We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Hotel has an excellent location near the Bullring and from the rooftop spa and sun-lounge you can see all the main sights of Malaga. Ask for a room with a view over the mountains and bullring, because although the other side of the hotel faces the port, few rooms have a view of it and you will probably end up facing the buildings across the busy street.
The rooms are beautifully decorated on a Picasso theme. The soundproofing is very good and you could hardly tell you were in the centre of Malaga. Most of the main tourist attractions are within walking distance and the Malaga City Tour bus stops just behind the hotel. There are a number of restaurants around the hotel area and a 10- minute stroll through the park takes you to the main pedestrianised area of quality shopping and a wide range of bars and restaurants all within an atmospheric, car-free area. All very convenient.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a carpark (pay per day) nearby, but you are better off without a car as the town is very busy.
The hotel has a small entranceway and could easily be missed. We drove past it a few times trying to find it. The hours when the gym/spa opens are very limited (late afternoon) and it seems to be very under-used.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neilsong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

Hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes walk both from the city centre and the beach. Spacious clean rooms.
Staff has a "can do" attitude, all problems are resolved quickly.
There seems to be some issue with the wi-fi, which is available in the rooms and free, but the signal is so weak we could rarely enjoy uninterrupted connection. The staff was unable to identify the reason.

Great view over the port and the old castle from the rooms facing the road. These however tend to be noiser.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpyGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Very adequate hotel with nice staff. There were many small problems that negatively impacted our stay. The ventilation system was crude and the client's choice is to bake in the heat or freeze with the AC. None of our group had any luck with the thermostat. The internet was a joke. While it is true they have wireless, it is poorly designed, poorly managed and not usable. The staff denies a problem exists despite a dozen people standing around complaining about it. ALso, their gym is open from 9 am until 6 pm. Not sure who could use it during those hours but they are certainly more fit that we are given that it had no early morning hours. On a positive note, the food was very good and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaroldSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions (and work colleagues now stay here too) and it has always been of the same high standard. Super-clean, rooms modern and a good size. Free safe in room and TV with a number of channels. The staff are efficient, friendly and welcoming. The bar/restaurant area has beautiful views over the Cathedral and castle and those are stunning at night and the staff are great and always smiling. The location is perfect for walking in and around Malaga city as well as the beach area, the Castle is across the road and the Bullring right next door. Hotel downside: no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. My tip: if you are driving pre-book your parking with the hotel (a small discount) and they will park your car and return it to you when you leave. (getting into the public parking is somewhat complicated!!)

Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We wanted a few days away in the sun in a city enviroment but with a beach. The hotel Maestranza is very well located as the beach is just a short stroll and the city centre with its good shopping, museums, etc is about a 10 minute walk through a park. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Our room was a good size and it had a large balcony with superb views over the port and city centre. The breakfast in the hotel was good with an excellent variety of hot and cold food. If you are looking for a city centre break with a beach I would highly recommend this hotel and Malaga.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilipPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I wasn't going to bother with a review seeing as it would only re-iterate what others here have written about the Maestranza.And I booked my stay here on the strength of said reviews.
Just to point out really that the staff are very, very nice.The rooms are gorgeous and clean.My balcony looked down on the corrida at the back of the hotel.Beautiful!
The food in the restaurant was tasty and fresh and the service was friendly, prompt and relaxed.
The roof-top spa is a lovely place to relax for an afternoon if you're not in the mood for town or the beach.I had a rotten journey getting here so I had a body massage and my body thanked me for it!
The immediate vicinity is a pleasant suburb of small shops and businesses and many good bars, restaurants and nightclubs.In fact after a day I didn't really bother going into town anymore.It's all on the doorstep.(The nightclub in the basement of the hotel is interesting..)
My board was €75/night but didn't include the breakfast which was well worth the €6 I paid for it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Staff provided very friendly service, which was really relaxing given that service in Spain can at times be shockingly rude. Room was very good. Housekeeping was excellent. Our view was excellent. The location was amazing: very short walk to the beach, close to main attractions, and the walk to the main shopping centre is through a gorgeous park adjacent to the hotel. The only big downside was the Internet connection - it was terrible. A slight downside was the lack of a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThunderGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,232 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing