is about ten minutes walk where you will find beds umbrellas etc it is not overcrowded and is frequented by locals so it's a bit more Spanish than the costas everyone is very friendly and welcoming. There are several places along the seafront for food ( lots of fresh fish & seafood) & drink we tried a few of these and were not disappointed in any. If you come out of the hotel turn left & then right it's a 30 minute stroll to the town centre and a further ten to more beaches. Only negative was the wifi was hit and miss it worked for about half of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference situation, room, staff,etc...
All our staff members are always keen on providing first class service and will be glad they have satisfied or even exceeded your expectations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Silken Puerta Malaga.

Kind regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    361
    175
    53
    25
See reviews for
112
378
45
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

+ great location next to the train station.
+ rooms are big ... Bathrooms have been refurbished and are great.
+ great selection of drinks at the bar

- wifi is Very Slow .. No option to pay to speed it up.
- I was lying on the bed and got bitten ... So I requested at reception so Flyspray ... I was told to walk down the road and buy it myself ... 4 star hotels shouldn't make guests do this ! Can't wait to charge them MINI BAR prices
- Don't eat from the Mini Bar ... Very Very expensive compared to RRP's

-

Room Tip: High floors have less rooms. Windows are not soundproof - so go floor 4 or above to miss the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Location : right outside the Malaga Train Station .. Not Malaga Centro .. The one before that! So once you hop off the plane .. You get a train and within 12-15mins you are at the hotel.
There is a beach nearby which is ok and frequented by the locals ..
It'll cost you about €5-6 to get a cab into town or you can walk within 15 mins to town or the port area which is fantastic for an evening meal

Bedroom : nice bedrooms .. Good standard of bed .. Noise not an issue ... First room I stayed in the shower was a bit weak but in the second room I stayed in once I got back from Seville the shower was better .. Very clean, very modern, just Spanish channels on the TV .. maybe this is something for the hotel to look into as I noticed quite an international clientele

Internet : a bit slow but overall not too bad .. You have to keep logging back in

Staff : really quite nice .. When I was due to check out I felt really ill .. I explained to the front desk that I may not be able to check out at 12 as I was feeling rough .. Yes, it was a hangover ! Well, it's a holiday ! But the staff were so accommodating .. They told me I could take my time and never put me under pressure .. Such great service and they need to be applauded for this. I was ok by 1.30pm anyway but it helped that they didn't put me under pressure

In summary, a great hotel, good location , modern clean rooms and very good customer service .. I hope they don't change this good habit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment.
I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive your feedback.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have stayed here before for a few days and were a bit disappointed at the distance from the centre of town. This time we were arriving on a late flight so arranged a rental car collection from the nearby train station.

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, even at 230am, and were in our room in absolutely no time. The room was lovely with a nice balcony overlooking the city. Bed was really comfortable and a pillow menu was available. Very clean, very convenient, quiet location with good free Internet. W really couldn't have asked for anymore- well-done.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us
it is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assitant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 19 days. It's a good hotel which is well located close to the railway and bus stations. Local and national travel is therefore really easy. Though the area looks a bit seedy it's actually not. There are lots of cafes and restaurants near by which are very well priced by British standards; a large supermarket which is directly opposite the hotel allows access to Spanish priced products which significantly undercut the more expensive hotel equivalents. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Riccardo and Africa, while the rooms are clean and well appointed and well up to four star standard. Unfortunately, where the hotel falls down is in its senior management and directors who appear to cut corners where a more determined approach would reap benefits. Two examples of this are in the hotel's provision of wifi which, frankly, is appalling and in the weekend breakfasts whose quality is significantly poorer than their weekday equivalent. The lack of a reliable wifi signal in the bedrooms is particularly annoying if your business needs require you to keep in touch with home. Though the management promised on at least eight occasions to put this right their attempts were completely futile - the system appears to be unable to cope with any real demand made of it; it frequently crashes and when it doesn't it's very, very slow. The system really needs to be replaced or upgraded. So, in short, this is a good hotel but it really isn't suited to business requirements.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeKinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when we flew over to meet some suppliers for our Andalucian wedding. It's a really good, clean hotel in a decent location. It's a 20 minute walk from the best part of Malaga (old town where all the best tapas bars, restaurants and shops are). The hotel itself is big, with good sized rooms. It's quite a business-like hotel so don't go there exopecting quirky wee bits and bobs. The best bit is the big bar area. It is really comfy and you can get an amazing glass of red wine for 2 euros 50 cents which is incredibly cheap considering the quality of the wine. We only had one issue and that was the expense of the car park. The hotel make you think that the car park is free and encourage you to use it as it belongs to them. At check out we were charged 50 euros for parking there. they were not forthcoming with this at check in and when we asked them about it, we were not informed of the charge. Despite this, we had agood stay there. it's very relaxing hotel and Malaga old town in lovely and very under rated. Mostly Spanish people there and very few tourists making it an authentic, original place to visit for a city break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLLIE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Really the location of our hotel is perfect for doing tourism: two minutes’ walk from the train station that connects you to all points of interest (airport, Costa del Sol, etc...) And short walking distance from the historic and commercial center of the city.
In the room you can find a directory with the price of the parking,also the same in teh elevators.I very apolizage if the staff of the front desk didn't inform you about it.
Yours sincerely,

Alejandro del Castillo
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just arrived back from a week stay at this beautiful, modern and clean hotel. The staff are exceptionally friendly, the cleaners are very polite and do an excellent job providing a clean and hygienic room and the food served in the restaurant is top standard at a very reasonable price. There is no swimming pool, but there is a sun terrace, sauna and jacuzzi which provided a nice relaxing time.

There isn't much to do around the area so this hotel is very good if you like to travel and see things. Train station opposite the hotel which was ideal as we went to visit many places; Marbella, peurta Banus, Fuengerola, toromelenos, nerja and malaga city centre.

Thank you so kindly for a lovely and pleasant stay,

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, all rooms are amazing, if you want a balcony then get a suite xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Mlaga.

It is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

At Silken Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

Really the location of our hotel is perfect for doing tourism: two minutes’ walk from the train station that connects you to all points of interest (airport, Costa del Sol, etc...) And short walking distance from the historic and commercial center of the city.
It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assitant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Hotel Guadalmedina
Hotel Guadalmedina
#33 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Property: Sercotel Malaga
Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing