We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It's very clean with a friendly staff and the location is wonderful. It's a couple of blocks to the beach, very close to great restaurants and the bull ring, a short walk to the port and not too far away from the old city. (Or you can take a cab for about 3 euros)
It took us about 30 minutes to walk here from the train station. There was a balcony in the room but the street was too loud to really enjoy it. There is a nice Jacuzzi, sauna and gym on the roof with a large terrace. The only complaint I have is that the hot water in the shower was a little unsteady -scalding hot to tepid and back to scalding.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from Malaga after staying at the MS Maenstranza and can't speak highly enough of the hotel. It was spotlessly clean the staff were great particularly Maria on the front desk, she was welcoming, friendlay and helpful. The hotel was well positoned for the beach, marina and the city centre all within easy walking distance.
Didn't eat at the Hotel for no other reason than we dined in the city however we did have cocktails there and they were amazing....
We will definately return to Malaga and will definately return to the MS Maenstranza...

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, the views are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nosnevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked via EasyJet with flights from our favourite Southend airport (Plane to car in twenty minutes).....

Somewhat chaotic EasyJet arranged transfer to Hotel. DO NOT USE THE TRANSFR OPTION..... Later realised public bus was by far best option and used that for return - 3 euro a head (compared to £17 for each transfer).....

This Hotel is perfectly sited for easy access to the town centre yet not in a noisy area. It once upon a time would have overlooked the whole harbour but another development has somewhat narrowed the view! Attached picture is what you get if facing the sea as opposed to overlooking the bull ring.

Our stay was totally trouble free. As mentioned in other reports it is on lower end of four star in image but was spotlessly clean, very friendly, room serviced each day with new towels, a reasonably priced minibar, free Wifi but no tea/coffee facilities. Restaurant was only used for Breakfast as Malaga offered so many choices for an evening meal in our short three night stay. Gluten Free seemed to be understood and GF provisions were readily available for Breakfast. Hot options were a little lack lustre and not as hot as they looked but fruit and cereals, toast etc was spot on.....

We would (and probably will) use it again.......

Room Tip: We asked for a non-smoking room overlooking the harbour - room on 8th floor allocated. Had small bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Maestranza in January earlier this year. We found it to be perfectly situated for our weekend break. We arrived by public transport/bus from the airport and alighted only metres from the hotel, which enjoys a commanding position overlooking the tree-lined Paseo Parque and Paseo Espana.

The receptionist was very friendly, spoke perfect English and was entirely helpful to us throughout our weekend stay.

Our room was nicely proportioned and well decorated and along with the bathroom, it was spotless and well equipped. The breakfast was very good indeed - hot and cold buffet style with plenty of choice.

The hotel is in a great spot. Just a pleasant stroll into the centre of Malaga and its many attractions, whilst Malaga's large beachfront can be accessed from the other end of Av. Canovas del Castillo just 150m away.

Our return flight was not until later on the Sunday evening and the hotel was happy to label and store our luggage, meaning we were free to enjoy a long afternoon in Malaga before we departed for the airport, again via the bus.

Malaga's a great city and we will certainly return to the Maestranza when we next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for one week from the end of May to the first week of June. Initial impressions - the entrance to the hotel is a very small one. I wouldn't describe it as a 4 star hotel from its decor. The room was a standard double and very basic. As other reviewers have pointed out, the shower and wifi are temperamental. The water in the shower went from hot, lukewarm, cold and back on a loop. The towels were standard rather than the thick, soft, fluffy towels you usually get in a 4 star hotel. The wifi disconnected a lot. The lifts were 'cosy' and slow moving to say the least! We stayed in a 4 star hotel in Seville and the staff, decor and bedroom were of the standard that we would expect from a standard 4 star hotel. However, if you can deal with it being more of a 3-3.5 star hotel (it doesn't scream luxury), then the positives will make up for the rest of your stay here.

The hotel staff were helpful and friendly (both at reception and in the spa). Some of the staff struggled to speak in English but were approachable and tried to be as helpful as possible (it seemed one lady at reception was the only multi-lingual staff). Luckily, I can speak some Spanish so it was not a huge problem. Upon arrival, we were given a welcome drink voucher at their hotel bar which was a nice touch. The lady at the spa reception (I think they have two staff there but I only spoke to the lady with short hair) was really lovely. I booked in for a 30 minute massage and it was very relaxing and ironed out some knots in my back and legs! She also gave me some tips to stretch out my neck as the muscles there were particularly tense from my day job at the computer.

The room was basic but clean. I noticed that the covering bed sheet had a few holes from what seemed like cigarettes, and the curtains also had some tears and holes in. There were no chairs on the balcony so we pulled the room chairs through onto the balcony instead. However, we requested to be on a higher floor to have better views and away from the lifts. We had no trouble with noise and had a great view of the Paseo del Parque, Alcazaba, Gibralfaro castle, Muelle Uno and marina (we were on the highest floor of bedrooms, 12th floor - the top floor is the gym, jacuzzi, sauna, treatment room and sun roof). I used the jacuzzi there which was fab and if you go onto the sun roof, you get a really good view of the bullring which is right behind the hotel.

Location - absolutely brilliant. 2 minutes walk from the Malagueta beach when you turn left out of the hotel entrance. I was recommended by a friend to dine at the La Moraga restuaurant which is right next to the beach but there were so many amazing places to eat, we couldn't fit them all in and we wanted to be in the centre to have a few more drinks (whereas it is quieter at the beach end). There are some small convenience stores also to the left of the hotel but a bigger supermarket 'Super Sol' which is off the main road to your left (think it is the second or third left), and a pharmacy opposite the hotel. You can walk along the marina (2 minutes walk from hotel) or walk through the Paseo del Parque which is a gorgeous park/boulevard for 10 minutes and reach the main shopping street, and as you follow this main street, keep going to La Plaza de Constitucion - Cafe Central is here and is full of locals. Alternatively, if you walk on the street running parallel to the Paseo del Parque on the right-hand side and verge off, it only takes 5 minutes to walk to the Teatro Romano and there is a lovely square with bars and restaurants 'La Plaza' and 'El Pimpi' the latter is very popular amongst both locals and tourists). There is also a restaurant called 'Uvedoble' which you need to keep your eyes open for - it is small but if you arrive at the opening time (8pm) you can easily get a table and it serves wonderful tapas and has received recommendations from the broadsheet newspapers. Out of all the high-end tapas restaurants, this came out the cheapest which was very surprising given the top quality of the food. Other restaurants we recommend - El Tapeo de Cervantes (brilliant, friendly and top notch desserts) and Asako - Feel Food (as a break from tapas).

We also recommend going on a bike tour with Malaga Bike tours by Kay Farrell (off a side street right next to the Tourist Information Centre at the end of the Paseo del Parque). We wished we had done it earlier during our stay but we found out about it a bit later. The tour takes 4 hours and costs 25 Euros per person. It includes a free drink at a beach bar and overall, the 4 hours went quickly and we found out some fun facts too. It took us to most of the main attraction sites and we had some tips on other places to visit. We went back to the market the next day as we enjoyed it so much. There is a tapas place to the left of the market near the entrance and the food was incredibly fresh and delicious. Also recommend churros and chocolate at Casa Aranda - two streets along from the market.

On a street between the Teatro Romano and Catedral, there is a corner cafe/restaurant called El Jardin. Apparently they specialise in paellas - it was delicious but the service was rubbish.

The Gibralfaro castle is a fairly steep climb - wear a hat if you are going in the peak of the sunshine! Note that the last entry is 7.30pm - some people climbed up there only to be turned away. It takes about 20-25 minutes to walk up to the castle. The views were stunning.

Overall - Hotel MS Maestranza is perfect in its location. Not the 4 star we expected but it did not put a dampener on our Malaga city break in the slightest. Also, as a sidepoint - we didn't have breakfast at the hotel but read here that there is a cafe/bakery underneath the hotel next to the hotel entrance. They do delicious pastries for breakfast and is also a restaurant until 9pm. We only had breakfast there and I really enjoyed the churros and chocolate. It seems family-run and all of them were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts and choose a higher floor for a better view. You can request a view of the '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GMo_TripAdvises_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night city break and found the location very good . A 5 minute walk to the town and 2 minutes to the marina one way and the beach the other.
Our room was on the 6th floor at the corner and had part views of the marina the beach and Cathedral in the distance. The room itself was not large but reasonably well- furnished--only draw back there were no balcony seats and we had to take chairs out from the room. It is at a busy road near a roundabout but when the balcony doors and curtains were closed at night it was reasonably quiet. Fridge and safe were provide without charge The sun terrace at the top of the hotel is an added bonus for relaxing --we did not sample the Jacuzzi or the gym. The breakfast were more than adequate with good selection of fruits, breads, cold table and some hot food.
The hotel was clean & well presented with friendly reception staff--don't be put off by the entrance which is at the side.

Room Tip: A high room from floor 6 up is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TempyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here May 19th to 28th. First point to note how welcoming, helpful and informative the reception staff were especially Maria and Jose, but all on reception were very good.

Stayed at the front on the 7th floor. Good views of both sea, cathedral and castle. The balcony was over a quite busy road but once the door was closed we couldn't hear any noise in the room.
Rooms were well decorated with separate sitting sofa and table, air conditioner x 2, Jacuzzi bath/shower all spotlessly cleaned everyday to a very high standard.
Had breakfast at the hotel twice and one evening meal there and ordered room service once too (so many great restaurants at the marina 100metres away we mainly dined there or at the beach also about 100 metres away ).Breakfast prices were €14 each but considering variety of food, fruit and endless coffees it wasn't too pricey.
Evening food quality was good but one off the staff members there wasn't the friendliest person around, but maybe we caught him on a bad day or two. But all other staff encountered were great.
On the roof terrace there are sun loungers, small gym, Spa and small Jacuzzi and sauna. Roof terrace has great views of harbour beach, castle, cathedral and bullring.
Malaga itself is a very clean place with rarely any litter about whether in town, harbour or on the beach.
Summary great hotel we will return to Malaga and will happily book the MS Maestranza again.
Only minor negative comment found the beds a little bit hard but soon got used to it.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter, one side facing bullring and castle road is quieter than front. Side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,272 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,135 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
620 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £68 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing