We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monte Victoria
Ranked #9 of 35 Malaga B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel is 15/20 mins up the hill from the centre of Malaga town, this is a good thing you are in a quiet place within half a mile of the centre. Victoria who runs the Hotel gave us a list of local restaurants and recommended several which were good. Seignior Juan , Victoria's Father manned reception when she was off duty, it turned out that the Lady who did breakfast was her Mum. A real family affair. The breakfast is 9€ extra but we thought is was worth it as everything although simple was the best of stuff, served on the terrace . Again it is worth paying slightly more for a superior room , as only two rooms have balconies, and the view over the Gibralfaro/Alcazabar at night sitting on your balcony is beyond price.
The building itself is a very nice Spanish Villa which has been in the family for generations.
Malaga has great restaurants, lovely parks , a new harbour area full of shops ,restaurants & bars,great shopping in the centre of town, many museums & a nice beach. what's not to like,

Room Tip: Room 104 has a huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
58
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed in this sweet "hotel" set in a quiet district above Malaga for 3 nights in September 2013. It was everything I wanted in a hotel and more! Clean, spacious rooms with modern baths and amenities. A pretty breakfast terrace overlooking the city. Refined, graceful sitting area. Lovely and charming hosts (this is a family owned and managed place). Safe area and very good value for the traveller who likes something larger than a B&B but smaller than a big city hotel. Great for walkers too as it is located 20 minutes from the downtown area, Museu Picasso and the 11th-c Alcazaba Fortress. If you're in Malaga for a few days take a side trip to Nerja to visit the caves and the Balcon de Europa on the Mediterranean!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseClare9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I liked that you felt you were staying in a family home rather than an impersonal hotel. Its a bit of walk and quite steep but we knew that so were expecting it, we did find the directions a bit confusing from getting off the airport bus as we didnt realise we had to walk through the underpass but after that it was quite straightforward and using the steps was a shortcut. Comfortable room with good views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a charming room (104) with a lovely terrace overlooking the city and hotel garden. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, a handy fridge, and when we asked, Victoria gave us a kettle and cups. We stayed for 7 days during the exciting build up to Santa Semana with daily processions and a fabulous atmosphere in the city. The 10-15 minute stroll into the centre did not bother us and there are several friendly bars and restaurants in the immediate local area. Victoria and her family are most welcoming and the place is spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the hotel is plentiful and it is lovely to eat in the garden but we also enjoyed going out for breakfast on other days - iSamoa on the Compas de Victoria Square is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravesendPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful house on the hillside overlooking the city centre. The location is peaceful, the owners helpful and the rooms are spotlessly clean and attractively decorated, Guests can use the elegant sitting room and attractive patio garden.
It might not be ideal if you have difficulty walking, as it's a 20 minute uphill walk from the centre of the city (though there is an hourly bus during part of the day and taxis are quite cheap). However like other reviewers I enjoyed the walking.
Breakfast is quite expensive at 9 euros, but the quality is very good. A little more choice wouldn't have come amiss.
All in all a delightful place to stay if you are in Malaga.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden and the city view are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed there in December. It took us a while to get there from the train station as it is not close to city centre. But we asked many people and the bus driver so we got there eventually. The views from the hotel were really nice because it is on a hill. So that was really good if you are interested din views. The room was nice and clean. We also had a great balcony. The downsides were that it was really cold in the room at night in december. This might sound surprising because in Malaga it is mostly warm. But we were just unlucky and that night was very cold, although during the day it was warm again. The air conditioning we had wasn't enough to heat the room at night and it would have been too noisy anyway. It can be a problem that these old houses don't have central heating. We wanted to have breakfast at the hostel but it was impossible. Even if you are willing to pay the very high price for a breakfast (9 euros, compared to any breakfast in any bar in malaga, that is 3 euros), they had no vegetarian options. The beds were ok, but small and not very comfortable. The pillows weren't great either. The people at the hostel were friendly and mostly helpful. Next time will choose something closer to city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I read the reviews for this hotel and planned to stay there for a weekend in February. The cost of our stay was taken from my husband's account 2 weeks before we were due to go. Very sadly my husband died unexpectedly and so I had to cancel. Despite my sending a scanned copy of the death certificate, the hotel refused to pay a refund. I think this displays a very uncaring, callous attitude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,907 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Victoria

Property: Hotel Monte Victoria
Address: Calle Conde de Urena 58, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monte Victoria Hotel is situated in the centre of the town on the top of the Mount Victoria, in front of the Mount of Gibralfaro, where the castle with the same name is. It has an excellent view over the city, in a quiet area with space for walking between trees and where its good equipped rooms will help you to feel at home. Opened in March 2003, it is an old family Villa of 1940 that has been restored for becoming a hotel keeping its smart appearance. It has been restored too the old furniture and all the old ornamental things that had belonged to the owners' family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Victoria Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing