We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food, staff, spotlessly clean - has it all!”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just got back today from staying at Molina Lario and have only great things to say about it. We were able to check in early at 12.30 as the room was ready, which was great. The room was spotlessly clean and it was a standard room but had a mini bar, coffee/tea facilties and free bottle of water on arrival. Hairdryer, bath robes and slippers-all toiletries. IPOD doc, tv (we were in a standard room )
It is in the best location possible - out of our window we had the cathedral on the left and the sea on the right.
Taxi from airport - 20 euro's ( looked for bus but would have had to wait 30 mins, then a 25 minute or more journey-depending on which one you take) we didn't want to waste any time as we were only there for a few days so 20 euros was worth it. Taxi rank opposite hotel for return home.
Breakfast was lovely and we got it for half the price-choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fry up, loads of cold meats/cheeses and they will cook omelettes to order or churros and more. different breads/rolls/toast/pastries - a real treat! Staff just let you get on with it, no breathing down your neck or hanging about.
The only slight disappointment for us was the roof top pool was closed for work but we were allowed to use the AC palacio Malaga hotel opposite's pool - which is much bigger ( Molina Lario is a small pool and I wanted to swim), so it actually worked out in our favour. I especially picked a hotel with a pool as I love swimming so you may be disappointed with it if you want to do a few lengths and it looked like you could only fit a few sunbeds around it.

I would definitely go back to this hotel- the staff are brilliant also - great service, clean rooms.best position possible, great food- it has the whole works. The ladies cleaning the rooms were really good at what they do-it is pristine and our decor looked like it had just been painted.
I would without a doubt return and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, choose an internal room. It didn't bother us as we didn't sleep till 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debo66buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed there 2 nights, at the beginning of our Andalusia trip. Very good location, close to all major attractions and plenty of restaurants nearby to choose for dinner. Deluxe room that we booked was specious, included a king size bed, good quality bathroom amenities and Whiskey as a welcome drink. Our rate included breakfast, which we definitely recommend. It was best quality breakfast we enjoyed during the trip. The only watchout is the size of breakfast room. Make sure you avoid rush hours. Unfortunately the roof pool was in renovation during our visit, so we didn't have a change to check it out.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room, incl. breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wbarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I originally booked the Molina Lario on Hotels.com three months before my arrival date because of the central location in Malaga and pictures which presented the hotel in a good light. In retrospect, what a mistake.

Upon arrival, I was told by the receptionist that my reservation would not be honored. Despite the fact that they chose to overbook the hotel for a special event (Spanish film festival group), they chose to add insult to injury by insulting my intelligence. They blamed the overbooking on a “computer problem.” They offered us a room across the street in a deteriorating hotel that reeked of cigarette smoke and was not as nice.

Since I am a Hotels.com “Fivestar member” and loyal customer I called the 800 number and explained the situation to them. They spoke to the receptionist and she continued to claim that the computers were the root issue and would not accomodate us in any way. Hotels.com completely refunded our money for the inconvenience. However, we were stuck with the substandard hotel.

Since I would not want anyone else to experience this same disrespect and inconvenience I officially requested that Molina Lario be removed from Hotel.com list of hotels and that this request be referred to the highest level of management for review.

To date, I have not heard the final outcome, but hopefully the hotel will be removed from the hotel.com site so that no one else who uses the site will be disappointed. As for anyone else who finds this hotel by other means, be prepared to be shuttled to another hotel if a better deal comes along despite the fact that you booked three months prior.

But hey, if that happens just know they’ll make sure they insult your intelligence by blaming the overbooking on the “computer” and you’ll get some cheesy halfhearted attempt at an apology with two teeny tiny bottles of cheap wine (the kind of bottles they serve on airplanes) and some gummy bear candies.

I haven't been treated this shabilly in a long time. Worst customer service I have run into yet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TravelQueen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We can only apologize for your bad experience in our Hotel. We are very conscious that when someone is travelling is very uncomfortable that once you arrive at the Hotel that you booked, the Hotel decides to give you a room in another place. Overbooking is not our police, however, in this occasion, due to a computer error, we were obliged to accommodate you to another hotel. Because we really worry about our guests, we decide to change you to the Hotel which it is located just in front of our Hotel, and have the same category of ours, 4 starts. We are really sorry, if you didn’t fell comfortable in the AC Hotel.

We would like to know you that we take comments about your staff very seriously, and for us is very important that our guest fell completely welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great location, a deal with the breakfast, often upgrades are available if you book direct and really good staff, parking underneath the hotel is ideal. I love Malaga and studied here years ago, the Molina is really well located and closer to 5 star than 4. Grab yourself a bargain before everyone else finds out. I have stayed here three times now and apart from the bar prices its exceptional on all fronts, most of all you are a few minutes away from central Malaga and its fantastic nightlife.

Room Tip: Just stay here its ace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

4 Star comfort, with friendly staff, ideally situated for the Old Town of Malaga - excellent Restaurants and old buildings .

Room Tip: 4th floor - some lifts still require you to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night pre cruise, hotel is really good, room was bright,spacious and spotless! We were two adults and two kids and there was lots of space! The staff were excellent and very helpful! Definitely would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hals19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the ML and want to express what a great hotel this is. Combine that fact with the location, and you are all set. The hotel is ultra clean, has superb accommodations, and a good breakfast. It has everything!
The rooftop pool is an added attraction that puts this hotel above very good.
Do not hesitate to use the ML hotel should you be heading to Malaga

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no818528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,272 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
571 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £93 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing