We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very smart hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location and very smart hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a good hotel and it's location means the old centre, the two castles, the beach and the marina are all walkable. It is on a busy roundabout so there is traffic noise, but it is not too intrusive. A roof-top sun lounge gives great views of most of Malag. The rooms are large and smartly decorated. The staff were always very helpful. I would go back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    451
    139
    23
    5
See reviews for
122
525
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I would give it a 4.5 stars if possible. Location, amenities, access and service were great. The views of the Alcazar from the balcony were a plus, since one of our rooms looked out to that side. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We did not eat any other meals here, so not sure how good the restaurant was or if there was one. The food places nearby were pricey and not good value. I would have liked if the hotel had a list of recommended eating places by price category.

Not a beach resort, but 2 blocks from the beach. One of the reasons I did not give them a five star rating is that they do not have a restroom/bathroom/clean up area on the reception floor although they are so close to a beach. All the sand and water could be dealt with much better if they had changing areas on the entry floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Alcazar if you care, the other side faces the back of the Arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altu_faltu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After some 15 hours on a succession of planes we were glad to find the hotel although it is not easy to stop outside to unload. However the staff were ready to assist very promptly. The rooms are well equipped, WiFi included and are of a reasonable size. The hotel buffet breakfast was excellent .The hotel is very well located close to the Alcazar,the Bull Ring and the harbourside promenade. There are several restaurants nearby and the concierge will readily make recommendations. Perhaps not ideal for a long term stay The Maestranza is perfect for a short stopover in Malaga.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I just came back from spending three weeks in Europe, one of these week we spent at Malaga at them Maestranza Hotel. We had a great experience the hotel rooms were large for European standards and very clean the bathroom toiletry package included :disposable tooth bruch and toothpaste sheaving kit and great soap, shampoos and lotions. We had a room on the eight floor with a partial view of the Mediterranean ocean and a great city view. The location of the hotel is phenomenal it is a block from the beach and the pier 1 where a number of shops and restaurants are located. If you are taking a cruise out of Malaga this is the closest hotel to the pier you may want to walk to the pier or if you want a taxi the fare is 5 Euros. The personnel is multilingual and very helpful and friendlly. Lastlty the view from the 12th floor spa and sunning deck is a 390 of the city incredible.Great value for the money we will stay at this property again next year

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very much enjoyed this hotel.This hotel is situated just outside the city centre approximately a ten minute walk.In the opposite direction it is a five minute walk to the beach. In my opinion this hotel is perfectly situated for tourists and the airport bus stop is just across the road.The rooms are very well furnished with plenty of room and cleaned very well daily. We had great views over the harbour and also over the old bull ring and the castle and dome in the background.The staff are friendly and helpful.I can not comment on the restaurant because I wanted to try a few restaurants in the old city that were recommended to us which I found to be excellent.Over all we were very happy that we chose this hotel for our three night visit to Malaga and would fully recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the fountain for the best views and midday sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchellgcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is in a good location about 5-10mins walking from the main shopping areas. It's also about 5 mins from the beach and across the road from the airport bus drop off point.
We had bed only, breakfast is usually cheaper in a cafe of which there were several around the hotel. We did not have dinner preferring to sample the local restaurants.
There is a sun deck on the roof of the hotel. Staff were helpful.
This is a good hotel to use as a base for exploring malaga and its surrounds.

Room Tip: A higher room will get you further from any traffic noise but this wasn't really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

especially good if you are getting on/off a cruise. has great views and is v comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetr00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,023 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
483 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing