We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was simply the best - but...”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Was simply the best - but...”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have been fortunate to holiday in Malaga a few times and have always stayed at this hotel. The staff are lovely, and remember us from our previous visits, giving us a very warm welcome. In my previous reviews I have given this hotel 5/5, for location, rooms, breakfast, cleanliness, staff, service and rooftop pool. However, our experience during our last visit somewhat soured our holiday. The problem is the rooftop pool, previously one of the major plus points of the hotel. New management removed the sun beds and loungers and replaced them with seating, long benches large enough to seat 3 or 4 people, but if only 1 person is sitting, strangers will not sit down beside them and 'invade their space' especially whilst they are sun bathing. This results in even fewer seats being available. As a consequence of this, people are seat booking, puting towels on seats to reserve them, further lessening the seats available and causing bad feeling and arguements. Not every hotel in Malaga has a rooftop pool giving Molina Lario an edge in the market but this new management idea is taking that advantage away. Like most people travelling to Spain we go for the climate and the rooftop pool and loungers are an essential part of our hotel requirement, yes the beach isn't far but how nice is it to take the lift to the top floor and spend a relaxing time lying in the sun. Fighting over seats is not relaxing. I'm afraid this reduces my score to 4/5.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgeangusallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    694
    130
    35
    12
See reviews for
242
1,042
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. The room was clean and comfortable. Definitely worth the 10€ upgrade per night for a room with a balcony. Breakfast was a pretty good spread with eggs, bacon/sausage, mushrooms, various fruits and cheeses, cereals, breads, etc. The rooftop bar and pool is also excellent after a long day.

The only complaint I would have is the Internet service that the hotel provides which was terribly slow and nearly useless. I would stay again but make sure to bring extra MiFi devices due to slow and high latency Internet connection.

Room Tip: The rooms with a small balcony are great, especially with a view of the Cathedral. It was only 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dct_696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent our last night in Spain at this hotel before our flight from Malaga airport the following day. We had two cases plus loads of hand-luggage, so needed to park near to the hotel. Sat nav eventually got us there, but not easy as it is one-way streets and you have to do a circle past the Cathedral to get to the lab-by outside the hotel. We eventually arrived, but told no space to park in the hotel car park and we had to park in the public car park.

Hotel unloaded all our luggage, and then we had to drive to the car park. |Hotel gave us a map and full instructions of where to park. Car park seemed to be safe.

Hotel room very nice - we were given an inside-facing room on the 6th floor with a view of the clock on the Cathedral. Adequate room, very well equipped with king sized bed, side-table, tea and coffee, mini bar etc. Good bathroom and toiletries.

We found the hotel information book very useful - with full instructions as to what to do in case of fire - we were by the fire exit anyway.

Hotel staff very helpful, showed us where we wanted to go on the map etc.

Breakfast was very good. Nespresso coffee. Fresh fruit including fresh strawberries. Requested fried eggs, which were brought quickly to the table. Usual rubbish bacon - what is it in Spain - it is full of fat, swimming in grease, and tastes life shoe leather! Give the bacon a miss - but the bread rolls and croissants were warm. Orange juice was good - and plenty of that coffee.

Not a cheap hotel to stay, but it was central to the Cathedral and other tourist sights. All within walking distance.

Room Tip: We had an inside-facing room - would have preferred a view of something - even if it was the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spikeylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just returned from 7 days in the above Hotel. It's a first class Hotel, very clean everywhere. The rooms are excellent , well the superior room we had was great room 319. It was quiet and comfortable with excellent AC. The tea/coffee provided in the room is a bonus for Spanish Hotels. The bed is a little on the firm side, but still very comfortable, the pillows excellent, you have a choice of 4 different types of pillows. We only ate breakfast in the Hotel, it was a little disappointing for choice, only 3 cereals and 2 fruit juices, about average. The restaurant at busy times is chaotic round the food, very limited space. The Hotel itself is surrounded with restaurants, although my Wife and I liked the restaurants down by the harbour which is beautiful all along there. For shopping you couldn't get better, just round the corner from the Hotel. All the staff were very pleasant. Would we go back to this Hotel??? DEFINITELY YES.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent 2 days here recently. It is a comfortable hotel and they had a 2 for the price of one deal on the breakfast, which was excellent. The staff are helpful but not friendly, which is ok because everything seems to work well. I would surely stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirsty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have just returned from one night at the Molina Lario, my first time in Malaga city. To say that I was amazed by the place is an understatment.
Firstly the hotel is great, a fantastic four star hotel in what must truly be one of the best locations in the city. Our room was so bright and airy with two full size terrace doors leading out onto two balconys overlooking an idyllic paved street with a wide range of cafes, tapas bars and restaurants - and this was all just the street our room overlooked - the entire place is exactly the same.
To revert to the room and the hotel, we didn't eat there at all but that was purely because there was so much choice outside and we were only staying one night. There was a very nice bar and restaurant with outside seating. Another fantastic feature is the La Piscina rooftop pool area and bar which is set on two roof levels and really comes alive at night time with stunning night scenes and a great buzz, full of locals enjoying their Friday night apres work drinks.
The room was an ok size with a nice sofa at the end of the bed, nice bathroom also and the two terraces - definitely the nicest feature.
Malaga itself however just blew me away, I just felt happy there wandering the streets, it is an absolute gem of a place, most people fly into Malaga Airport and don't realise how nice it is I will definitely return - for longer this time!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the side street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9oakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Wanted to visit this hotel for some time and I am glad we did. Staff very pleasant and helpful, requested a quiet room and it was lovely. Enjoyed the rooftop pool area even though its not very big, managed to find a place to chill out with a very reasonably priced drink or two! Location is excellent withing walking distance of the old town and the seafront. Breakfast very good and enjoyed the live band on Friday night. Would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,903 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing