We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Weymouth, Dorset.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and me paid £90 for one night room only, which I thought was a bit expensive. The reception staff were helpful. We initially loved the accommodation, consisting of a good sized bedroom and bathroom which was nicely decorated. However we were disappointed that there was no hot drink maker, clock or tissues and could find no english speaking channel on the old TV. Coffee machines are placed in superior rooms only apparently! There was a generous supply of toilletries and shaving equipment etc, and a bidet but we had problems with the shower. There was a rooftop spa and small sunbathing area and a bar which we did not have time to visit. We had a small balcony which overlooked the street.
We didn't receive a complimentary drink!
We liked Malaga and the hotel is very conveniently located for the beach, shops, eateries, tourist sites, docks and public transport. The buses have free wifi and fare to the airport is €3! The Malaga airport experience was horrible. The air conditioning seemed non-existant and we were standing in a queue at the gate for over 30 minutes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank manfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    436
    133
    21
    5
See reviews for
117
506
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is very well located. There are a number of restaurants, banks, and convenience stores just a few steps from the hotel and the beach is a 4-5 minute walk if that. The main attractions of Malaga are a quick 10 minute walk across the beautiful park. Many of the rooms have excellent views of the Alcazaba, Castillo, and Bull Ring.

The hotel rooms are a bit small by American standards and the bed was too firm for my taste. Wi-Fi worked well with a few glitches and TV stations include Spanish, German, and one English (BBC News) station.

The restaurant in house was quite good and reasonably priced with superb service. The roof top deck provides stunning views of the city.

Parking is available around the corner, under the bull ring but I would check with the hotel about possible special rates. The regular rates at Parking Cervantes were fairly high.

Overall an excellent value, though the hotel is definitely in need of a facelift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Alcazaba. Anything above the 5th floor should provide stunning views day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

At first glance we though we chose the worst hotel- no parking, hard to find place to leave the car and get to the reception with luggage. The hotel itself average a bit old fashioned. Next day morning however we realised it was a perfect place for sightseeing in Malaga, with very good breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
660 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel is disapointing the the first sight - no parking space; very, very small lobby, reception service poor, rooms require refurbishing. But after one day and city tour You can see that hotel is not such bad: close to the beach and shopping area, pleaced at trhe most beautiful park in Malaga, closest hotel to castle hill, nice restaurant (Los Delphinos) in the neihghbourhood.
I think that it is really good choice in Malaga.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice room, good bathroom. Parking is an issue but the hotel arranged for a discount at a local underground car park (€18 p.d).
Lots of cafés and bars in the area.
Good breakfast.
Thanks again to the staff for all your help!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KayKayTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed one night early November. Quick and friendly at reception. Had asked for a quiet room and were allocated one overlooking the bullring which was indeed quiet. Very adequate size and excellent bed and bathroom, nicely clean. Arrived quite late, very good vegetarian salad in the restaurant. Pleasant walk round the port area after meal and before bed. After an excellent breakfast walked round the castle and alcazaba just up from the hotel next morning , lunch at the hotel then taxi to car hire. Nothing to fault it for a short stay apart from lack of tea-making facility in the room, but this seems quite typical in this area.

Room Tip: Quiet at the back overlooking the bullring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great hotel with lovely colleagues we were well looked after
The hotel was in a great location for all the local shops and resturants only 10 mins to the port and five minutes to the beach would use this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing