We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star! Definately not a 4 Star Hotel!”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Not impressed that they advertise as a 4 Star hotel, it barely makes 3. Whilst the rooms are clean they are just standard hotel rooms, nothing special, no tea n coffee making facilities in the rooms and wifi is not very good you have to keep going back to reception to ask for the password as it only lasts for 24 hours before its changed and i couldnt even get my emails. Breakfast is fairly standard, cold meats, cheese, cold fatty bacon swimming in oil, as are the eggs. Unless your staying here as a brief stop over and you need the public transport lines, i wouldnt recommend the area. Stay at Don Curro in the centre of Malaga which is a €6.00 taxi ride away but is amongst it all, and is cheaper!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and for your stay in our hotel.
I would like to inform you that our hotel receives every year many customers who decide to stay your vacation with us, for the location of the hotel as the facilities and / or services by accessing advantageous terms to offer on our website: families, seniors, advance reservations, etc..
Your opinion is of great help in our effort to improve and achieve our main objective, which is the full satisfaction of our clients. Our breakfast buffet is composed of numerous fresh products such as fruit of the day, fresh juices, freshly baked bread and pastries, cold cuts, hot dishes, etc.. Unfortunately I do not find to their liking, but we have to say that many customers we congratulate him.
We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager
Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Sercotel Malaga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I already have stayed in Silken Hotels in Spain and Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga hasn't disappointed me. Silken Hotels offer their guests value for money, excellent service, delicious food and clean rooms.
Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga is approximately 15min walk from the center of Malaga. It is nearby the beach. Great location and also for those who don't like walking, there a bus station just in front of the hotel. Opposite to the main entrance there is El Corte Ingles Supermarket and very close to the hotel is small shopping mail and a railway station. Wherever you want to go to or from the hotel you can easily and by different types of transportation.
Hotel staff is very pleasant, helpful and they know what good service quality is - Reception desk especially.
Rooms are comfortable and clean. Furniture modern and new.
We had BB, but what I like about Silken hotels is delicious food. Silken Puerta Malaga has a big choice of food so I doubt that anyone can exit the restaurant without having an excellent breakfast, or any other meal.
Definitely I will stay loyal to Silken hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasminaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga. I am more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us once time again and that you are already thinking of a future stay with us.

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference situation, room, staff,etc...
All our staff members are always keen on providing first class service and will be glad they have satisfied or even exceeded your expectations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at Silken Hotels.

Kind regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I would like to share with you my review of this hotel. We stayed here in a suite on the top floor from the 17th of August until the 24th during Feria week, this hotel is ideally situated for the main railway station, it's only a 15 min walk to the city centre or 20 min to the lovely port area. The suites have 2 separate rooms and a massive balcony which gets the sun from mid morning till early evening, the rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels supplied. This was my second stay at this hotel and will definitely return here as Malaga is a great city. I would just like to say a big thank you to the staff who were polite and courteous at all times and a special mention must go to Sonia, Ricardo and Alejandro, Gracias

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rober_f_129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Robert,

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment.
I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive your feedback.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and 2 teenagers (16 and 18) have just returned from a 3 day long weekend in the Malaga area.

We have stayed at the Barcelo before yet decided to try the Silken Puerta for a change and I'm pleased we did.

From Maria Zambrano station it's only 100 yards so is well located.

The rooms are less contemporary than the Barcelo yet are better equipped.

We had a 2 fourth floor rooms - one facing forwards (towards the station : 428) and one facing backwards (into a courtyard : 423). Those facing forward have the better view yet are more noisy with the window open. The AC is excellent so you have a choice.

Breakfast was OK yet the choice & quality at the Barcelo are better (fresh omelettes and Nespresso coffee etc).

We hired their Life Style bikes which were cool looking yet had no gears. They really stand out though and are fun. Easier than going into Malaga to hire bikes. The Bareclo don't have their own bikes.

The supermarrket is directly opposite so no need to use the minibar. El Corte Ingles outlet is also there.

All in all it was a great long weekend - made better with the Fiesta.

Choosing between the Barcelo and the Silken Puerta is really a simple matter of price as they are both very good hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank webmanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

First of all, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel . We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the Sixth time I've been to Malaga and the fifth time I've stayed in the Hotel Silken Puerta. To say I love it is an understatement. The staff are very welcoming and helpful nothing is ever too much and on this occasion the airline my sister and I flew with lost our bags. To say we were stressed out when we turned up 6 hours later than planned was an understatement. Check in was a breeze so we made our way to our room. When we opened our door we had been upgraded to and XL Room with and XL bed in it, they also left us an array of fresh pastries and a large bottle of water, which was unexpected and nice. They even volunteered to phone the airline to track down our luggage. Special mentions to Africa, Sandra and Ricardo. Africa has got to be one of the nicest, genuine people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. She is so friendly and informative with regards to places to go and how to get there. Hence why we keep going back to Malaga and staying in the same hotel. The dinner in the restaurant is superb and the guys that work in the restaurant and bar Julian, Juan, Hector, Ivan, Carrero (short guy with spiky hair not sure of his name) are very helpful, polite and nothing is any trouble. I think they should all be promoted to be honest staying at the silken is like being home, wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th Floor are quiter and the views are better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga. I am more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us once time again and that you are already thinking of a future stay with us.

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference situation, room, staff,etc...
All our staff members are always keen on providing first class service and will be glad they have satisfied or even exceeded your expectations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Silken Puerta Malaga.

Kind regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

MY wilde and i stayed here for a week and had a lovely time. Hotel staff were very helpful they always had a smile on their face and really seemed interested in helping customers.

The spa and sauna rooms were lovely, however the gym could do with more equipment.
Great location as it is near the city centre, airport and train station. Would definitely recommend it to friends and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliverhample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Mlaga.

It is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

At Silken Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assitant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here overnight for the Feria. Nice central location next to the train and bus station. Hotel is an excellent standard, modern, rooms large, very comfortable bed, and much appreciated air con. Free wifi everywhere was handy. Reception very polite and pleasant. Recommended to anyone visiting the city.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pkonline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga. I am more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us once time again and that you are already thinking of a future stay with us.

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference situation, room, staff,etc...
Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Silken Puerta Malaga.

Kind regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
526 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
521 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £84 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing