We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is in a great location - close to the sea, within walking district of the bus and train stations and the central district. A great base to see the sights. The rooms were a good size and very clean and well serviced. friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4chillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

extremely well located for exploring the town. Close to all shops and restaurants.

Staff helpful and it proved to be a comfortable, value for money hotel for a 'city' stay.

The only 'down' side was the price of breakfast! a bit on the pricey side for two of you, if you opt for a full breakfast, Although 'expensive' it tasted delicious!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in November 2012. We had booked it as it was the no 1 hotel on Tripadvisor at the time and we wished to be central. It was an expensive hotel and if we were going again we would probably look at another hotel with a better price as we didn;t feel it was entirely justified. The hotel is very central, right next to the port and the cathedral so its a brilliant location for sightseeing and shopping. We had a room with a small balcony on the 5th floor overlooking the street below. It was a beautiful room with a large bed, bathrobes, slippers etc - everything I would expect for the money. The only issue was the bed was extremely hard, I would have struggled to get any sleep. Thankfully the staff were extremely helpful and within a couple of hours of arrival had remade the bed with a very comfy mattress topper which made everything very comfortable.
The hotel is mainly business use so didn't have the atmosphere of a holiday hotel or one with many tourists either.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel which we only did because the helpful receptionist saw the look on our faces when she said it was an additional 17 euro each for breakfast(!) and then gave us it for 17 euro for both of us. I would have been disapointed to have paid full price, not because there was anything wrong with the breakfast, but just that neither myself or my partner ever feel like having a large breakfast. There was little of the hot breakfast selection, just some scrambled egg and bacon. Lovely fruit selection, muffins etc and if you enjoy smoked salmon, cheeses and meats at breakfast then it would certainly be worth the money.#
All in all, I would recommend the hotel. Great service from reception staff, lovely room, great location. I am sure in the summer the rooftop pool area would be lovely too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony, the ones that don't are often interior courtyard facing window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMolinaLario, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you find our Hotel a good choice for its location, in the center of Malaga. During November, our rates are higher than other seasons because there are more meetings in the city, but during the year we have some special promotions and our guest is more leisure than business.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are coming back to our city.

Sincerely,


Núria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We were booked into the hotel at the end of our tour of Andalucia with another couple. It was the most luxurious of all the hotels that week, but did have the feeling of a business hotel. The travel company chose the hotel for us because of its central location, which was perfect. For a small extra fee we upgraded our rooms, which were extremely comfortable and spacious. We were able to park the car at the hotel and explore the area by foot.
We found the staff very helpful. There was an excellent choice of food at breakfast.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Recently spent two night at this hotel prior to a transatlantic cruise. The hotel offers a very good location. The first room assigned only had a window offering very little view to the pediestrian street below. We asked for a better room and were then provided with a room with two large windows/doors that opened to a very small balcony that provided a really good view of the street below. Much better than the first room. The only complain I have about the hotel is the cost of breakfast which is offered at 17euros per person.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMolinaLario, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mrs. Didasse,
We would like to thank you for writing your comments in Tripadvisor. For us it is very important to know the opinions of our guests in order to improve every day.
We read that the price of the breakfast was quite expensive, but we think that we have a very large buffet breakfast with many options, hot and cold dishes available and prepared by our Chef at the same moment.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the next visit.
Sincerely

Núria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed at ML with my husband for three nights in September 2012. My overall impression is of a business oriented hotel with a beautiful reception area, however the staff were not welcoming or friendly.

The hotel is very well situated for the historical part of town and the views of the cathedral from the roof-top pool are fabulous.

The room was OK but not special enough to justify the price. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was pretty but the overall effect was spoiled by teh battered old waste bin next to the bidet. The bed was very comfortable but pillows were of lumpy foam. We had requested a double bed which we got, and a room with a view which we didn't! When we queried this at reception the staff said they were full and couldn't move us.

One of the selling points for us when choosing a hotel for a city break is tea and coffee making facilities in room. The web site for Molina Lario states this is available at this hotel. What the web site doesn' tell you is that the hotel provides enough milk for only one hot drink for each guest per 24 hours. There is a notice which tells you that if you want more you can BUY supplies from housekeeping. I felt this was just plain mean! At these prices surely they could at least allow us morning tea and a bed time drink!!

So as I said, OK but not special enough to justify the stars or the price. Will I stay again next time I am in Malaga? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the port or the cathedral....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toshi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMolinaLario, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks you for your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are really sorry about your bad experience. We would like to know that we take comments about our staff very seriously.
We would like to apologize for not changing you the room but, sometimes, when the Hotel is fully booked it is impossible to change rooms, although we would like to do it if the guest is not happy with the room. Housekeeping department is changing the pillows that are not in perfect conditions, so we hope that after your comments the problem will be solved.
About the tea & coffee facilities we are going to check again this extra in order that our guests do not feel deceived.
Thanks again for your comments,
Sincerely,

Núria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Malaga and keep returning to ML. The views are incredible overlooking the harbour to the front and the cathedral to the rear. The staff are extremely helpful and allow me to leave my overnight bag in storage until I return. The rooftop pool is small but feels like a total indulgence as guests lounge around enjoying cocktails on huge white bean bags.
The rooms are modern sleek and well equipped, with lovely touches such as fluffy towels, robes, toothbrushes and shavers, as well as the usual conditioner etc. The hotel is easy to find, taxis can stop outside and in the middle of everything. The airport is a short trip away. be careful if you don't want a hotel breakfast, as my daughter popped in for a juice which I expected to pay for separately and we were charge for three breakfasts. It was soon sorted at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade we did and guess what? Always worth the question
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,353 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,160 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £99 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing