We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great way to start a holiday”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent a lovely night here before moving on for the main part of our holiday elsewhere on the Costa Del Sol. It was cheaper to fly on the Friday and stay overnight in this hotel rather than fly on the Saturday and go direct to our main accommodation - an extra bonus day that saved us money and broke up the travelling!

The location is perfect in regards to its proximity to the airport, which is just a 5-10 minute drive away, but apart from that it is not somewhere you are likely to want to spend more than a day or two at. It is basically in a residential area - I suspect it was once a single, decent sized residence that has been converted in to a charming only with a dozen or so rooms. You are only a few minutes from the beach and a couple of restaurants but beyond that there is relatively little in the area.

The hotel though is very pleasant. The rooms are stylishly fitted out and all have their own different feel (we had two rooms and they were different from each other but both very nice - although we did have a few issues with the coffee maker!). The staff are pleasant and the pool was very welcome after our flight to Spain.

There is a small bar there but don't expect too much in terms of range - however the prices were surprisingly reasonable to say they could charge pretty much anything as there are not many other options. Breakfast was exceptional. A help yourself, eat all that you want affair that really got us set and ready before we moved on.

We didn't pay much to stay here and thought it was worth every penny - and indeed a few more. We would certainly visit again if we needed another stop over (especially if flying a day in advance can save us money like it did on this occasion).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesE_lappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    111
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
152
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed here twice now (both times for just 1 night before an early flight home). The location is 10 or so mins from Malaga airport so it's ideal for that. The accommodation is fairly uninspiring but adequate, the real beauty of this place is the lovely garden area which has a decent pool and sun loungers. It's surprisingly quiet considering it's close to the motorway. The beach is a 10 min walk, but it's a bit bleak really. There is one of those beach restaurants which (unsurprisingly!) serves great fish, although you do pay Malaga prices. There's also an Italian just 2 mins from the hotel, which serves decent pizza! On the whole, I think the hotel is an ideal stopover for flights and is probably fine as a base for Malaga exploring, but I wouldn't rate it as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karlywarlyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, U.K.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked a night here as we had an early flight the next morning - what a lovely surprise! It's a one-storey bungalow-style building set in delightful gardens located in a quiet residential suburb. There's a pool with sunbeds and it's only when relaxing on these that you're aware of the airport's close proximity - good for planespotters! Once inside one of the very nice comfortable rooms, aircraft noise isn't a problem. The staff were delightful, taking the time to explain the route to the airport which is barely five minutes away. We needed to leave before breakfast was officially available but we asked the night before and were allowed in 20 minutes early the following morning. The only drawback is that the hotel does not offer an evening meal but we found a very nice restaurant within walking distance. To cap it all, the cost to stay here is extremely reasonable. I'd recommend this hotel without reservation and it would be my first choice if I needed a hotel near Malaga airport again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Tigertone2000Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As the previous review says, this is an ideal base for a couple of nights at the start or end of a holiday. It's just ten minutes from the airport and is easy to find. The area is quiet and safe to walk around. We caught the bus into Malaga (1.3 euros) from the stop a couple of streets away.

The hotel itself is pleasantly furnished, with a lovely garden and pool area at the back. Although not large, our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, and had a reasonably sized bathroom.
There is a small breakfast room overlooking the garden and there was a good choice of breads, meats, cheese etc., together with some cooked bacon and fried eggs. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful with information about the bus and local restaurants.

I would certainly consider this hotel again when visiting this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a lovely small hotel in a pleasant residential area near the airport. It is a short walk from the beach, a small supermarket and a couple of chiringuitos. A lovely place to spend a night or 2 at the start or end of a holiday. Not badly placed for seeing Malaga, although it is a bit a bus ride. There was minimal aircraft noise, surprisingly.

Reserved parking is available, but not remotely necessary. There was plenty of space in the streets.

The rooms are lovely. Simple and tasteful with everything you could want. The garden is peaceful and charming with a good sized pool.

My only minor quibble was that the breakfast was a bit uninspiring, especially at 8 euros. A minor upgrade of the quality of everything would have made all the difference

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSofiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet well designed single level, L shaped property, set around a large lawn and swimming pool. Parking is on the street which seems fairly quiet and residential. Access is flat from the car to the room. Checking in was easy but fairly disinterested. The room was a good size. Upkeep of the room was not great - loose curtaining, safe not secured in fixture and bathroom with loose fittings. Local area is residential with a 6 to 700 metre walk to local beach area where we had a good meal at one of the two beach BBQ fish places. Breakfast room is nice but lacks atmosphere with no interaction or presence at all by a host or hostess.
In summary a clean pleasant place to stay if you need to be close to the airport at Malaga. If you don't need to be near the airport then there are probably better cheaper options.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Extremely good value. Stayed here for one night on the way back to the UK and to be in time for an early flight. Easy to find in the middle of a quiet location. The beach is 7 minutes away and is absolutely awful. However, not to worry, the bungalow styled hotel has a beautiful pool, jacuzzi and sun beds all circling an immaculate lawn. The rooms all step out onto either the front lawn or the back lawn and are very big. Good bathroom facilities, free coffee and excellent wifi strength.
There are a coupe of restaurants down the road. It's great for a quick stop over either end of the holiday,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#22 of 88 in Malaga
483 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,860 reviews
Parador de Malaga Golf
#16 of 88 in Malaga
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Hotel Picasso

Property: Malaga Hotel Picasso
Address: C/ Acacias de Guadalmar, 153 | Guadalmar Beach, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#17 Family Hotel in Malaga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaga Hotel Picasso 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Malaga Hotel Picasso is a charming hotel located in the Guadalmar beach of Malaga city.Surrounded by a quiet residential area, Malaga Hotel will give you peace of mind that you want for holidays and for business travel.Malaga Hotel Picasso is a perfect place for visiting the historic centre and museums (at 5 km), but also the main cities of Andalusia like Granada, Cordoba, Ronda, Torremolinos, Marbella, and the white villages such as Mijas.The bus line N# 10 takes you to the city centre. Beach hotel in Malaga town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malaga Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel málaga
Malaga Hotel Picasso Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing