We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Upgrade to Penthouse Suite!”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My opinion may be biased given that we were given a free upgrade from a standard room to one of the penthouse suites with a huge terrace! Stayed here last Saturday evening as it is handy for the railway station. The two members of staff on reception were very pleasant with warm smiles. The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. It is not centrally situated but is handy for both the bus and train stations. A short walk has one at the start of the recently developed Muelle de Malaga, the re-developed port area. There is a spa on the top floor but we did not have a chance to use it. Plenty of low cost places to eat nearby and if you like shopping there is a Corte Ingles outlet opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I've been here for 1 day...Amazing hotel, nice and confortable rooms, good position in Malaga, guest service people very helpful!The food is not bad but can be improved (lunch ok, bad dinner buffet). My suggestion is to try it...very very nice!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Fabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Disappointing for a four star hotel although excellent city centre location. Nowhere to sunbathe. No pool. No kettle in room. one English speaking news channel. Breakfast very disappointing. Not worth the money. Ordered a double room but got two single beds pushed together. Probably 3 star standard. Staff friendly and helpful but would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites available on 6th floor which may be a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel 5 nights . Hotel is really 4 * (as opposed to Paris , where a 3 * hotel was not even 1 * ) , friendly staff both at reception and at the restaurant , helpful , ready always give you advice. extraordinary location of the hotel is near the train station and bus station ( 3 minutes) near the center four bus stations, and the conclusion about what is good for the airport, and less as 10 meters there is a grocery shopping and not numai.Camerele Santa Maria , airy, and equipped with minibar , tv, floors 1-3 smokers ditch the rest up to 6 non-smokers, good for the viciosi.Restaurantul well arranged, friendly staff food both at breakfast and dinner extraordinary difersificata only those too may find a less demanding at this conclusion capitol.In recommend this hotel and congratulate the management for high stan . Congratulations leadership and colectivului.Am come back next year in Malaga and I will look for this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 316 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgescviorel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was aware that this hotel was located close to the train station so nice and easy after the journey. On first impression quite impressed. We were given ( I think ) a disabled room, larger than average. Full size bath and overhead shower. I thought it was strange though that there was no lighting over the bath. The shower itself was quite powerful but failed to stay in the correct position whilst on. Lovely complimentary bathrobes and slippers. The tv was disappointing as only sky news available in English. We did not sample the breakfast but found the location was great for exploring. Wifi speed poor. Great underground system. I will review some of the restaurants we sampled. We did have tea and coffee facilities which was good but the maids did not clean the cups when they attended the room which I thought was strange.

Room Tip: Close to the road so could be noisy if in a lower level room, we were on floor 4 which was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'd used this hotel before and its still great. The location is so good, only a couple of minutes from the side door of the station, but its quiet and restful. You could see lots of people in reception, but the actual room was quiet and peaceful. A couple of pieces of furniture were a little scuffed, but everything was clean and well appointed. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Mlaga.

It is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Alejandro Del Castillo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed there for 4 days during my business trip and I really liked it. Hotel is a good location, close to beach like 10 min walk, 3 min from the train station and shopping mall and 20 sec from the El Corte Ingles outlet store. You can take a bus for city center very easy. rooms are very big and my bed was huge actually. Room was very cleand and stuff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmerall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro D, Manager at Sercotel Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga. I am more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us once time again and that you are already thinking of a future stay with us.

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference situation, room, staff,etc...
All our staff members are always keen on providing first class service and will be glad they have satisfied or even exceeded your expectations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Silken Puerta Malaga.

Kind regards,
Alejandro del Castillo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
600 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#11 of 89 in Malaga
1,065 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing