We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of cool and calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis of cool and calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Molina Lario for four nights in August. The city was very busy as it was Feria time. It was wonderful to leave the chaos and heat of the city streets and walk into the Hotel. Our room was beautifully calm and cool. We were not disturbed at all by noise from the street as other reviewers have mentioned. In fact I found myself opening the window to enjoy the buzz from the streets. The Hotel is in a great spot, right near all the main attractions. We enjoyed the rooftop bar most evenings - we managed to tuck ourselves away on the lower deck and enjoy the sun setting on the cathedral and the sounds of the city below. Helpful reception staff who lent us an travel adaptor as we had forgotten ours. Spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intermilanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    668
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
239
1,016
63
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I would stay here again only because of the location. You really can't beat it. And thankfully, I didn't spend too much time in the hotel since it wasn't so special. Clean, yes. Great views, yes. But worst service ever. When I asked for suggestions on where to wine and dine, they recommended the hotel restaurant - and provided no other suggestions. Additionally, they just watched me unload the car and drag my bags into the lobby - they didn't even get up to hold the door open. If they weren't located in such a prime spot, I would never recommend this hotel. However, the location made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Awesome location for the Feria de Malaga, staff were very helpful, room was perhaps our favourite of the trip so far with an attic-style feel to it, and the balcony was excellent giving us a view of the cathedral. Breakfast was lovely, but would agree with other reviewers about the rooftop bar being a bit expensive and the pool is extremely small - during the day there is no bar service at the bar though, you have to phone down to room service to bring up drinks. Would happily stay here again and would definitely recommend others to do so as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungUnprofessionals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Molina Lario met my expectations for a perfect hotel – we stayed four fantastic nights.

The location, close to the harbour and the historic centre was ideal for a holiday break. The hotel decor is contemporary and in excellent condition. The reception staff were friendly and efficient whilst allowing guests their own space. (I detest hotels where I have to wrestle my bags from a porter who is determined to carry my bag to the room whether I want him to or not).

Our room was spacious, the air-conditioning was quiet but effective. The bed was large and comfortable, the mini-bar well-stocked. The daily housekeeping service was faultless and our room was kept impeccably clean.

We heard hardly any noise at all. Opening the windows, there was a lot of bustle from the open air restaurants in the street below (Calle de la Bolsa), however, with the windows shut we heard nothing.

Being really picky, there were three areas for improvement. First, the kettle didn't work but this was replaced within minutes of contacting the front desk. Second, it took a few minutes for the water from the hot tap to come up to temperature. And thirdly, the shower gel and shampoo containers are tall and thin so they tip over easily – and why is the labelling in such a tiny font size that you need to put on your glasses to identify which is which?

We found the eighth floor pool bar a fantastic oasis of calm and the perfect place to enjoy an evening drink whilst taking in the fantastic views. Amazing, the drinks prices were pretty reasonable – especially so when taking into account the fabulous location.

There is a wide choice of restaurants in the streets around the hotel.

Room Tip: Very happy with a room overlooking Calle de la Bolsa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great location, nice rooftop pool and bar and good service in the reception. Very quiet at night even with the summer feria going on. We have stayed at the AC Palacio before, but will choose Molina Lario again.

Room Tip: High floors are less noisy, floor six and higher is guaranteed to be in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here with my wife and son, got an extra bed put in the room at no extra cost, breakfast very good, lots to choose from, they will make you additional item FOC if you ask them. Staff very pleasent, bit expensive at the pool bar at night 2 beers €13. Photo of pool on the hotel site makes it look bigger that it really is, Michael Phelps would be a bit dissapointed swimming lenghts of this pool, that said its ok to jump in to after soaking in the sun....

All in all very good

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night end of July en route to other destinations. Well managed reception area, rooftop pool, convenient for the shops. Not sure it rates its high ranking on TA but then I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Malaga for comparison, certainly we didn't find it anything special. Loud live music that went on until late. Good choice at breakfast. No space in the hotel car park so we had to park away which was a concern but everything was OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing