We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the train station”
Review of Sercotel Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Malaga
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If arriving by train this is very near to the station. It was also between two main roads, one into the city and one out, so you could hear the traffic which was a bit noisy, but the air con was on and good but we did find it a bit stuffy come morning. Its about 20 min's walk to the town and port, which is definitely worth a visit. The room was high and roomy, with a fridge and safe (free and easy to use). Everything very clean, firm beds, good lighting and mirrors, nice bathroom and shower. Plenty of drawer space and hangers. BF was excellent with a v.good choice of food.
Walk across from the entrance to a super market and shops. After walking into town go to the prom, there are boat trips to go on and lots of café and restaurants to eat in, then walk away from the prom towards the Cathedral and little shops and alleyways.

Room Tip: Perhaps a high floor and in the middle of the building
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Sercotel Malaga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

very comfortable and clean. no noise at night. away from the noise but easy to get into the old town and the port which are both well worth a visit.good if you like a no fuss hotel where you can come and go as you please.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had no idea of the location of this hotel but it said close to train station and it was. 5mins or so walking. I booked a twin room with breakfast for 3 nights via Booking.com and my friend and I thought for a city hotel it was reasonably priced. It had some good points , some bad also , I have written my feedback to the Hotel on their questionnaire. I was disappointed with the Spa as there was only a Jacuzzi , we weren't told if you wanted to use the sauna you must give the reception staff 30mins prior notice. The staff are very pleasant and work so hard. Our room was clean , the bright new modern bathrooms look really nice but stepping in the bath to use the shower arrangement is a bit strange and we felt the water went all over the floor which is dangerous on tiles. Comfortable beds and nice feel of the linen. Breakfast was not to either of our tastes , I like fresh fruit , you could only get the same repetitve pineapple and chopped orange , the eggs etc were cold in the metal serving dishes , theres no tea/coffee facility in the room , but we did like the fact that there is a Corte el ingles outlet and their Supercor supermarket right opposite so our first day because of the heavy rain we were straight over and spent a couple of nice hours shopping . This hotel and Barceló are excellent locations for the train station . We found the staff , receptioin in particular , so helpful but another problem was the wifi !!! We gave up and got it in all the restaurants free and easy to connect. Also another problem for us was that we were on the 2nd floor , room 227 and this is above the restaurant for breakfast and the noise of peoples chairs scraping as they got up and down for the buffet woke you up , so get a higher floor !!!

Room Tip: Higher than the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flamencolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were lucky to have chosen this hotel which is good value for money. Very centrally located within 5 minutes walking distance to the central rail station and the bus terminal. The room was spacious and the bad huge. It was clean with nice bathroom. The welcoming helpful reception staff add to the great value of this hotel. Additionally the breakfast was delicious and had varieties which can suit almost anyone. We highly recommend this hotel which is centrally located though not far from the irport

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiphip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked this hotel because it was near the train station and our train left for Barcelona at 8:30. It was only a ten minute walk. The corridors and the rooms were very tired and in need of decoration. The room was OK but it was on the main street and very noisy. The room was also stuffy and we couldn't get the air conditioning to work. The hotel advertises free wi fi but it only gives access to the internet if you need to do your e mails then you have to pay ! The breakfasts were fine. We gave all of this feedback to the hotel at the time.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Not a 3-star hotel at all - not even close! I am not sure how other people can rate this hotel a 4 or 5; it was absolutely awful. From check-in to check-out, our hotel experience was terrible - the room was very average, restaurant was just ok, the shower configuration was very strange (water went everywhere), mini-bar was super expensive, the safe didn't work, bed was hard, pool and spa was extremely dirty, staff was unfriendly/unprofessional, and the furniture in room was old and in some cases broken. The cleaning staff left our room UNLOCKED for an entire day. Bottom line, stay somewhere else - not worth the money or aggravation. If I could rate this hotel a ZERO; I would - RUN!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here one night as we arrived at the airport at 1000pm and it was so convienent to nip on the underground and get here in 15 mins. Its a modern clean smart well designed hotel- we had a drink in its little cafe at 2300 to relax after the journey. I left my camera in the room and they found it and I was able to pick it up a few days later. We had an early train to catch and were waiting outside the breakfast room along with half a dozen others at 730, this is standard for Spanish hotels, and the cafe doen't open till about 8. The train station was pretty dead at that time too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
526 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
521 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Malaga

Address: Calle Heroes de Sostoa 17 | Calle Ayala, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Silken Puerta Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £84 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located a few meters from the historic center. Nearby you will find numerous shops, 2 shopping malls with bars and restaurants. About 10 meters away is a public transport stop. You can reach on foot perfectly without any problems downtown. The hotel ideal for both leisure travelers and business travelers. Built in 2004, this hotel has a total of 141 rooms, including 130 doubles, 6 superior and 5 are suites. It has a lobby with 2 lifts, 24 hour reception, cafe, terrace and air-conditioned Gastro Bar. The hotel also has a breakfast restaurant and a convention center with 5 paneled meeting rooms. It also offers room service, laundry and parking. The entire hotel has free WIFI The comfortable rooms have en suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite or cable, WIFI, minibar, fridge, double bed or 2 beds, floor board, safe and air conditioning or central heating. On the sixth floor the hotel offers guests can enjoy the spa area with Jacuzzi, showers, and sauna and sun terrace with loungers. We also offer massages. Those who are interested in sports can use the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sercotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Malaga Hotel
Silken Puerta Malaga málaga
Sercotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing