We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting an understanding of old Andalucia”

Museo de Artes y Costumbres Populares
Ranked #35 of 206 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Getting an understanding of old Andalucia”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This Museum is a wonderful introduction into the culture, life-style, agriculture and history of Malaga and Andalucia before modern times. I only visited this historic house at the end of a 4-month stay in Malaga and it broadened my understanding of the area considerably. I spent 2 hours all by myself in there and thought it was fantastic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank European-inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    82
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second best museum in Malaga”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Part of Andalucia in modern city. Big collection related to peasant everyday life. Careful reconstruction of oil production place, smith, dining room, spanish kitchen, etc. House itself is very beatiful and have nice patio. Strongly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
279 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“The museo de artes y costumbres populates is a step back into the 19th Century”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had tried before to go here but it had been closed.This time for our 4 euro fee we were the only visitors.The old posters of the Malaga Fair and the poets room were my favourites.Children would love it here, but the religious art is perhaps a bit too dark for younger kids.The old Posada which houses the museum, is perhaps the best highlight of all.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank IJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,570 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,099 helpful votes
“A View of Malaga's Past”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Museo de Artes Populares is an ethnographic museum that shows the culture of Malaga from the past. The building has a beautiful patio covered with trees and plants. There are beautiful posters of the past that announced the Malaga Fair. There are samples of the art on boxes that was used to sell raisins. There are old costumes, a collection of dolls, plenty of religious art, and many small figurines. This museum is worth seeing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Museo de Artes y Costumbres Populares is a must see while you are in Malaga. It will tell you the story of how people leaved in the 19th century in the area. The house that hosts the museum along with exhibits is great. The museum is situated close to Malaga Central market and by the river bed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank STRBr2ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo de Artes y Costumbres Populares also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Museo de Artes y Costumbres Populares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing